Calificación general
3,8
Recuentos por nivel de calificación
  • El 77% de las calificaciones son de 5 estrellas
  • El 9% de las calificaciones son de 4 estrellas
  • El 4% de las calificaciones son de 3 estrellas
  • El 3% de las calificaciones son de 2 estrellas
  • El 7% de las calificaciones son de 1 estrellas
12 de septiembre de 2023

I shouldn’t have to pay for app to use on shopify as website we pay all that money was supposed to have good free apps to use to make our money we pay back i don’t sell like that and still paying why are we paying every time we get an order why are we paying for a domain that we like why is shopify domain have to have myShopify on it why are they no one to answer our phone calls now it’s ridiculous how they stealing our money when we don’t even get it back by the time the next bill comes

Rose Hair Shop
Estados Unidos
Alrededor de 2 años usando la aplicación
Appregator respondió 5 de octubre de 2023

Hi,

I wanted to clarify that our app is not built by Shopify and we do not charge a monthly subscription, nor do we charge you for your domain!

We are an SMS marketing app and we only charge you if you are sending text messages using our app.

Please reach out to us if there is anything else we can help clarify.

Best,
Appregator Team

30 de junio de 2023

I WISH I COULD GIVE ZERO STARS

I have complained about the prices already with this app, and I am back to say after paying $270 for ONE SMS BLAST; they froze my account. They took my money first, didn't send the message but held the message as a draft until the review is complete.

What review needs to be done if I have been paying you for each message for about a year now.

Once my account is done being "REVIEWED" I'm done. The app is too expensive anyway and I have found better apps. The reports are inaccurate as well.

RUN FROM THIS APP NOW!!

Xtreme Kurves
Estados Unidos
Más de 1 año usando la aplicación
Appregator respondió 30 de junio de 2023

Hi,

I'm extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused. As mentioned, the account reviews are usually implemented by the carrier provider and not by us. The moment we received your email, we got the review completed and everything should be working fine with your account.

We never want anyone to have a negative experience with our app and we are always here to help out. Please let us know if there is anything else we can help you with.

Thank you for your support.

13 de marzo de 2023

This app is a good app when it works. I have built a log of about 1,000 contacts but I cannot send a single message out due to the app not working.

wearfingerprint.com
Estados Unidos
Alrededor de 2 años usando la aplicación
13 de abril de 2022

We've seen thousands and thousands of unsent/undelivered messages. This service is not reliable. Customer service is extremely slow to respond. This has been a complete waste of money.

Jackie's Chocolate
Estados Unidos
Más de 1 año usando la aplicación
Appregator respondió 12 de julio de 2022

Hi,

We’re extremely sorry to hear about your negative experience with the app. We recently took over this app and would like to rectify this. Could you please email laura@superchargedsms.com? We will have someone look into this immediately.

Best,

SMS Text Messaging & Marketing Team

14 de febrero de 2023

Barely works. Most of the time, I can’t even access my dashboard due to their software malfunctioning. Thqrvis very inconvenient for us business owners. Zero stars

Faith D. Collection
Estados Unidos
Más de 1 año usando la aplicación
5 de septiembre de 2022

This app texts customers even when automations are turned off. It has been a recurring problem and nothing has been fixed. The only solution is to uninstall it. There are way better text marketing apps available with cheaper prices per text, don't jeopardize your customer relationships by using this.

Regal Wigs
Estados Unidos
5 meses usando la aplicación
Appregator respondió 23 de octubre de 2022

Hi,

We’re extremely sorry to hear about your negative experience with the app. We had emailed you regarding this issue, but did not receive a response. This is not the experience we want any of our customers to have with our app, and we would love another chance to resolve this matter.

If you have any questions, please email laura@superchargedsms.com. We would be happy to help!

Best,

SMS Text Messaging & Marketing Team

20 de diciembre de 2022

Kind of odd that you need to pay them money to see if their messages work. after reading the reviews and the issues ive encountered i see this a dodgy proposition , there is no meaningful support just sticky send us money buttons everywhere

Kiwi Chilly Outdoor Supplies
Nueva Zelanda
3 meses usando la aplicación
Appregator respondió 21 de diciembre de 2022

Hi,

We provide everyone with free credit as soon as you install the app so that you can test it out before loading any funds. I just looked into your account and noticed that you haven't tried sending any messages yet - is there anything we can help with?

We have 24/7 support - you can email us at laura@superchargedsms.com, and we will be happy to help you get set up. I've emailed you from the account as well.

Best,
Appregator Team

19 de diciembre de 2022

this is a scam app the sms messages to not send they claim they converted sales that are non existant . they promise refunds and never refund everything about this nigerian style scam is a lie.

STAY CLEAR FROM THIS APP

NZ Diver
Nueva Zelanda
13 días usando la aplicación
Appregator respondió 21 de diciembre de 2022

Hi,

I'm extremely sorry that you've had a bad experience with our app. We responded to all your emails with evidence that your messages were being delivered. Also, like our team told you, the sales reporting is automated and not something that we can manipulate from our end. Regarding the refund - our team has been in touch with you over email.

Best,
Appregator Team

18 de julio de 2022

esta app se esta instalando sola en mi tienda y esta enviando mensajes fraudulentos pidiendo pagos adicionales a mis clientes.

aguamanil
Colombia
Alrededor de 2 horas usando la aplicación
Appregator respondió 18 de julio de 2022

Hi there. We’re extremely sorry to hear about your negative experience with our app.

We looked into this issue and have emailed you detailed steps to resolve it.

Best,

Supercharged Support Team