Kokonaisarvio
3,7
Lukumäärä luokitustasoa kohden
  • 47 % arvioista on 5 tähteä
  • 8 % arvioista on 4 tähteä
  • 3 % arvioista on 3 tähteä
  • 6 % arvioista on 2 tähteä
  • 36 % arvioista on 1 tähteä
Muokattu 15. toukokuu 2023

One can only expect that customizations will carry on with the update. This is not what the app does on the FREE version. If you wish to maintain your theme looking sharp, you will have to invest MONTHLY on this app to maintain the latest version of your theme.

This is just acceptable in my case because my theme isn't adding more useful features at least for now. When it does, I will subject myself to hours on end making a hard copy by hand.

PLOMERIA UNIVERSAL
Meksiko
Yli vuosi sovelluksen käyttöä
Out of the Sandbox vastasi 16. toukokuu 2023

Hi PLOMERIA UNIVERSAL team!

Thank you very much for your review of Theme Updater Plus!

Theme Updater Plus' free plan allows you to register your theme, install the latest version of your theme, and receive email notifications for new versions

If you are interested in streamlining the update process, we recommend looking at our Pro Plan, which includes the ability to preserve most settings and customizations when updating, identify code conflicts in new version, and automatically include new language files.

Although Theme Updater Plus does have the ability to transfer over customized code, customizing code can still result in some issues, and more complex customizations will need to be manually transferred over to the updated theme file.

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

5. syyskuu 2018

This app is a poison chalice... use it at your peril. In theory it is a great idea but it is poorly executed. When you update the theme you will also have to update your templates if you have made any customizations at all, quite a timely and complicated process so you will probably have to pay an expert to do it for you. However, you will not see if the update is any good until after you have paid the expert. We updated and were not able to use the update because of the number of bugs making our site look poor and unprofessional. You then have to wait for the next theme update to be released and then go through the same process of updating your templates and paying an expert all over again. The chances of there being any more bugs are high, if you look at the Out-of-the-Sandbox change logs they are littered with "bug fixes" for previous updates. It would appear that they are releasing the updates without doing the appropriate checks to make sure that they are robust.

Elvis & Kresse
Yhdistynyt kuningaskunta
Yli 6 vuotta sovelluksen käyttöä
10. maaliskuu 2022

After updates one has to do redo absolutely everything on the updated site from scratch so not worthwhile. The customer service is lousy, as no one replies to questions for days...Disappointed.

Laska by nature
Bulgaria
Yli 4 vuotta sovelluksen käyttöä
Out of the Sandbox vastasi 10. maaliskuu 2022

Hi Laska by nature team!

Thank you for your feedback! When updating your theme to OS 2.0, all content, such as home page content, will need to be rebuilt.

This is a one-time process required by Shopify to align with new templating standards. You will still be able to use the Theme Updater to help streamline your updates with future releases.

A member of our support team will reach out via email shortly!

18. syyskuu 2019

Like many others not happy this app is going from free to paid with no details on how to avoid being charged. This app never worked for me due to my custom code.

Bunbury
Yhdysvallat
Yli 2 vuotta sovelluksen käyttöä
Muokattu 30. syyskuu 2019

Update: I'm upgrading my rating to 2 stars because after writing my original review, tech support helped me update my theme. If it works correctly the next time I try to update, then I'll upgrade it to a three. When the app does work, it works well. (Although the default file name isn't the actual version you're upgrading to, it's whatever version you already have plus the current date. So the UI is oddly inaccurate, which definitely doesn't help if the app hasn't been working correctly so you're already frustrated.)
I used the paid version of this app for awhile and was able to update my theme two or three times. Then in early June it stopped working correctly. I experienced multiple problems just getting to the update screen. Then when I finally was able to get there, the only option I got was to "update" to the theme version I'm currently using (7.0.5). I spent the month in a fruitless back and forth with OOTS tech support to resolve this problem. I tried using this app on three different computers (MacBook Pro, iMac, HP laptop) and five different browsers (Safari, Chrome, Firefox, Opera, IE). I gave OOTS tech support access to my Shopify account to try to fix the problem, and after a cursory go at it, they suggested that I upgrade my OS and browser to the most recent version. So I did that, even though it might have meant that some of my software and printer might no longer work. And guess what? Problem not solved. At that point, they finally admitted that they were having some problems with the Theme Updater app and browser cookies. They said they hoped to have it resolved soon. It still wasn't working by early August, so I uninstalled the app. Now that it's the end of Sept., I decided to try it again in the hopes of being able to finally update my theme. But nope, same problem. The fact that I actually paid for several months of this app without being able to use it is ridiculous. And that it still doesn't work is more ridiculous. As much as I sometimes hate cable/internet companies, at least when your service isn't working they refund your money. Not so with OOTS.

Muses Miscellany
Yhdysvallat
Yli 2 vuotta sovelluksen käyttöä
7. tammikuu 2018

I have used the updater app only twice, and twice was just too much, I even got the pro version, which by the way doesn't give you anything more other than an email saying there is an update. I am sure many others who use shopify also use other apps and if you do you will find that the theme updater does not bring the custom code from those other apps over!!!

I have spent two weeks working with the other apps support just to get the theme to work as my live store.

I won't install an update again unless it is a critical update!

BTW, support is slow slow slow to respond, and much of the time it seems like an automated message with the same info, don't customize your theme if you want the theme updater to work!

Happy Dog Food 2
Yhdysvallat
Yli 2 vuotta sovelluksen käyttöä
27. syyskuu 2020

Still 9 templates need to be customized... it just helped with the banner images, so not recommended.

milkCases
Yhdysvallat
Noin 2 vuotta sovelluksen käyttöä
Out of the Sandbox vastasi 2. lokakuu 2020

Hello milkCases team!

Thanks for the feedback!

Our Theme Updater app provides the time-saving convenience of updating your theme while preserving the settings and content you've configured with the default theme features.

The message you are seeing means that the app has identified some third-party modifications in the theme files that couldn't be automatically included in the update.

The app will try to bring over custom modifications onto the updated version but if those changes conflict with the updated version of the file they will be left out of the update. The app then flags those files so that you can reapply the custom/third-party code manually.

Our support team has reached out to your store directly regarding the update. Please follow up with us if you have any questions!

We look forward to hearing from you!

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

26. toukokuu 2017

I'm a big fan of the out of the sandbox themes. Great looking and the Turbo theme is great.

If you're thinking about getting the theme updater app here's a very important note. The theme updater will NOT carry over the code from installed apps. If you have a handful of apps on your site that are integrated with the theme each app will have to be reinstalled.

We would love to update our theme but we have a handful of apps that would have to be reinstalled and coded again by our app partners. This could cause some issues.

Cavemanevolution2
Yhdysvallat
Noin 2 vuotta sovelluksen käyttöä
18. syyskuu 2020

This app is Useful for untouched customization theme.
Not that much useful for custom changes made with existing theme.

Rockabilia
Yhdysvallat
Yli vuosi sovelluksen käyttöä
11. maaliskuu 2021

The app itself works okay but the issue is the support from out of the sandbox. They take forever to fix issues. It's now been 3 months since I listed a critical bug. They have been prioritizing it for 3 months and still no fix for the Flex theme.

BodyHeal
Australia
Yli vuosi sovelluksen käyttöä
Out of the Sandbox vastasi 15. maaliskuu 2021

Hello BodyHeal Team!

Thank you for sharing this feedback. Your recent request is being reviewed by our technical team. We'll be in touch with an update as soon as possible!

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox