Hextom: Bulk Image Edit & SEO , 2 228 avaliações

Avaliação geral
4,8
Pontuação por nível de classificação
  • 87% das classificações são de 5 estrelas
  • 10% das classificações são de 4 estrelas
  • 2% das classificações são de 3 estrelas
  • 1% das classificações são de 2 estrelas
  • 2% das classificações são de 1 estrelas
3 de abril de 2024

This app used to work fine for me by resizing and also by adding watermarks to the images, however the watermark function is no longer working and the customer service experience is atrocious. They take their time responding to you and than give tyou the same generic responses with no help or solution to the problem. I would like a refund as the app watermark feature is not working for my site.

RevertMuslimahOnlineStore
Reino Unido
Over 2 years usando a aplicação
17 de fevereiro de 2023

Messed up all of my images that are located in the product description. Reverting did not fix this. I have 400+ product pages I now have to fix. Thanks a lot.

JLW Instruments
Estados Unidos
Over 3 years usando a aplicação
Questão respondida por Hextom 25 de fevereiro de 2023

We checked our tickets and found no prior tickets from you. Then we reached out to you and got no reply from you. We checked both from our app side and your store side, things look normal to me. I have no idea what you meant by "messed up all my images". I wish you let us know more about it. We are willing to help at help@hextom.com

15 de agosto de 2020

Horrible costumer service. They charged me for a more expensive plan and didn't offer a solution or refund even if they agrees this was their mistake. Stay away!!

Weedipedia
Estados Unidos
About 2 years usando a aplicação
6 de agosto de 2018

It does not work, Seemed like it is working in the beginning but everything gets back to where it starts all the time.

Priorityoftrust
Estados Unidos
Over 1 year usando a aplicação
20 de novembro de 2021

this app and developer team in a rear trash this app and developer team in a rear trash this app and developer team in a rear trash this app and developer team in a rear trash

Purebreed Kitties
Estados Unidos
Over 1 year usando a aplicação
Questão respondida por Hextom 23 de novembro de 2021

Hi,

We have not received any emails from you so we're not sure why you left a 1 star review. We sent you an email a couple of days ago to offer assistance but we have not received a reply.

If you have not received our email, please contact us at help@hextom.com. We can then help you with any issue you may have had with our app right away.

13 de junho de 2023

I uninstalled this app, yet am still getting charged $99.99 per month. Please refund us and stop charging us. I have contacted shopify directly to attempt to get our money back - it even confirms in the billing that it was uninstalled Hextom: Bulk Image Edit & SEO (Uninstalled) $99.99 Bulk Image Edit Enterprise: 2023-05-20 - 2023-06-19

Pharmarcie.com
Estados Unidos
9 months usando a aplicação
Questão respondida por Hextom 16 de junho de 2023

Hi,

I hope this message finds you well. I wanted to take a moment to address a matter regarding the billing process following the uninstallation of our app, and also share some positive news.

Firstly, I'd like to clarify that the last charge you observed on your bill occurs subsequent to the uninstallation of the app. You may have noticed that the app is labeled as "uninstalled," which serves as an indicator that your subscription has been canceled. It's important to note that this does not imply any ongoing charges after uninstallation. Rather, it signifies the final bill in the billing cycle. This practice is consistent across all apps that operate on a monthly fee structure, ensuring fairness and transparency for our valued users.

Now, I am delighted to inform you that we have taken proactive steps to enhance your experience. Although it may not have been explicitly mentioned earlier, we have gone ahead and issued a refund for the charge incurred between the dates of 2023-05-20 and 2023-06-19. We sincerely appreciate your continued support and wanted to demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Should you have any further questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out to our dedicated support team. We are here to assist you in any way we can.

Thank you for your understanding, and we look forward to providing you with an exceptional app experience.

Warm regards,

Sophie

22 de setembro de 2021

Worst app ever. It destroyed my theme! I contacted them and they were hostile and unwilling to help.

VibeVice™
Estados Unidos
10 months usando a aplicação
Questão respondida por Hextom 29 de setembro de 2021

Hi,

I'm sorry that you had trouble with your theme but as we have explained to you, it was not caused by our app. Our app can only edit images, it can not make any changes to your theme.

We have offered to provide you with any assistance you need with our app multiple times and even though the issue you described was not caused by our app, we have offered you a refund.

Unfortunately, as much as we'd like to resolve this issue for you, there's nothing more we can do since this appears to be a theme related issue. We have sent you a few emails regarding this in the last week but we have not received a reply.

We are still willing to help in any way we can. Please reach out to us if you still need assistance.

21 de maio de 2021

The support for this app is sub par. I needed extra help and they just stopped emailing me back. I do not recommend if you need any custom help from the support.

Dazzling Lumens
Estados Unidos
8 months usando a aplicação
14 de fevereiro de 2023

Hi I didn’t receive a total refund of $127.94 USD (19.99+24-22+49.99+13.99+13.99+13.99+13.99) as indicated in the transcript (see attachment via email).

I just want to let you know how much of a struggle this has been in the past month because of the incident (read below). I am still trying to fix the issues created by this and honestly am just disappointed. The refund would be greatly appreciated, but even at that, nothing can really compensate for the hours of work I have to redo to fix everything…

TLDR story: We're just disappointed and frustrated because not only did we spend $112 on this app, but all edits we made were lost. Basically, by “reverting” the photos, we were intending to undo a change (resize and minimize) because it was not the size we wanted, and eventually redo the resize and minimize in our intended size. That would have irreversible consequences, we had no idea!

It would have been helpful if the consequences had been in bright red in a disclaimer before it was made so simple.

So in a nutshell,
(1) We lost $127.94 ($19.99 + 24-22(August) + $49.99 (September) + $13.99 (October) + $13.99 (November) + $13.99 (December) +$13.99 (January)) - We lost all necessary edits that took several hours (we have over 500 products).
(2) *Recovering those losses will be our main objective.
(3) It's extremely nerve-wracking using the app and we’re worried about possibly losing anything if we do decide to revert. In light of our main objective, which is to *recover those losses, we would totally appreciate the refund, but in all sincerity, it is not helping us at this time.

Dane Fashion
Canadá
6 months usando a aplicação
Questão respondida por Hextom 25 de fevereiro de 2023

All the app charges have been refunded. Bulk editing can be efficient if done right. Or it can be damaging if done wrong. That's why we provide a way to revert a bulk update easily by clicking a button. And we always suggest to try with small amount of images first.

It terms of the cost of the app. It is really a fraction of what you would use photoshop or hire someone to do. Let alone the time it saves to have it done in our app. We are a business and we have cost. We cannot offer it dirt cheap or free in this business world. As our users are all business owners, we should understand this.

29 de outubro de 2017

It sayd has edited 668 image(s) with alt tags. But when I check he site, nothiing is edited.

Kozmira
Estados Unidos
5 months usando a aplicação