Recenze (547)

Celkové hodnocení
2,2
Počty podle úrovně hodnocení
  • 14 % hodnocení s 5 hvězdami
  • 11 % hodnocení s 4 hvězdami
  • 13 % hodnocení s 3 hvězdami
  • 15 % hodnocení s 2 hvězdami
  • 47 % hodnocení s 1 hvězdami
12. červenec 2024

This app is an absolute joke.

It has 0 support for Cyrillic alphabets, so it becomes absolutely unusable for our shop in Bulgaria.

We’ve raised this to Shopify support several time over 2 YEARS, and still there is no support.

Even though we are quite fond of Shopify to an extent, it often feels like the company is sloppy and not committed to maintaining and fixing their older apps.

DIDIS.BG — Магазин за Куфари и Чанти
Bulharsko
Doba používání aplikace: Více než rokem
Vývojář Shopify odpověděl 15. červenec 2024

Thanks for taking the time and sharing this feedback. If the Retail Barcode Labels app isn't able to support the alphabets for your business, then there are some third-party options that you can explore and we've got a list of them here: SKU and barcode apps (https://shopify.link/BJoA). Cheers. -Elias, Shopify Support

10. květen 2024

Easy app. But I just can not put an extra line (product name etc) on one side of my jewelry labels, which is so annoying!!
I have to scan the label before i can stick it on my jewelry. Double the work, impossible to do with so many products!!
I use this app for 2 years and that little detail pushes me to take another app!!!
I DESPARTLY NEED AN EXTRA LINE to see the name of the product, Please help me out!!!

Lakaiann
Belgie
Doba používání aplikace: Více než 3 roky
Vývojář Shopify odpověděl 13. květen 2024

Thank you for your review and feedback! I will make sure to provide this information to our team. -Emily, Shopify Support

22. květen 2024

L'app non è male ma va migliorata nella parte custom. Ad esempio decidere la dimensione dei caratteri oppure la possibilità di inserire l'immagine del prodotto o della variante. Da migliorare,

Scarpine Italiane
Itálie
Doba používání aplikace: Asi rokem
25. duben 2024

"Customization" is a joke. Only have two lines whether you have a barcode or not and the first line can only reference a single field. Can only show price, not compare at price?! Typical Shopify half-baked app.

Olympic Outdoor Center
Spojené státy
Doba používání aplikace: Více než 3 roky
Vývojář Shopify odpověděl 29. duben 2024

Hi, there! Thanks for sharing your feedback, it's greatly appreciated. I have passed your thoughts along to our developers for consideration. Feel free to keep an eye on the Shopify Changelog (https://shopify.link/N5vR) for updates! - Greta, Shopify Support

Datum úprav: 10. květen 2024

this thing is a joke...they are trying to push POS and they can even have a lable printing softward tha works half way decent.
- The issue is you can not edit the font size
- every thing is just placed onto one line
- if you print a barcode, then scan it on the POS it doesn't go to the actual variant. It goes to the main product then you have to choose manually the variant. So we sell clothing surf products so it only pulls up the main category then you have to actually manually enter in which size or color or whatever variant you have manually.

Hawaiian South Shore
Spojené státy
Doba používání aplikace: Více než rokem
Vývojář Shopify odpověděl 10. květen 2024

Hi Hawaiian South Shore, thank you for your review and feedback. I am sorry to hear you've had a bad experience using the Retail Barcode Labels app for your store. If you do want some assistance with the app, or to provide more detailed feedback, we would be happy to help. You can contact our support team at anytime via the Shopify Help Center: https://shopify.link/vRnL. -Shay, Shopify Support

9. květen 2024

after trying to use this app several times, I'm giving it 3 stars. One of the main reasons is that when you want to print the barcodes, you have to select each product individually, which is not functional at all. I have over a thousand different products in my shop, and not having the option to select all off them with one click doesn't make any sense.

Teko Gallery
Spojené státy
Doba používání aplikace: 8 měsíci
Vývojář Shopify odpověděl 13. květen 2024

Thank you for your review and feedback. I will make sure to provide this information to our team. -Emily, Shopify Support

13. květen 2024

A few complaints after using it for 6 months. It duplicates barcodes which I knew was going to happen so I started manually keying in my own #s. However there's a huge issue besides the duplicates and I've googled and saw this issue has happened to ppl 2 years ago. The barcodes stopped reading on POS camera. Only a few newer style / variant barcodes were able to scan while all the older ones that used to scan no longer scanned. After scanning would get errors such as, no response, or scanning a ridiculously long barcode # that's way more than 8 digits or couldn't be scanned message. Nothing have changed until maybe 2 weeks ago. We key in new product and barcode #s like usual. We have tested on the iPad and iPhone and everything is up to date. Still haven't solved this issue yet. We have lots of products and it's a huge issue for us now because we have to now manually type in each barcode to ring up items.

RINGLAND
Spojené státy
Doba používání aplikace: 5 měsíci
Vývojář Shopify odpověděl 14. květen 2024

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing some trouble with the Retail Barcode Labels app. If you haven't done so already, I'd encourage you to follow back up with our Live Support so we can take a closer look at those errors to ensure this gets resolved: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. - Blair, Shopify Support

20. květen 2024

It's just plain awful. Printing labels should be a one click and done process. This is very far away from being a functional product for brick and mortar shops.

FERAL
Spojené státy
Doba používání aplikace: Asi měsícem
Vývojář Shopify odpověděl 22. květen 2024

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we truly appreciate it. As we can completely understand the impact of this, I've gone ahead and shared your feedback with our developers to consider in future updates. - Blair, Shopify Support

28. březen 2024

VERY BAD!!! IT MESSED UP SO MANY OF MY PRODUCTS DUE TO GENERATING SO MANY DUPLICATE BARCODES...I BROUGHT IT UP SO MANY TIMES TO THEM AND IT STILL GENERATES DUPLICATES

JuniorKids
Kanada
Doba používání aplikace: Téměř 5 roky
Vývojář Shopify odpověděl 1. duben 2024

Hi JuniorKids, thank you for your review and for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you are experiencing this issue. There are cases where large catalogues can end up having duplicated barcodes. Our support team can help you in finding those duplicate barcodes though so you can manually update them. I recommend connecting with our live support to make this request. -Shay, Shopify Support

24. duben 2024

ZERO STARS!! Do NOT waste your time. Constantly comes back with errors and will not generate barcodes. Followed all the 'fixes' suggested by support OVER and OVER and OVER and NOTHING works.

This has cost me a ton of time and issues with my store.

Cadence Equine
Kanada
Doba používání aplikace: 12 dny
Vývojář Shopify odpověděl 26. duben 2024

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing some trouble with the Retail Barcode Labels app. If you haven't done so already, I'd encourage you to follow back up with our Live Support so we can take a closer look at those errors to ensure this gets resolved: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. - Blair, Shopify Support