Retter ‑ Heatmaps & Replay , Počet recenzí: 47

Celkové hodnocení
3,5
Počty podle úrovně hodnocení
  • 85 % hodnocení s 5 hvězdami
  • 4 % hodnocení s 4 hvězdami
  • 0 % hodnocení s 3 hvězdami
  • 2 % hodnocení s 2 hvězdami
  • 9 % hodnocení s 1 hvězdami
2. duben 2024

Complete rubbish app, please don't be fooled by the low price. Here’s why:

1. The data is completely inaccurate, and the heat map cannot detect 99% of the traffic. There are only a few hundred page views anyway. (I did not set up partial detection, but all detection)

2. The billing model only depends on the total PV of your website, not how much the application does for you. For example, I only need the data of a certain page, but the application calculates based on all exposures of the entire website (in terms of charging, the data is extremely accurate, instead of only seeing 1 when I need to see the heat map) %The data).
When I gave feedback to customer service, he also said that he could only charge according to the overall pageview of the website.

Benlydesign
Hongkong – ZAO Číny
Doba používání aplikace: 12 dny
21. únor 2024

It said that 500 visits are included in FREE plan. I had 452 visits and they charge me $4.99 - hiden fees - not recommended!

Crystals Healing
Spojené království
Doba používání aplikace: 11 dny
29. říjen 2023

This app absolutely did not work for us. The heatmaps simply did not work and support were vague in their responses. Even cancelling our account was problematic, with only an error message and no confirmation.

ScandiBugs
Spojené království
Doba používání aplikace: 20 dny
Datum úprav: 6. únor 2023

Does not work for me. Two times received an answer that they will check and someday will get back to me. Got redirected to the rating page only after in-app voted 5 stars. When the in-app votes 1 star then nothing happens. Strange
Additionally, I did not like to receive an "URGENT" email asking to remove this rating. The programmer is from Israel, not Ukraine, but anyway it was not an URGENT message.

Reltek
Lotyšsko
Doba používání aplikace: 3 dny
Vývojář Upify odpověděl 6. únor 2023

Hey Reltek,
I'm so sorry for the less than good experience you had.
We received your ticket on the weekend, and we winningly took the time to fix your bug on the weekend when it's our day off. Today is Monday and the bug is already fixed and you receiving replays. We started working on fixing the bug as soon as possible even though it was weekend and our dev team had electricity issues due to them being from Ukraine. We trying to provide our merchants the best possible experience that we can, however, there sometime events that occurred and out of our hand. Have a wonderful day :)