Algemene beoordeling
4,6
Cijfers per recensieniveau
  • 88% recensies zijn 5 sterren
  • 6% recensies zijn 4 sterren
  • 1% recensies zijn 3 sterren
  • 2% recensies zijn 2 sterren
  • 3% recensies zijn 1 sterren
Bewerkt 12 oktober 2022

Update: 10/12/22 I was charged $49.00 on Oct 9th even though Tidio assured me I would not be charged. I want my refund.
Tidio ‑ Live Chat & Chatbots (Uninstalled 2 hours later) $49.00
Tidio Chat Automation: 2022-09-09 - 2022-10-09
Update: as of 9-23-2022 I have still not received a full refund as I was told by customer support when I cancelled within an hour of install because of misleading wording in pricing plans on Shopify compared to their website. Tidio ‑ Live Chat & Chatbots $49.00
Tidio Chat Automation: 2022-09-09 - 2022-10-09
I am very disappointed in this company. I had high hopes for this app. Installed it after viewing the details and pricing on both Shopify and Tidio.com and the pricing for the higher plan was $49.00 on Shopify and $39.00 on Tidio so after reading all the details I believed the higher price and plan meant I get all the features including the bots unlimited. After upgrading since there is no trial I was charged immediately and when I figured out that I would have to add the Communicator Plan as well for $19.00 more I requested a refund after only having it for a couple of hours and all I was told is to cancel and it will automatically end at the end of the billing cycle. THATS NOT GOOD ENOUGH! This is a bad business practice of bait and switch and I can't believer they allow it on the Shopify Marketplace.

Coastal Gifts Inc
Verenigde Staten
21 dagen gebruiken de app
TIDIO LLC heeft geantwoord 9 september 2022

Hi there, we are extremely sorry to hear of your experience! Our Customer Satisfaction Specialist will be contacting you to address this immediately. Thank you for letting us know!

23 juli 2022

Not working, only want to know your personal information email, address, phone. Also Tidio want to know same information of all your customers((

EstheticsUS
Oekraïne
12 dagen gebruiken de app
TIDIO LLC heeft geantwoord 23 juli 2022

Hi! Please get in touch with us at support@tidio.net. We'll happily help you solve any possible issues you might have. We do not require any personal information apart from the data necessary to create the account, and we do not require your customers to provide any data unless you'd set it up yourself.

24 juni 2020

Not real useful no real data behind the use did not increase sales
Support is slow and not very helpful how can a company doing chat not be available via chat for help

Natural Lice Products
Verenigde Staten
12 dagen gebruiken de app
Bewerkt 20 augustus 2020

Completely unreasonable and unscalable pricing. Please don't be roped in to installing this app. Fantastic features, which I was willing to pay for, even with a hefty subscription. Then they go an cap each level of the subscription by restricting the number of visitors - 100 visitors a month for $18 USD a month and 1000 visitors a month for $36 USD a month. This equates to 18c USD per interaction with one of your potential customers, before they've even purchased anything! I don't know of one single successful ecommerce store that has only 1000 visitors a month. One of their main bots is a 'new visitor' bot, which can offer the new customer a discount. Just having this one bot running can literally wipe out your visitor cap. When I tried to have this conversation with their support team they basically said "if you need more than a 1000 visitors, we can provide a larger subscription" - larger than $36 USD a month! Do not install this app, they need to seriously consider their target audience and pricing.

SnuggleDogz
Australië
9 dagen gebruiken de app
TIDIO LLC heeft geantwoord 20 augustus 2020

Hello there,

thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback with us. I am sorry to hear that our service didn’t meet your expectations. I would love to emphasize that chat communication with your clients is never limited, even on the free basic plan.

Also, I would love to clarify certain inaccuracies in your review as I believe a little misunderstanding in regards to our pricing model occurred here:
For $18 per month, you can send your chatbots to 1000 unique visitors per month, equating to less than 2c USD per visitor. Purchasing higher tiers of the Chatbot plan provides more profitable options, of course, in terms of money spent per your chatbot message.

The 100 triggers Chatbots tier, however, is available for all of our users even on the free, basic plan. Each account gets 100 chatbots to use on start, and the same limit stays if you are choosing the communicator plan as it is a separate plan that gives your other features that are great for live-chat purposes (handled by operators).

Please remember that Tidio is free forever by default - the paid plans are entirely optional.

10 mei 2021

BEWARE - Tidio code completely stuffed up our theme and cart. It caused a major malfunction. Their support is non existent. Do not use

TheCustomGoodsCo
Verenigde Staten
9 dagen gebruiken de app
TIDIO LLC heeft geantwoord 11 mei 2021

Hi! I'm really sorry to see your review. We've replied to your email after a few hours. I'm not sure how we could've affected your theme and cart - but we are ready to check this for you together with our developers! :) Looking forward to your reply on email. Olek - Tidio

20 september 2019

crap app , it says free after 1 month you have to pay $15/month and you cannot even access to you dashboard

MyTravelGears
Australië
9 dagen gebruiken de app
TIDIO LLC heeft geantwoord 21 september 2019

Hi there, I'm really sorry to see your review. Tidio is available in the forever-free version. You can switch to the free plan by pressing the "Downgrade" button. You don't have to pay. I will reach out to you via email with instructions to quickly fix this. :)

Olek.

16 september 2019

i m sorry to say it lags and whern tried deleting its still there on the store and not working fine

Paparazzi Closet
India
9 dagen gebruiken de app
TIDIO LLC heeft geantwoord 16 september 2019

I'm so sorry to see your review. Not sure what caused the issue on your website - we have probably the lightest widget on the market. I don't see the chat on your website anymore. Please reach out to me at olek@tidio.net - I'll do my best to help you.

12 augustus 2019

It's not completely free, not good after i used it. Just a free trial for some days i don't know how many days.

HEXHER Official Store
China
8 dagen gebruiken de app
TIDIO LLC heeft geantwoord 13 augustus 2019

Hi, I’m really sorry to see your review — our app is available in the forever-free plan. The trial version lasts 7 days to show you the premium features of our live chat and chatbots. This allows us to maintain and grow the service. I can help you switch to the free plan now - I’ll contact you directly. Olek

12 december 2014

this app really slow, mobile chat doesnt work really well.

we purchased pro downloaded the app both on andriod and iphone. it say that we online but customer doesnt

requested for refund

SimplySweetStyle (JM0699631-D)
Maleisië
6 dagen gebruiken de app
Bewerkt 4 november 2016

I wish I could give this app a good review. But, frankly, I can't figure how it got so many good reviews here.

I tried it for a week. It's *almost* a good app, but far too unstable, written by a startup that clearly is going through growing pains.

I switched to tawk.to and am very happy. It's free. And it works reliably. Also tawk.to has great tech support, and, IMO, a better UI. Their back-end is instantaneous, so changes made appear on your site immediately, unlike Tidio. All in all, tawk.to just feels like a more mature company and product.

On the plus side for Tidio: Tidio gave quick and good tech support. I actually contacted a few stores using Tidio as listed in these reviews and the ones I spoke with liked it. The president of Tidio reached out to me after I first posted this review, so they're aware of the issues I experienced. He assured me they're rapidly fixing them. And he refunded the $12 I'd paid for the next month's pro level. (See? I liked their app, but couldn't continue to be an unwitting beta tester for them...)

My suggestion: wait until December 2016 and then check them out to see how much progress they made with their app and whether it works for your needs.

Sorry, Tidio. I really wanted to like you.

Fieldtestedsystems
Verenigde Staten
4 dagen gebruiken de app