by Shopify

Boost global sales with country and language recommendations.

2.7 of 5 stars(115 reviews)

Boost conversion

Get more of your international visitors to make a purchase.

Provide a local experience

Offer visitors a custom shopping experience no matter where you’re located.

Set up quickly

Publish to your online store in minutes. No coding required.

About Geolocation

The Geolocation app lets you recommend the best country and language for your visitors based on their browser preferences and location. These recommendations show up on your online store as a bar or popup, and fit seamlessly with your brand. Your visitors can also change their country and language anytime with selectors, which work with any theme. The country’s home currency is also surfaced in the recommendation and selectors.

Key features

  • Let our visitors select their country and language.
  • Give your visitors personalized recommendations based on the countries/​regions they’ve enabled on their store.
  • Automatically detect and match your online store’s theme colors.
  • Preview before publishing on your online store.

Eligibility requirements

  • You must be selling in multiple languages and in multiple countries/​regions that use Shopify Payments.

Media gallery



2.7 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    29% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    9% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    18% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    9% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    36% of ratings are 1 stars

Most recent reviews

Old Country Jerky

App does not work at all after installation. All functionalities were grey out as it is reflected on many reviews.

Developer reply

April 8, 2021

Hi there, we can see that you do not have any additional currencies enabled in your Shopify Payments settings, so Geolocation cannot enable switching between anything, which is why the options are greyed out with instructions to enable currencies. If you have any questions please get in touch and we'd be happy to help!

Tracksuit Shop

Sorry but the app is full of bugs. No one function works as it should. No pop up appears, position can not be fixed top or bottom. better you review it completely

Developer reply

April 8, 2021

Hi there, can you please send us an email to wit your store details so we can investigate this for you? A pop up will not appear if you are in the default location of your store. We would love to remedy this for you.


Not easy to use to start, everything is faded. Can not select anything within the app. Can not install any aspect of the app

Developer reply

April 5, 2021

Hi there, thanks for getting in touch with us! The Geolocation app allows your buyers to switch between languages and currencies you have already configured in your store. We can see that you have no additional countries/currencies, or any additional languages enabled on your store, and this is why those options are greyed out.