by Shopify

Boost global sales with language and currency recommendations

3.0 of 5 stars(99 reviews)

Boost conversion

Get more of your international visitors to make a purchase.

Provide a local experience

Offer visitors a custom shopping experience no matter where you’re located.

Set up quickly

Publish to your online store in minutes. No coding required.

About Geolocation

The Geolocation app lets you recommend the best language and currency for your visitors based on their browser preferences and location. These recommendations show up on your online store as a bar or popup, and fit seamlessly with your brand. Your visitors can also change language and currency anytime with selectors, which work with any theme.

Key features

  • Let your visitors select their language and currency
  • Give your visitors personalized recommendations based on the languages and currencies you have enabled on your store
  • Automatically detect and match your online store’s theme colors
  • Preview before publishing to your online store

Eligibility requirements

  • You must be selling in multiple languages or multiple currencies with Shopify Payments

Media gallery



3.0 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    33% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    21% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    6% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    31% of ratings are 1 stars

Most recent reviews

Black Alice Lingerie

We'd prefer you implemented this on the Liquid and/or JavaScript SDK side rather than having yet another app that doesn't match store's look&feel and impacts page load time :(

Developer reply

January 7, 2021

Hi there, thanks for your review! We do plan on releasing the relevant documentation on how to do this so if you'd like, you can build your own implementation of Geolocation yourself - stay tuned.


I installed this app into my store then went to my website. I only saw 2-3 words translated. I am not sure how that is supposed to help. I quickly uninstalled this app.

Developer reply

January 4, 2021

Hi there, thanks for your review. The Geolocation app does not translate your content for you, but helps buyers switch between different languages you have made available on your site. To get started selling in multiple languages, take a look here (, and then use the Geolocation app to make recommendations once you have published additional languages!


I use this app to rate my webstore. now i need to fix my prices and tax and check outs so pls help me out