Overall rating
4.1
Counts per rating level
  • 71% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 18% of ratings are 1 stars
January 19, 2022

Search is the most important feature on our online store with 15k+ products. And Algolia is the perfect solution for us. The indexing process works very well, and the Algolia dashboard gives us tons of features. We used InstantSearch.js to implement a custom search user experience.

asmus shoes & beautiful things
Austria
9 months using the app
November 3, 2016

If Amazon.com has a feature then you probably want your store to have it, and having a real-time autocomplete search (and then a search page with every filter your customer could want) are must-haves. Algolia is a night and day difference from the default search on our site and was an easy integration for how powerful the app is. Super responsive support as well!

Choix
United States
6 months using the app
February 9, 2018

Excellent search tool, would recommend to anyone.

Dicks Climbing
United Kingdom
5 months using the app
February 24, 2024

Incredibly fast, reliable and flexible search

Roger Ximenez: Bespoke Belts and Leather Accessories
United States
January 21, 2018

Brilliant app, works like a charm and gives a unique user friendly quick and responsive UI which is very helpful on ecommerce websites

Orshy
United Kingdom
4 months using the app
Edited September 29, 2017

Really wanted to use this app, but I cannot create an account with them. I literally cannot press the "create account" button on my browsers (and I've tried all of them).

I've asked support to help me multiple times, and they always say they will look into it, but then I never hear from them again.

EDIT: they contacted me quickly after this review with a great solution and some extra's.

Natural Heroes Nl
Netherlands
3 months using the app
December 19, 2017

Algolia is an amazing search SaaS providing an amazing user experience to our customers. We were thinking about building a search ourselves with Elasticsearch, but are now using Algolia to make 3M+ books searchable at shop.autorenwelt.de.

Matthieu, who is responsible for this integration at Algolia, was an absolute pleasure to work with - never before have I experienced such a responsive, thorough and helpful customer support.

If search is the primary way your customers interact with your product range, don't skimp on it.

Autorenwelt
Germany
3 months using the app
Edited July 26, 2018

This Algolia integration was easy to implement and provided a much better result that out of the box search. We've also been able to adjust the ranking and disable typo-tolerance for a few unique strings to better suit our needs.

Clivecoffee
United States
About 1 month using the app
Edited December 18, 2022

We tested almost every search app out there and spent countless hours finding the right search for our shopify store, robotvacuums.com. We also ported it to another site, freedomusasales.com
Algolia is not only better than all search engines, it completely blows all other apps out of the game.
I cannot understand any of the low reviews except A: Lazy ignorant people who do not understand what they are missing out on or B: Jealous competitors who know their goose is cooked.
Other search apps are just modifications of the built in shopify search, which is extremely lacking in features. Some are so backwards that you cannot even type a search term in middle of a sentence, it will not show results.
We are still new to algolia and learning how to harness it but seeing the bad reviews is so categorically false and wrong on so many levels that it just gets me angry and we had to write something...
Thanks!

Freedom USA Sales
United States
27 days using the app
July 27, 2017

I'm a Shopify Experts developer, and Algolia is the best search app for Shopify HANDS DOWN. If you go to Algolia.com, you'll see that they're used on some really big name fashion brands like thekooples.com/us/.

Best part, it's free!!
Their instant search makes it feel like you're on Google. It blows shopify native search out of the water.

Installation is a little more involved than a single click, but it's worth it because this is a real platform, not a shitty half-baked Shopify plugin app as many are.. honestly.

I've implemented this across a few of my client sites. Here are some examples of how you can use it:
http://marissa-webb.com/search
http://chuubie.com/search

Lastly, their support forums are GREAT, they will get back to you next day early morning. and you can search for answers in the forums.

Expert level customizability for your search needs. A++++++++

Chuubie
United States