Champ Forum , 13 reviews

Overall rating
3.5
Counts per rating level
  • 54% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 8% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 31% of ratings are 1 stars
Edited July 30, 2018

So far support has been non-existent. I have been trying to contact them since July 25th. We have tried to email them and write to them in the "support" forum with no results. I do not think we will pay $29/month with no support or help.

Dr To Help
United States
Almost 3 years using the app
Furvur Inc replied May 28, 2019

Sorry I missed your emails. On the backend, we use GSuite (by Google) and some unusual problems had caused the email not to be routed properly.

With regards to your forum post, it was replied to within 24 hours. I do try to provide quick support and realize that sometimes people want answers immediately. Understandably, immediate responses aren't always available and I've tried to create a detail documentation to help with this at https://getchamp.net/guides/.

September 28, 2020

Awesome app and amazing support! The app is designed very well and it's clear from studying the app's own forum that feedback from users is being taken into consideration as it evolves. That same forum and the user guide have been good resources for discovering how to customize or add features without the help of a web developer. We've had a few questions during the initial configuration and Simon from Champ has responded quickly each time and has either resolved the issue or has advised us how to best configure to meet our needs. Champ support has been the best we've received from any Shopify app developer to date! Keep up the good work Champ, this app has unlimited potential!

MDaemon Technologies
United States
Over 2 years using the app
October 30, 2018

This app is very simple and easy to use. It has an extremely clean design and a great interface. It can be customized just right!

Customer service is great and always there to help, replying fast to each question and solving each problem!

The subscription is a little bit pricey, but as for now I am very happy with it and it was just what I was looking for. A 14-day-trial is a very fair option as it really gives users the right amount of time to get used to the app and clearly see if this is something for them or not.

I hope it will continue to work great and get upgrades and implementations. Really nothing bad to say about it! THUMBS UP

MixedLove Global
United States
About 2 years using the app
Furvur Inc replied May 28, 2019

Thanks for your review!

Every month, I create a thread on what features I'll be adding and my progress. Here's the one for May 2019 (https://getchamp.myshopify.com/community/champ/forums/7-support/topics/6404-planned-champ-features-last-updated-may-2019).

I encourage merchants to post replies to there if they have any feature requests.

August 2, 2018

App does what we want so far and the guys from Champ do a great job and are adding new features regulary.

We had no need for support as its pretty easy to use and they offer a support forum

Made By Men
Germany
Almost 2 years using the app
Edited September 18, 2018

This is a great forum/message boards application - it is easy to implement and works well immediately with no technical integration. It has all the major functionalities you need in a forum - it is easy to use, organize, and manage. You can set specific permissions on each forum on your site (can anyone post? just users who are logged in? just admins). It is nice to be able to give special privileges for community members to help manage the forum. It looks clean, and works well on mobile as well. It was overall a real pleasure to work with. I've used message boards in a number of previous businesses (the customers in the spaces I sell and interact like forums), and in the past I've looked for this functionality for a Shopify store, but nothing has really worked well before Champ. The integration with user accounts and login is very powerful and valuable for an integrated message board.

Also, I had a formatting issue in using Markdown and contacted the Developer. He got back to me right away and helped me with my specific issue very quickly.

I was a little hesitant to try it out as I didn't see a lot of reviews, but glad I did (and am writing a review now to help address that issue since I am experienced with message boards, and had such a good experience with Champ).

The only thing one should keep in mind is that it doesn't have some features that some other message board systems have, so if there is something specific you need, you should try it out and test it during the free trial period, but Champ has all of the major functionalities one needs for an integrated and professional forum.

Devv.io
United States
Over 1 year using the app
May 28, 2019

Our site lets parents learn to read or improve their reading at home. Champ lets them ask quick questions when they run into difficulties. The other subscribers can see their questions and our responses so they know (A) we're helpful and (B) there's an answer to a problem they either have or may have in the future.

We've had no difficulties with Champ's functions so far. It does what it's supposed to do. It has a lot of features, though, so you may have trouble finding, selecting, or deselecting the features you want. The good news is that EVERY single time I've had a question, Simon at Champ has responded with quick, useful guidance. I'm a happy camper.

WowzaBrain
United States
About 1 year using the app
Furvur Inc replied May 28, 2019

Thanks for the review!

Edited March 4, 2019

It's clean and it works well for my store, www.artatler.com and art marketplace, especially if you are looking to build a light forum like mine. But I don't think it's robust enough for a heavy/extensive forum.

If I may recommend, function to login/sign up should stay within the forum itself (currently it redirect people to the store) and once signed up / logged in, it won't redirect back to the forum.

Also I feel it needs to have sort / sequence function. I needed to click the item one by one to move the sub-forum / category.

Also, ability to quickly edit the formatting i.e bold / italic/ underscore is not present (this made some consistency in input from different moderators)

But overall, this is a useful app, I use it for an add-on function for my store, not for the main function due to its limitation. It does well for a light forum.

Thank you for the app!

www.artatler.com

Artatler
Singapore
About 1 year using the app
Furvur Inc replied May 28, 2019

Thanks for the review! I'm looking into the possibility of integrating a login section (perhaps as a dropdown) into the forum itself.

For the formatting, everything is done by Markdown format. I'm looking into creating some sort of "editor" section that lets people format the posts easier. This isn't close to being released, but it's definitely in my mind for a future release.

May 20, 2018

I just started to use their app at www.datgenroasters.com . Champ support team is perfect. Their app is easy to implement and saved me a lot time. Thanks!

Datgen
Türkiye
10 months using the app
August 24, 2020

Used this for 9 months hopping it will appear on google search helping my site SEO. Nothing happened. More than that the forum is now full of spamming messages... there are about 3500 messages and repplies... only 200 are real... the rest is spam from robots. I wouldn't recommend it... especially for 29 per month.

Doza
Romania
9 months using the app
Edited September 6, 2018

This forum app is very good. It is simple and easy to use. It works very well and the price is reasonable. I am giving it three stars because there are some improvements to be made including: 1) do not allow the adding of backlinks (my forum is getting spammed) 2) The image upload is not working and it would be better to have an internal image service (hosting images is not that expensive!), when a user posts anonymously, they cannot see replies to their threads. Not everyone wants to register with my shop so it would be good if they could login via the forum itself. Also, it would help to have a sitemap for Google indexing. Otherwise, a great app. Will update the review once changes are implemented.

Peachesandscreamsuk
United Kingdom
6 months using the app