Overall rating
4.6
Counts per rating level
  • 87% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants highly value this app for its ability to notify customers about restocked items, boosting sales and engagement. It's praised for its user-friendly design, easy setup, and efficient operation. Key features include tracking popular items, automatic restock alerts, and variant-specific notifications. Merchants appreciate its cost-effectiveness and customization options. The support team is noted for their promptness and assistance. The app also offers insightful analytics on restock requests and sent emails, aiding in understanding customer preferences.

September 20, 2018

I just wanted this on a few products, but it applied it to all my out of stocks and there was no way to uncheck all. Had to manually go take off each product one at a time. The setup was not easy. Feel like I wasted time trying to get this to work. Uninstalled.

Horse Creek Boutique
United States
2 days using the app
June 22, 2020

The app states they set up the app for you. Just contact support and give the info needed. I did that and got no response. I emailed again and finally got a response. I replied and it took several more days for them to get back to me and the response didn’t even address my issue. I deleted the app.

Three Crazy Crows
United States
2 days using the app
September 5, 2019

Had to immediately uninstall. Every prompt has you waiting in front of the spinning wheel of death. Literally useless.

The Wishing Elephant
United States
9 minutes using the app
Dibble Development replied September 5, 2019

Sorry to hear of your issue and thank you for your feedback. The only reason there would be a "spinning wheel of death" is because when you load pages from the backend we have to pull that data from Shopify and can take a bit, its not the app itself. It seems a bit harsh to leave a 1 star review when the only issue you had you never reached out to our customer service team to resolve the issue. Nevertheless, if there is any problem with installing the app, or anything we can do to help in the future, please reach out to our customer service team to help. Again, thank you for your review.

June 14, 2020

I deleted the application and it still appears on the store. Interesting and very very beautiful :(((. Probably will continue to charge. You can not make a filter on products, you can not make a filter on customers you can not make a filter for the value of products or number of products. More precisely you can't do anything, you have to analyze registration by registration

Carolina D
Romania
1 minute using the app
Dibble Development replied June 20, 2020

Thank you for your review. However your review is quite inaccurate. The main function is to send notification emails, we value feedback of ways to make the app better and fit more peoples needs. We are more than able and ready to help if you would have contacted customer service. But to set the record straight on your review, you can in fact filter and sort via the app.

-You can filter products both by notifications that are active and notifications sent.

-After clicking view detail on a product, you can filter by customer email

-All data can be exported by CSV for analysis

-You can't filter by value of products as that's something we found necessary for a restock notification app

-Shopify handles billing so if it was uninstalled from the Shopify apps page then it'll stop billing. If the app is still showing we are more than happy to take a look and see why and help you uninstall from your theme.

December 16, 2019

Didn't work properly; customisation / color settings didn't correctly transfer over; I tried contacting their support for over a week, no resolution.

Fight Gear Direct
Australia