Reviews (393)

Overall rating
3.5
Counts per rating level
  • 38% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 21% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 17% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 8% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 16% of ratings are 1 stars
June 9, 2024

The buy button has two main shortcomings. The first is that there is no way to add the cart on the side of the page to a whole website. It only shows up on pages where there is another buy button. So if you had a Wordpress site, the cart button will not follow the user as they navigate.
The second issue is a bigger one. If your customer is in the cart and clicks the logo to go back to the full shopify page, the cart contents don't follow. So a person might put a few items in the cart on a Wordpress site, click the link to the storefront, then have nothing in the cart. They might shop more, not realizing it, and purchase just the additional items.
It does work really well, though for products. The cart link on the side of the page is nice, it is well designed, and it is connects with other products on the same site really well.

Velaction Store
United States
Over 2 years using the app
Shopify replied June 17, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We will absolutely log that for future consideration. -Olivia, Shopify Support

May 30, 2024

The app does it works, but after installing the app after few sessions i find it to be blank, the app doesn't connect with shopify admin for some reason. it shows "admin.shopify.com refused to connect."
can you kindly fix this?

Adidogs
France
10 months using the app
Shopify replied June 3, 2024

Hi there, thank you for reaching out. This is an issue we'll want to investigate further so please contact our support team for further assistance: https://shopify.link/vRnL. Our team can authenticate you on your account and look into this in more detail. -Victor, Shopify Support

February 29, 2024

It's a fantastic idea and works well on mobile, but on desktop with Chrome browser, there is a glitch on first-page load.

The product collections window is truncated. Any resizing of the browser makes the collection window fully appear. All subsequent views are fine, but press f5 to reload the page and the problem reoccurs.

Looking on the Shopify forum shows that this or a very similar issue has been occurring for a few years and I wonder if they just can't fix it.

Natural Elements
United Kingdom
Almost 5 years using the app
Shopify replied March 7, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your feedback with us on the Buy Button channel. I am sorry to hear that you've experienced this issue and your feedback will be communicated to our development team. Please also feel free to contact our support team about this to see if there's any troubleshooting we can do on our end: https://shopify.link/vRnL. -Victor, Shopify Support

May 12, 2024

I want to add a list of 4 products to my blog post. However, with this app I either can add 1 product or a collection of products which is very odd.
Also, it's not aligned well within my blog post and stick to the left of the page. Please advise

Harmony Gallery
United Kingdom
39 minutes using the app
Shopify replied May 14, 2024

Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. At this time, you can add a Buy Button for a single product or collection. You can learn more about this here: https://shopify.link/eLMM. You can also learn more about adding a Buy Button via HTML code here: https://shopify.link/2zqw. -Mac, Shopify Support

March 25, 2024

I'd love the option to just deeplink to my shop's PDP. I don't want to checkout off platform, I just want to send them to my shop with this nice little widget. Also, there isn't an option to customize the background colors. I know it matches my shop's theme but that doesn't match some of the site I want to render this.

Techno Tim Shop
United States
35 minutes using the app
Shopify replied March 27, 2024

Thanks for your feedback! There are several customizations available for the Buy Button, including color: https://shopify.link/5QZV. We're happy to share your suggestions with our developers for consideration in future updates. -Sophia, Shopify Support

December 4, 2023

The Buy Button works great... But, there is one major draw back. If your site is selling a lot of products then it is customary to want a search or filter option. There doesn't seem to be a way do to that with this plugin which can be extremely annoying. If you have only a few product, this plugin is great. But, if not, the plugin will get real old real fast without one of those two major features.

Nature's Gene
United States
4 days using the app
Shopify replied December 8, 2023

Hi, there. Thank you for taking the time to provide us this feedback for the Buy Button app! I've gone ahead and shared your feature request with our Development Team for their consideration in a future update. I can't say what the outcome of the feedback will be, but it's been brought to those folks who need to see it! -Imogen, Shopify Support

December 12, 2023

Interesting but...unfortunetly, login to customer account doesn't work.
After login, it redirects you to the Online Store and loose cart contain.
I used it to sell a collection of products from our WordPress site and customize user experience.
As I could not find any support, I hope my review will help fix that issue.

Boutique L214
France
About 3 hours using the app
Shopify replied January 2, 2024

Hi there, thank you for your review. You can try creating a new button to add to your Wordpress site to see if generating a fresh button helps; if not, please contact our support team via the Help Center and we'll see if there's any troubleshooting we can do for you here: https://shopify.link/vRnL. -Victor, Shopify Support

November 18, 2015

This is a great app. However, it is missing one feature that makes it unusable, the ability to style the widget.

A simple fix would be to add a custom CSS box to the Buy Button app. As long as that CSS gets sent with the iFrame content styling would then be possible.

I tried a CSS rule, which won't work because it's in an iFrame. Then I built some JavaScript code to inject CSS into the iFrame. That also won't work because browsers consider it a type of attack.

When you get there, you will run into this nasty error "Blocked a frame with origin "https://" from accessing a frame with origin "https://widgets.shopifyapps.com". Protocols, domains, and ports must match." This means that you need an SSL certificate for HTTPS, and your domain name must be "https://widgets.shopifyapps.com". Since the second one is impossible, the clear interpretation is that the browser will not allow you to style the Buy Button app.

Kissmattress
United States
Over 2 years using the app
December 14, 2018

Easy to add code to our website, integrates well. Loads very slowly with blank page, no loading info

RP Advanced Mobile Systems
United States
About 6 years using the app
Edited May 9, 2019

If you stay on the Shopify platform this is a GREAT feature.

I don't stay on the platform. I have a standalone website that can easily display the contents of my collections via Buy Button code that I paste into that website BUT it only takes the basic information.

We sell personalized products now and this is an absolute non-starter at this point. None of the personalization capture fields we have in our Shopify store come across so it's just another listing that you can't modify on the off-platform website so why bother... This issue comes up because suggested modifications for product templates are accomplished using "liquid" code but, unfortunately, that can only be read by Shopify, not our website provider.

I'm now struggling to find a developer who can do a very complex task of working with Shopify's API to move that data across.

I realize this is a free "app" but, really Shopify. This doesn't do what it's advertised to do. It says you can display your products on any website, blog, etc. NO YOU CANNOT. Not if they contain anything more than basic listing information and normal variants.

Disappointed to say the least.

KJ Partners
United States
About 6 years using the app
Shopify replied June 14, 2019

Hey there, thanks for taking the time to share this feedback about the Buy Button!

I can certainly understand why this limitation would be frustrating, especially considering you're selling personalized products. When embedded on a third-party website, the Buy Button acts as a connecting tool to the Shopify checkout, and isn't ideal if you need to add additional fields for the product beyond basic listing and variant info.

That said, we're always looking into ways we can improve our apps! I’ve followed up with you via email to log your feedback for our development team - Lauren, Shopify Support