Discount Ninja: 10+ promotions , 211 reviews
What merchants think
This is generated by Shopify Magic. It's shown when an app has 100+ reviews and a 4.0 overall rating.
This is generated by Shopify Magic. It's shown when an app has 100+ reviews and a 4.0 overall rating.
Merchants appreciate this app for its comprehensive discount management features, including single-use and multi-use codes, bulk and scheduled discounts. Despite a learning curve, it's considered user-friendly with responsive customer support. Regular updates keep it efficient and relevant. Merchants report increased conversion rates and revenue due to dynamic pricing, complex discount structures, and secret sales capabilities. The app also integrates well with email marketing platforms for targeted campaigns.
Automatic discount doesnt work properly. Really annoying and frustating. Eventho I did everything right.
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback. Please note that Automatic discounts do work properly. I notice you uninstalled after ~2 hours. Perhaps you expected to see discounted prices before checkout? On some themes you need to request Dynamic Pricing setup in order for that to work. Fortunately, our support team is available 24x7 and can set this up for you free of charge. Simply request it in the app from the dashboard or from Settings > Dynamic Pricing > Installation. Or set it up here yourself using the documentation available here: https://support.discountninja.io/en/articles/2475856-setting-up-dynamic-pricing-summary
When it works, it's fine. The problem is that when it breaks, it BREAKS. Support is polite but completely useless. My discounting system has been down for over a week due to a bad update on their part and after THREE "oh, it's fixed now!" messages from support, it's STILL broken. My company has taken a hard hit to reputation for "fraudulent advertising" and we're having to refund hundreds of dollars manually because Limoni Apps support doesn't appear to be able to maintain their own app. Most disappointing app support I've seen to date.
Discount Ninja is not working. I sent a news letter and all of my VIP costumers aren't able to buy with discounted prices. It generated a lot of frustration from my costumers and now because of your **** plug in we have to deal with a lot crap.
Hi there, thanks for you review!
We understand it is frustrating when a promotion goes wrong because of an issue with an app. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you.
Our development team is constantly working on improving the app resulting in many new features and a rock solid stable infrastructure to ensure you have have a feature rich app that you can trust with all of your promotions.
We used discountninja on all our 4 shopify stores as it can help to create a satisfying automatic coupon. Whilst I found this brings us a lot of trouble 1. customers cannot receive order confirmation email as discountninja created draft orders a lot 2. Discountninja unreasonablely gave out super big discount to our customers, which result in that our customers can get products at 0 dollar or super low price. That caused us a big loss. And when we contacted discountninja, they just told us it's shopify problem without solving it for merchant. So in order to maintain our store in good condition, we have to uninstall Discountninja. Everyone, mind before you install it.
Hi there Govee, we're sad to learn that you have decided to uninstall the app. We hope you will re-evaluate using the app once Shopify fixes the bug that impacted your order confirmation notifications.
With regards to the first issue ("1. customers cannot receive order confirmation email"): this **only** impacts customers who choose to use our "stack a discount code in the checkout" feature. This feature is off by default and the limitations related to this feature are clearly marked in the app.
When using this feature (off by default), it is a known limitation that some customers, due to a Shopify bug, find that some order confirmation notification emails (based on the standard Shopify template) are not sent out after an order is completed. Discount Ninja (by default) uses the official Shopify Draft Order API to prepare a checkout. This issue has been brought to Shopify's attention in May of 2021 and the Discount Ninja team has worked with Shopify throughout the last six months to help investigate this issue. As of November 2021 Shopify has not yet resolved this issue. We understand that this problem, for the customers that are impacted, can be problematic. We advise customers that run into this to use an alternative solution to send out the order confirmation email for the time being, such as, for example, Klaviyo. An alternative solution is to switch to our discount code based checkout, which is not impacted by this Shopify bug, as we have discussed in our call with Govee on this topic.
With regards to the second issue ("2. Discountninja gave out super big discount"): as discussed in our call, when using the discount code mode, the app combines all offers redeemed by the customer into a single discount code. The app allows you to configure which offers can combine to protect against providing a larger discount than expected. Our customer service team can assist in setting this up properly to avoid any issues.
Customer service is slow and no solution is given still. I didn't need the Bronze Plan anymore so downgraded to Free plan so next month I won't be charged. I still had one whole month of the paid plan left but lost all the features. Support told me they don't have automatic downgrade like other subscription services had. I tried to go back to previous plan since I paid for a month the day before but it wanted to charge me again. I've contacted support for help and they said they'll contact the team and would get back to me with any update. It's been almost 3 weeks with no updates. I emailed multiple times throughout the weeks and got the same response.
As discussed over email, we apologize for the delay in getting back to you. Discount Ninja uses the standard Shopify subscription charging system (like most apps). The downgrade/upgrade behavior is implemented by Shopify and can lead to some surprises indeed. I hope the compensation we offered via email meets your approval and that you are enjoying the app!
Slow response of team through email. All the promotions and offers I created from the start were all removed yesterday without Discount Ninja team informing me. The reports on offer usage are all inaccurate. The tagging of discounted items and adding new items are inconsistent, so manual checking of orders becomes a must. There's also the added work of communicating with the customers regarding the errors. The discounts are also not working properly.
My main reason for using this app was so my customers could use 2 discounts which Shopify won't do. This feature worked. However, the list of negatives HIGHLY out weighs this one good feature. When you schedule a promotion to start automatically, it doesn't. I had to activate manually. I had it set to start a midnight and at 12:04 I had to go activate myself. It took another 5 minutes before customers started seeing the discount on their end. Well... some of them. This made for a huge headache refunding differences. The next issue is carts already made with products in it won't see the discount. They have to clear them out and restart their browser. This doesn't always work though. There were customers with browsers open and then added items hours into the sale and they still couldn't see the discount. I kept telling my customers to clear their history and restart everything or use a different device and they still had issues. The discount wouldn't show up. This is the 2nd sale I used with this app and both times I had these issues. I have many unhappy customers who didn't get the discount and a lot more work fixing hundreds of orders! If you want to pay for a headache, this is the app for you!
We're sorry you had a bad experience with the app. I sent a message via email as well inviting you to discuss these issues in more detail. Our goal with Discount Ninja is to provide a flexible app that allows customers to run profitable promotions. If you have identified specific use cases that are not working as you expected, I would like to hear your feedback directly so we can address it and improve the app further.
Founder Discount Ninja
Never using DN again! Had a promotion set up with their dynamic pricing feature (which we paid more for) for a 2 hour flash sale on our website (50% off). 10 minutes into the promotion running with thousands of customers on our website the app malfunctioned, hundreds of our customers were charged full price and we lost thousands in sales. The issue was unable to be resolved as the sale was only running for the 2 hour period.
Hi there, sorry to hear you had issues with a flash sale in June. To resolve issues with flash sales, Shopify has developed a new way to integrate with the checkout. Discount Ninja is now using this new technique to offer flash sales without limitations!
Working with Discount Ninja has been very painful. I really like the idea of everything they offered, but it is just that- an idea. Basically everything they advertised is everything we needed and wanted, so we were willing to pay for their premium plan. You would think that having this plan you would receive a top tier support but Bart did not respond to multiple requests for over 72 hours. Now, the finally reason that we decided to end our partnership was because they were not compatible with subscriptions services which we had installed on our site for some time. That is no fault of their own and I understand if they are not compatible, there's nothing that can be done. This review is more about their customer support. We had issues with their free gifts charging customers the actual amount of their product, which is a huge no-no when you are dealing with customers money. We literally had to refund over 20+ customers which makes our business look terrible. Now, I understand if the reason this was happening was due to the subscription service, but even after letting him know how huge of a priority this was I had to follow up with him over 4 times just to get a response that he was still working on it. Before knowing the root cause he had said it was fixed about 3 times and every time we found out that there was still another issue or was not actually fixed. This app may work for you if you do not have any incompatibilities and do not need any support but it has been a huge nightmare for us. Also, they had so much code inside our live theme. The application that we found now has been so much easier to deal with and is compatible with subscriptions, so there are better choices out there. I would really recommend improving your service to customers if #1: you want to keep customers and #2 you want to avoid bad reviews. If the service was good and the application did not work for us, I would never have taken my time to write this review.
Thank you for your review.
Sorry to hear that the free gift promotion did not work well with the other apps you have and the specific theme you use. We continue to invest in improving the app to ensure it is compatible with as many themes and apps as possible. Mid-June we released an update (https://releasenotes.discountninja.io/) that allows for better integration with subscription solutions. The free gift capabilities have also been improved.
Quick note: the app is a little bit more than "just an idea" ;-) Discount Ninja was created in 2016 and has seen 4 major releases, many more minor releases, and continuous development and UX improvements. It is the most complete promotions app available for Shopify. It combines free gifts, with BOGO, volume discount, Spend x, get y promotions. It also supports stacked discounts, a custom promotion code field as well as Dynamic Pricing to show discounted prices. On top of that, it offers fully configurable building blocks (widgets) to advertise your offers on your store. The app provides the necessary promotions that help Shopify merchants to increase Average Order Value and conversion rates.
Our many Shopify and Shopify Plus customers see significant results once the app is integrated properly.
So far my worst review to any App on Shopify. Very disappointed. The app say that you can do a lot of configurations, and after install it you see that most of what the advertise is Coming Soon... so I first installed it in september/2018 and contacted them about the coming soon parts that I wanted, and was told soon would be released... so far it still have the parts I want as "coming soon" and I didn't use this app until now, and I am been charged 49$ per month because the version that was supposed to have those features charge that amount per month... I will never use again any App from this developer!
Thanks for your review! We understand that it can be annoying to wait for new features to arrive.
To add the features marked as "Coming Soon" in version two we've had to completely rebuild the app. Software development can sometimes take longer than planned, which is what happened here. Our communication on this could and should have been more transparent.
The good news is that the completely revamped version of the app has been launched a few months ago and includes all the features our users have been asking for, including:
- Cart rules: trigger a promotion when customers spend x or buy x
- "Buy x, get y" and "BOGO" promotions
- "Free gift with" promotions
- More powerful abilities to stack discount codes
- Promotion code field in the cart
and much more