Geolocation , 386 reviews

Overall rating
2.9
Counts per rating level
  • 26% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 12% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 12% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 44% of ratings are 1 stars
August 24, 2022

for some reason this doesnt work anymore. it just displays GBP for every country apart for the us where it display correctly.

Rocksolid Audio
United Kingdom
11 months using the app
February 17, 2021

The wording on the pop-up and banner is confusing and you can't change it. It has what appears to be the correct currency pre-selected and then the confirmation button the customer is supposed to click is labelled 'Change'. Customers think that if they hit 'Change', it will change AWAY from their preferred currency and instead opt to 'X' out of the pop up prior to confirming the proper one. Customers have no idea that the Currency showing in the selector needs to be confirmed otherwise it will go to default. 80% of my sales since installing has been in the wrong currency. It would be a lot better if you could improve the customization of the pop-up or banner to allow merchants to label their buttons and the wording in a less confusing way. Instead of "Looks like you're shopping inside of Canada" and show CAD next to the word 'Change', simple say "Choose your currency" next to the selector and the word 'Select' or 'Confirm' etc.

San Poncho
Canada
9 months using the app
Shopify replied February 17, 2021

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review Geolocation! This is extremely valuable feedback, and we agree - we are in the middle of looking at optimizations we can make here, stay tuned!

January 6, 2022

Got worse with the recent update — there's no way to change the text on the popover. We sell digital products and having «This store ships to [country]» message to customers is confusing.

The School of UX
United Kingdom
9 months using the app
October 1, 2022

Too basic. Need to be able to whitelist pages. (The rest of this text is to maake sure I hit the Minimum 100 characters)

ZEN8 - Swim Trainer
United Kingdom
8 months using the app
January 26, 2023

The application could also have the option to automatically show the language for the selected country without any popup.

Black Peach®
Portugal
6 months using the app
Edited December 14, 2021

I like that the app uses geolocation to show customers the appropriate prices, but my US customers have reported that it does not always work correctly. It also takes too long for customers to get to the bottom of the page to change the currency - so it would nice to have an option for that feature to be at the top of the page

Philomania.ca
Canada
4 months using the app
August 14, 2022

If I set my location as anywhere other than the United States it stays in English, then displays an error code. Two stars instead of one for the benefit of the doubt.

Borne Pretty
United States
4 months using the app
March 8, 2021

Soy de España, mi tienda está en dólares y vendo a México. Añadí los pesos MXN pero todos mis clientes ven el precio en dólares USD ¿Cómo puede ser esto?

CAN-TIDUBY
Spain
3 months using the app
December 23, 2021

This app needs significant improvement. There are better versions available in the Shopify app options.

Junxure Consulting eStore
Canada
3 months using the app
August 22, 2020

We've Geo location on our site for about 2 months now. Unfortunately it doesn't seems to be working. It has not showed up in my personal browsers since the initial install, and we've had some customers confused about the currency they made their purchases in, so I'm guessing it's not showing up for them either. Good idea, but needs to work.

The Potters Boards
United States
About 2 months using the app
Shopify replied August 24, 2020

Hey The Potters Boards,

Thanks for your feedback. Geolocation app only shows suggestion based on the IP address of the visitor. If you were browsing your store from your home country, then the recommendation may not be triggered.

You also seem to be using another currency conversion app which automatically sets currencies and may interfere with how Geolocation works. Feel free to reach out to Shopify Support for assistance. If you already have a support ticket, please let us know and we will follow up on our end.

Thanks,
Geolocation team