Image Optimizer

Image Optimizer

by LoyaltyHarbour

Image Compression and Image SEO Optimization

Overall rating
4.9 of 5 stars
Based on 672 reviews

  • 5 of 5 stars
    92% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 3 stars
    (7)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 2 stars
    (3)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 1 stars
    (9)

All reviews

9 reviews

Elite Turtle

This did not improve anything. Probably the reason these folks don't have a free trial. I had downloaded it thinking it will improve my page load time but nothing. It was as good as before.

Developer reply

May 7, 2019

Hi Manas!

Thank you for your feedback.

We also checked your account and analyzed your Shopify store. We reached out to you by email and provided the following recommendations on how our app can help you improve the loading time of your store further.

#1 Compress banners

Our app has successfully compressed all your Product, Collection, Asset, and Blog Post Featured images. It uses best-in-class compression algorithms. It is impossible to compress your images more without significant quality loss. If we compress your images further they would look blurry and unprofessional.

Your homepage has several banners which were stored in the Shopify Files section. We would love to compress them automatically but Shopify doesn’t allow access to these files to any applications. You should compress them manually before uploading to Shopify. We created a special tool for this task - “Manual File Uploader”. It is an easy-to-use tool which allows compressing your banners in our app with the same image compression algorithms.

#2 Convert PNG to JPG

We also noticed that you used the PNG format for some of your images. This format is only advisable for images with a transparent background. These images don’t have a transparent background and can be safely converted to the JPG format. By doing this, you can dramatically reduce the file size up to 80% of the original size. Our app also can help you with this! It can automatically convert all your Product, Collection, and Blog Post Featured images from PNG to JPG.

Because you weren’t satisfied with our app, we would like to make it up to you by refunding your payment.

If there are any other questions we can help out with, feel free to get in touch with us!

Thanks again for your feedback!

- Steve

Inspiretrendz.com

its not working the way it used to, i used this app for long time, i noticed few things, which i'm mentioning below...

1. i have installed it and optimized all images and paid the price, then i uninstalled it for some reason then installed again, the app is again asking for optimization, what is this? i have already paid the price, then why i need to pay again for that same images??

2. right now, app is not syncing images from my store, basic pain says 1000 images, but i only optimized 333 images, and its shopped showing more images to optimize, although i have added many images on my store

i don't know, this app works or just bluffing :(

Developer reply

May 7, 2019

Hi Inspiretrendz.com!

Thank you for your feedback and for being our loyal customer since April 2018!

Please find the answers to your questions below.

#1 When you uninstall any third-party application, Shopify sends the developer a request to erase all the information the app collected while it was installed. This is why you didn’t see your previous optimization sessions when you reinstalled our app. Please contact us anytime you need to skip the previously optimized images when reinstalling our app, and we will be happy to help you out with this!

#2 By default, our app periodically scans for new images and automatically optimizes them. You also can choose Manual mode, where all new images can be optimized in one click. However, we recommend Automatic mode for most of our users because there is no need to worry about slow and unoptimized images, and you can focus on building your store.

Please feel free to get in touch with us directly. We can clear up any questions you may have about how the Image Optimizer app works!

Thank you again for your feedback! - Vitalii

49 Dzine

Ridiculous pricing. I have over 50k images on my site. The cost would be in the several hundred dollars. No thanks.

Developer reply

May 7, 2019

Hi 49 Dzine!

Thank you for your feedback. We always think about how we can improve our pricing policy, and we revise our plans regularly.

Our plans are based on the number of images because image compression is a resource-intensive task. It usually takes 1-2 seconds to optimize each image, so since your store has more than 50 000 images, our app will need 14-28 hours to compress and optimize all of them.

We also tested and analyzed your store. The desktop version of your website which has a page size of 28 Mb loaded in 8 seconds. The mobile version which has a 12.2 Mb page size loaded in 58 seconds! Our app would help you reduce your page size and speed up your store significantly, justifying the cost.

In addition, we noticed that you use a very old version of the Debut theme which doesn’t support responsive images and lazy-loading. You have an image-rich website, and these features are crucial for page loading time. Shopify added support of responsive images and lazy-loading a long time ago for this theme. We recommend upgrading your current Shopify theme to the newest version as soon as possible.

We have contacted you several times and offered to help you, but we didn’t get a response :(. It is very sad for us because you have such an amazing store which doesn’t fully realize its potential due to the slow loading website.

If you change your mind, feel free to get in touch with us! Our team will be happy to help you out and speed up your store!

And thanks again for your feedback! - Vitalii

Degree Seven

This application removed all of our images from Shopify store from all of the variations. If you want to spend time on re uploading your images back to Shopify then this is perfect application for you.

Would NOT recommend it!

Developer reply

May 7, 2019

Hi David!

We now have the ability to respond to App reviews, so we wanted to clarify this case from October 2017.

We are sorry to hear you had these troubles! However, we do not agree with this allegation and we are certain that our application did not remove your images. We take this type of feedback very seriously. Our engineers thoroughly analyzed our system and the logs for your account and couldn’t find any problems on our end.

We completely understand your frustration and offered our help to identify the actual cause of the problem. We have a reputation for responsiveness and our desire to help, even if the problem lies somewhere else. If you had accepted our offer to help, we could have contacted the Shopify Tier 2 Support and asked them to check the Shopify logs for your store. This could have helped to determine the actual problem.

Since images are one of the most important assets of your store, our application backups original images before making any changes. You could have easily restored the whole set of images with a press of a button.

We are sorry that you didn’t give us the opportunity to help you identify the actual cause of the problem. We encourage our customers to get in touch with us directly if they have any questions or problems.

- Steve

Jungle Backyard

it's not compressing the gallery or in the pages images
and it's not showing which image is compressed

Developer reply

May 7, 2019

Hi Asher!

Thanks for your feedback. We now have the ability to respond to App reviews so we wanted to clarify this case from April 2017. Our customer representative reached out to you at that time to help clear up your questions.

Our app can automatically compress Product, Collection, Asset, and Blog Post Featured images. Unfortunately, Shopify doesn’t allow access to the images stored in the Shopify Files section. This means that we can’t optimize them automatically, and you should compress them manually before uploading to Shopify. We created a special tool for this task - “Manual File Uploader”. It is an easy-to-use tool which allows compressing your banners in our app with the same image compression algorithms.

Our app also provides detailed optimization history and can be easily accessed through our dashboard: App - Dashboard - Optimization history.

If there are any other questions we can help out with, feel free to get in touch with us!

Thanks again for your feedback! - Vitalii

Xplcit Assistance

Made all images look fuzzy and not professional

Developer reply

May 7, 2019

Hi Shawn!

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We now have the ability to respond to App reviews, so we wanted to clarify this case from March 2017. Our customer representative contacted you at that time to help address your concerns.

We checked your Shopify store and found out that after compressing your images, you used another Shopify application which resized your images to a very small size - 480x480 pixels. It made your images look fuzzy and unprofessional. Shopify recommends uploading high-resolution images because they look more polished and professional to your customers. Shopify recommends a minimum size of 2048x2048 pixels.

If there are any other questions we can help out with, feel free to get in touch with us! - Vitalii

Ecigaretteempire

easy to use
and make the website much faster. it's worth the money for sure.
sorry to change the review from 5 stars to 1 star
but that's what you get when you remove the (alt text images) anytime we optimize the images.
this is our 6th time filling up the alt texts for over 2100 items,,, so much work! and it hurt our ranking too.
and today we find out what app is causing this
so yesssssss! 1 star and it's not changing

Developer reply

May 7, 2019

Hi Ecigaretteempire!

We now have the ability to respond to App reviews, so we wanted to clarify this case from March 2017.

We are sorry to hear you had these troubles, but we do not agree with this allegation and confident that it wasn’t our app that removed your alt texts.

We are familiar with updating alt texts because we have offered another app since 2016 which specializes in Alt Text Optimization. The Image Optimizer app didn’t have the ability to update alt texts in 2017. In addition, you stated that your alt texts were removed several times, and you had to fill up the alt texts 6 times. It couldn't be our app, because our app updated your images only once.

We completely understand your frustration and offered our help to identify the actual cause of the problem. If you had accepted our offer to help, we could have contacted the Shopify Tier 2 Support and asked them to check the Shopify logs for your store. This could have helped to determine the actual problem.

We are sorry that you didn’t give us the opportunity to help you identify the actual cause of the problem. We encourage our customers to get in touch with us directly if they have any questions or problems.

- Steve

Woodenearrings

not sure if this app works... google says my files are the same size though this app claims to have reduced site size by about 25%. is there something wrong with my theme, or does this app just take money and do nothing?

Developer reply

May 8, 2019

Hi Woodenearrings!

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We now have the ability to respond to App reviews, so we wanted to clarify this case from January 2017. Our customer representative contacted you at that time to help address your concerns.

We checked your account and analyzed your Shopify store in 2017. Our app successfully compressed all your Product, Collection, and Asset images. However, Google also showed warnings about 5 images which were stored outside of the Shopify platform. It is impossible to compress this type of image automatically because we don’t have access to third-party servers. You need to compress such images manually. We created a special tool for this task - “Manual File Uploader”. It is an easy-to-use tool which allows compressing this type of image in our app with the same image compression algorithms. Google also showed warnings about the images which were scaled using HTML/CSS. Although this was a problem in your current theme, we offered our help to fix this issue.

Thank you again for your feedback. If there are any other questions we can help out with, feel free to get in touch with us!

- Steve

Www Asdmbeverlyhills Com

Didn't moved an inch. Disappointed.

Developer reply

May 8, 2019

Hi Asdmbeverlyhills!

Thank you for your feedback and for being our loyal customer since October 2016.

We now have the ability to respond to App reviews so we wanted to take this chance to reach out! Our customer representative contacted you several times in 2016 to ask you to provide more information but didn’t get any response:(

Our app is still installed on your Shopify store. Please feel free to get in touch with us directly with any concerns. We can clear up any questions you may have about our app!

We appreciate your feedback and would be happy to help you out if you still experiencing problems!

- Steve