Reviews (972)

Overall rating
4.8
Counts per rating level
  • 92% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for enhancing sales and average order value through personalized upsells, cross-sells, and time-limited offers. They find it user-friendly with customizable features and commend the support team for their quick and efficient service. The app is praised for its easy installation, seamless integration with Shopify, and useful tools like A/B testing and an autopilot offer creator, though some feedback suggests the latter may not always provide the perfect match.

March 21, 2024

Had been a customer for years on the multiple ecomm stores I own but had one that the app was deactivated. I reached out to support and told them I had no sales, app was deactivated, and was charged monthly. There response was when the theme was changed the app was not installed. NEVER CHANGED THE THEME. Couple hundred dollar lesson.

Coast Guard for Life
United States
About 2 years using the app
In Cart Upsell replied March 25, 2024

Hi Coast Guard for Life,

We’re sorry that you had this experience with our application. Regarding the sales, we are currently experiencing a bug that causes sales figures to not be reflected in the dashboard for a limited number of merchants; this will be rectified soon. We were able to see that your offers were loaded 24,893 and that merchants clicked 633 times on the offers. So you almost assuredly had generated sales from this activity, but due to the aforementioned issue, they are simply not appearing properly in the dashboard.

Regarding the app deactivation issue, we agree that this could be confusing. It does not refer to your subscription, rather it describes whether your offers are displaying or not. In this case, they were not due to a theme conflict. We will edit this pop up for greater clarity. We apologize for the inconvenience and will be reaching out to you directly via email.

August 14, 2023

I've been using the "InCart Upsell" app for about 6 months now. Initially, it seemed to meet my needs, but recent issues have entirely marred my experience. For about two weeks, whenever the app's offer is displayed, my website's screen goes completely black, rendering navigation absolutely impossible for my customers. It's a real nightmare for an online store owner to witness such a bug, especially knowing the value of every single visitor.

Beyond this major glitch, I'd like to highlight that the installation of the app on the theme is far from intuitive. I spent a lot of time figuring out the process, mainly because there's no tutorial provided to guide users. For a paid app, this is simply unacceptable.

But the most frustrating point remains the customer service. Every time I've attempted to address the issue, I've been given the same answer: "The issue will be resolved." Two weeks later, I'm still waiting for a solution, while my customers encounter a black screen and my conversion rate plummets drastically.

I'm genuinely disappointed and can't recommend this app in its current state. I hope the developer takes this feedback seriously and works swiftly to improve the user experience.

Ecolife®
United Kingdom
6 months using the app
In Cart Upsell replied August 15, 2023

Hi Ecolife,

We're so sorry that you've had this experience. The issue you are facing is specific to the Safari browser. When your cart drawer opens it displays a cart overlay screen which should disappear after the drawer is closed. That action works seamlessly for Chrome, Opera, MS Edge, and Firefox events while our offers are being displayed. Debugging an issue like this takes a good amount of time, we recommend that you reach out to your theme developer who can investigate how the cart drawer overlay reacts with Safari compared with other browsers.

Regarding the installation flow, we will be implementing an entirely new process for the application which will make this much easier and more intuitive. That said, we do provide helpdocs and offer free onboarding sessions with our customer support team.

Again, we’re very sorry for the experience that you’ve had and are committed to making this right. Additionally, while we do recommend that you reach out to your theme developer as the most effective next step, we will continue to investigate the issue on our side and contact you if we are able to resolve it on behalf of the the theme developer.

August 16, 2023

Terrible application, it doesn't work and the customer service people always respond the same as they are in development

Rs Motor
Spain
3 days using the app
In Cart Upsell replied August 18, 2023

Hi Rs Motor,

We’re very sorry you’ve had this experience, our application is undergoing maintenance and we expect to return to full functionality very soon. In the meantime, we will be providing updates on the app dashboard. We will reach out to you once our developers have resolved the issue to provide an update and a discount for the inconvenience.

August 8, 2018

Couldn't get it to work or do what it was supposed to. Deleted....

Scrapbook Kyandyland
United States
Over 7 years using the app
In Cart Upsell replied March 13, 2020

Hello!

This is Sean, the Customer Success Manager for In Cart Upsell. We took over this app from the previous owner 3 months ago :)

You left a negative review for In Cart Upsell a long time ago and I am emailing to see if you wouldn’t mind removing it (or adding more stars)?

We have already made several improvements and fixes to past issues with this app - and it REALLY helps our ranking on the App Store if we can remove the handful of negative reviews.

Please let me know how I can support you and help in return? I appreciate it very much!

-Sean & Team

August 8, 2021

Unresponsive support. Emailed a few times, and just stopped hearing back despite repeated follow ups. I cannot trust an app in my store that has unresponsive support, and I don't recommend anyone else does either.

Karity
United States
About 3 years using the app
In Cart Upsell replied August 8, 2021

Hey Karity, Jevon here, Operations Manager at In Cart Upsell.

I want to extend my sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had with our customer service. I understand your frustration of not having properly communicated by the team on the issue and for that, I want to apologize.

Our team is already working on your issue. They are trying to get it fixed at the earliest and also need to make some changes in your theme for that waiting for your confirmation. I want to get that clear for you as soon as possible.

At In Cart Upsell, we pride ourselves on giving our 100% every day to ensure that our customers’ needs are met. We do our best to guide each of our representatives on how to properly handle our customers’ issues. Your concern was not handled properly, and we are going to take steps to ensure that this situation does not repeat itself. I want to thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We are always looking for ways to better our service, and your feedback is a valuable part of that process.

Jevon & In Cart Upsell Support Team

Edited January 24, 2023

they charge me for an app that doesn't even work properly. they want me to pay a developer to fix their broken app.

after being a customer for 2 years, their app breaks, blames my site when it was untouched, and then wanted me to pay a developer to fix the code that is causing their to not work. on a free shopify theme.

Aqua Pura Bracelets
United States
About 2 years using the app
In Cart Upsell replied October 13, 2022

Hello to our friends at Aqua Pura Bracelets

Thank you very much for leaving us this feedback. This is Pushpesh, the Customer Success Manager with In Cart Upsell & Cross Sell.

I want to extend my sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had with In Cart Upsell & Cross Sell app. We are bummed to hear that the app did not work perfectly on your store. As communicated over the email, we did thorough testing and our developers were able to confirm that the issue is not emanating from our app. We also sent you a screenshot that you can send over to the theme developers to further troubleshoot the issue. We are not asking you to hire external developers, but rather asking you to reach out to the developer of your theme who we think is the best person to look into the issue. Please be assured that we are 100% committed to providing you with exceptional service.

We do offer 24-hr live chat support, Monday through Friday. Please reach out to us via the live chat feature in the app and we will reply to you within minutes to resolve any issues you might be facing. We also love to offer complimentary live screen-share calls to all our valued clients where we can help resolve the issues.

Regards,
Pushpesh & the In Cart Upsell & Cross Sell Support Team

Edited October 27, 2021

UPDATE 10/26/21: Had to change from 4 to 1 star. The bug we reported earlier was not totally resolved and our upsell offers display as a glitched mess 50%-70% of the time in our customer carts. We've now been working to have this resolved for two months with no fix in sight. Every week support asks me to see if the problem has been fixed, and every week I spend 5-10 minutes testing and then reporting that nothing has changed. At this point I don't believe they are updating code, but rather just pushing a "refresh button" within the app that is supposed to resolve this seemingly common glitch. I do know our friends who referred us to this app run into this bug periodically, but have had less issues resolving it. This is not helping sales, but quite the contrary. If it isn't solved within the week, we're going to look for another solution. INITIAL REVIEW: This app is still fairly new to our shop, but overall we're happy with it. We had a bug with our cart, but customer support was all over it and worked to resolve it quickly. If we can see that the app is doing a solid job increasing our average order value we'll update to 5-stars.

Westside Love
United States
About 1 year using the app
In Cart Upsell replied October 5, 2021

Hello, friends at Westside Love

Thank you so much for this review. We really appreciate you being a customer. We’re here for you anytime.

-Jevon & The In Cart Upsell Support Team

Edited April 2, 2021

sorry about the bad review, but after the update it doesent work in our Shop. The Offers are not shown anymore. The support is great, fast and very friendly, but the app didnt work (for us), we deinstalled it now :-(

PicArt
Germany
7 months using the app
In Cart Upsell replied December 18, 2020

Hello to our friends from PicArt

Thanks for leaving this awesome review! We appreciate your support, don't hesitate to reach out to us with any more queries you may have :-)

-Melissa & the In Cart Upsell Support Team

July 13, 2021

I installed this app on my Shopify store. You can display offers with triggers but there is also the option 'broad' which means no trigger. If this one is enabled, all the rest triggers stop working. I contacted support many times and they do not respond to me for 3 weeks already. Very disapointed.

Blitz™ Covers
Lithuania
4 months using the app
In Cart Upsell replied July 14, 2021

Hello, Blitz (TM) Thank you for your feedback. We DEFINITELY want to get it right for you 100%, and this type of issue is very rare for our app.

We fully understand your frustration with this rare issue and can assure you that we are working to resolve this quickly. We are very sorry for the inconvenience this is causing you.

We do our best to increase the service quality of our app and services on a daily basis and look forward to reaching a resolution very soon. Please check your email for updates. We are working hard to get back to you as quickly as possible.

Here to help, and very sorry you experienced this.

Tanveer(Customer Success Manager) & The In Cart Upsell Team

May 6, 2021

Keep having issues with the analytics. Customer support states that they are working on "updates". This has been going on for 3ish months, still not fixed. Reached out multiple times and literally got the same response each time as if their response was copy and pasted. Not happy with the support team.

PhatMuscleProject
United States
3 months using the app
In Cart Upsell replied May 24, 2021

Hello PhatMuscleProject,

We are really sad to see that our app didn't live up to your expectations. We understand the frustration and are sorry for the inconveniences this caused you. The issue has since been solved and will be happy to have you back as our customer. We do our best to increase the service quality of our app and services on a daily basis and hope to give our customers the best we can.

Benedict and the In Cart Upsell team