Locksmith , 485 reviews

Overall rating
4.7
Counts per rating level
  • 89% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants highly recommend this app for its ability to manage access to various site areas, including hiding prices and products until approval. It's ideal for businesses with exclusive pricing or digital content. The setup is easy, performance reliable, and customer service quick and helpful. Merchants appreciate the pay-what-you-feel-fair pricing model, seamless integration with user registration, and automatic access cancellation. The app can also hide out-of-stock products in different countries and for private launches.

July 29, 2022

Using this app, causes my SHOP to not be active and interferes with sales. I am having to delete this app.

Chef Gina's® Mini Food
United States
1 day using the app
Lightward replied August 2, 2022

First off, thank you for your feedback. This is an important point, regarding our compatibility with the Shop App. I’m sorry this came as a surprise. Nobody wants to have a sales channel suddenly become inactive.

This is something that’s enforced by Shop itself, and while we hope that the two apps can work together eventually, it’s out of our hands at the moment.

We do mention the incompatibility with the Shop App in our usage agreement, and Shop also has that in their guidelines. It’s also super important to note that this restriction is in place for all access control apps, and not just ours.



Again, we apologize for any inconvenience. It looks like we were in the process of working through getting your store setup with Locksmith, and that this incompatibility means Locksmith isn’t an option for you. I hope you find the solution that works best in your case. We’ll be here if you need us. :)



Sincerely,



-Ken

June 10, 2018

DO NOT INSTALL THIS APP UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE.
DOES NOT WORK AND NO SUPPORT.
Last updated 2016 - this should be removed from the store as it caused me nothing but trouble after installing - DO NOT INSTALL!!!!!!!!

Soundpacks
United Kingdom
About 10 hours using the app
August 4, 2021

im extremely disappointed in this app that was recommended by shopify, my entire store is locked and wont let me disable it. I also have to wait now for someone to email me back rather talk on live chat.

IV Wardrobe
Australia
About 1 hour using the app
Lightward replied August 4, 2021

Hey there! It looks like the locking on your store is caused by another app. Looking at our records, Locksmith *was* installed (and uninstalled, and reinstalled several times), but no locks were ever configured, and thus far Locksmith has not made any changes to your store's theme.

For background, Locksmith will never modify your store's theme unless there are locks configured. And, on the other side of that, *removing* all locks will result in Locksmith removing all of its code from your theme. Locksmith works hard to have a light touch. :)

Locksmith isn't currently in your apps list, so we're not able to take a closer look at your theme's internals to see what code is causing the locking of your store. But, as far as we can tell, Locksmith isn't involved – it's likely another app, or perhaps some custom code in your theme.

We've replied to your emails; just let us know in either of those threads if there's something we can do here to help. Re-adding Locksmith to your apps list could help us see what's going on under the hood of your theme, if that's useful. :)

All the best,

-Isaac

June 4, 2020

I don't know why I can't download this app?? I downloaded it once, and then had to remove... tried adding again and it's 505 error. Can someone help me out?

Zipply
Canada
32 minutes using the app
Lightward replied June 6, 2020

Can do! (We reached out promptly. Helping is what we do. 💪)

June 28, 2017

The price is listed as "from 9.00/month" but the subscription is automatically setup to bill for $29.00/month. Deceptive advertising. No integrity in that. Be careful. I uninstalled the app and I'm hoping there's a better solution in the app store for setting up wholesale functionality.

Leathercuffwatch
United States
16 minutes using the app
January 8, 2020

Doesnt lock pages specifically so cant hide specific menu items. It picked up a page on the App store when i searched for my a page in my store to lock. Too general to be a paid App.

The DogFood Depot®
South Africa
12 minutes using the app
Lightward replied January 14, 2020

Hey there! I'm sorry this didn't work out for you – thanks for letting us know. This sort of thing *is* very much within our feature set: Locksmith does support locking individual pages, and does support hiding menu items for those pages. It sounds like you may have run into a one-off problem during setup; if you'd like to try again, please reach out at team@uselocksmith.com. We'd love to help. :)

April 25, 2023

Doesn't work
Tried to create a lock on a page with a passcode - a very simple setup. Nothing. Didn't work. Not a good UX.

My Magic Carpet | Washable Rugs
United States
12 minutes using the app
Lightward replied April 25, 2023

Hello!

I'm sorry you encountered an issue when trying out the passcode key. I saw your email, and replied, about 30 minutes after it came in (20 minutes after this review), but by that time Locksmith had been removed.

A lock not working is exceedingly rare, and is generally something which can be fixed. That's why we have our 15 day trial period: We want to make sure you have time to test things and work out any potential conflicts in the theme, or with other apps, before you have to pay for Locksmith.

It's also important to note that passcode keys will remember you in the browser when you enter the code, and it may seem like they aren't locked at all. If that seems like it might be the issue, using a new private browsing session will show you what a new visitors sees.

I can't diagnose what happened at the moment, since Locksmith has been removed from your store. But, feel free to reach out if you'd like to try again. We're here for you, and I'm sure we can get things working. :)

All the best,

Ken

August 4, 2020

We've been using this app for few days, we've lost more than 20% speed optimization on our site, even if we've deleted it like on their instruction... We've try to reach the customer support with 0 answer! We're pretty upset with this app and it f*** up our store.. not recommend at all!

KLOW
France
11 minutes using the app
Lightward replied August 6, 2020

Hey there! I'm sorry for the trouble here. We can't find any emails from anyone concerning this store (did you email team@uselocksmith.com?), which is the first disconnect here.

It looks like you had Locksmith installed for 11 minutes total, and our code was completely removed from your theme before the app was deleted from your Shopify account. Everything *should* have been in order. If you emailed team@uselocksmith.com, then I can't explain why we don't have your message; please do email us again, or use the support button in the lower-right corner of uselocksmith.com, and we'll go from there.

All the best,

-Isaac

P.S. For anyone who may run into performance issues themselves, please see our documentation at https://docs.uselocksmith.com/article/432-what-should-do-i-do-if-my-site-is-loading-slowly. As always, we are *very* much here to help. ❤️