Reviews (22)

Overall rating
2.9
Counts per rating level
  • 59% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 36% of ratings are 1 stars
Edited March 10, 2021

This app has gotten a number of negative reviews due to its poorly-done integration of a subscription option through Shopify. Here is a review of the actual product: I've been using OptinMonster since 2015 for various sites I have. They pioneered a lot of the techniques you see everywhere now, like "exit intent". OptinMonster is expensive(but they have good Black Friday deals), and I've tried many times to switch to a more affordable provider. But the other providers all force me to make compromises on the feature set, ease of integration, and user experience. The types to behavioral targeting you can do in OptinMonster is unmatched by any other tool. There is a big difference in product quality when you have an entire team dedicated to making the best opt-in forms, versus those forms just being one feature of many in an app like Klaviyo or Mailchimp. I can't speak on this $50/month subscription they offer through Shopify. That seems stupid. I bought a subscription from then in 2015 through their website. My recommendation is to buy from them during Black Friday when they are usually 30% off.

Christian Pure
United States
About 4 years using the app
July 25, 2022

We've found that OptinMonster is good for custom banners, and very easy to use for both technical and non-technical employees.

Drink LMNT, INC.
United States
Over 2 years using the app
OptinMonster replied August 11, 2022

Thank you for sharing these kind words! We’re so glad you’re enjoying OptinMonster and finding it so easy to use 🙂.

We’re grateful to have the opportunity to grow with you and look forward to continuing to help you in every way we can!

July 20, 2022

We have been using OptinMonster for a couple of years now for email retention and pop up campaigns. The campaigns are easy to set up and with split testing functionality it's great to try different copy and content. We had a slight issue with our billing being doubled with a shopify subscription for a few months, however OptinMonster spotted this and got in touch with us offering a full refund or credit with additional perks. Honest company with a great product, keep up the good work!

Illustrate
United Kingdom
Over 2 years using the app
OptinMonster replied August 11, 2022

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with the community. 😊 We're so glad you're finding success with OptinMonster, and we're grateful to have earned your support.

If we can help with anything else along the way, just let us know. We look forward to helping you in every way we can!

December 6, 2018

Great solution to get as many emails as possible.

They seem to be pretty innovative and always come up with new ideas.

Their new builder is pretty solid, yet completely new from the older version, so I had to learn everything again pretty much.

Once I did that, I was able to generate a ton of emails, which of course helped a lot. Their full-screen feature on desktops is pretty amazing.

The money is in the list guys. Invest in this first and THEN in everything else later on (FB ads, etc.).

ALIVE Boutique - A Little Vegan Boutique
United Kingdom
Over 2 years using the app
March 11, 2019

I use this app to create email list popups, notifications, and slide-ins for related products. I find it easy to use and the app was easy to install too.

Clementine Creative
South Africa
About 2 years using the app
OptinMonster replied March 11, 2019

Thanks so much for the kind review! :-)
- Thomas

Edited June 15, 2019

One of the best popup app out there. Very flexible in terms of features. It is a game changer in terms of lead generation.

Artisan d'Asie
United States
Almost 2 years using the app
OptinMonster replied June 11, 2019

I'm so sorry you had a poor experience with this! It looks like the emails from Shopify went to an inbox unrelated to support. I (Thomas, co-founder and president) have followed up with you personally with an attempt to get everything fixed. If there is anything else I can do to help, let me know!

August 7, 2019

Love this little app. Customer support is great too. I think it also has some other great features besides exit intent. Thank you!

ORGANIC 1 Co.
United States
Over 1 year using the app
March 11, 2019

We have used this app to collect e-mails and boost sales in exchange for said e-mails! It's been a great process and very simple. Thank you!!

The Alchemist's Kitchen
United States
Over 1 year using the app
OptinMonster replied March 11, 2019

I really appreciate the review and vote of confidence for the team - thank you!!!
- Thomas

January 19, 2018

This is a great app. Makes syncing your Optin Monster account extremely simple. Very customizable pop-ups that sync seamlessly with your e-mail provider. We currently use Mailchimp for our emaul marketing and have used Klaviyo in the past and they both synced perfectly with OptinMonster. Thank you!

Electricbicycleusa
United States
About 1 year using the app
July 21, 2022

Optinmonster has been the game changer we seek every year. The targeted discounts work so well for us. We use it to target abandoned product pages and carts with discounts and embed their forms for freebies, email signups, and more. The customizability and Klaviyo integration are super easy to use. We consider this a "must-have" in our marketing toolbox. Plus, the support team is great to work with and responds quickly.

Carex
United States
7 months using the app
OptinMonster replied August 11, 2022

Thanks for sharing your experience, Carex! We're honored to be part of your "must-have" marketing toolbox and on behalf of OptinMonster, we’d just like to say you're pretty great too - https://media.giphy.com/media/Y1M2JOQ7W79q5YhTp5/giphy.gif

We’re grateful to have the opportunity to grow with you and look forward to continuing to help you in every way we can!
🙂