Overall rating
4.7
Counts per rating level
  • 91% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its seamless review collection and integration capabilities. They value its customization options and automatic review request feature. The customer support team is noted for their efficiency and willingness to assist with code adjustments. The app's review widgets are recommended for various business needs. Merchants consider it a valuable asset due to its affordability and the value it provides.

April 17, 2020

CANT EXPORT MY REVIEWS !!!!!
THEY MAKE IT DIFFICULT PURPOSELY
THERE IS NO EASY WAY TO EXPORT REVIEWS

Medina Vanity
United States
9 months using the app
Stamped.io replied April 17, 2020

Hello there,

Thank you for your feedback.

You can easily export your reviews from Stamped.io, we have a public guide here and it's also available via the Dashboard:
https://help.stamped.io/article/238-review-exporting-reviews-checkout-comments

We've also replied to your support ticket within 5 minutes.

We'll reach out to you personally as well :)

Thank you.

April 12, 2022

Not bad, but all the good features are only available on premium plans
too bad I can't try the features I need before deciding to play hight price

Euyi Cosmetics
South Korea
8 months using the app
Stamped.io replied April 12, 2022

Hey there Euyi team,

We've had a few calls together now and I hope our offer to trial the premium plan has gone well for you?

Please let us know if there is anything more we can do to change your experience with Stamped!

November 28, 2022

versendet einfach englische emails ohne Genehmigung. asdfgfaddasdsadasfadfsdfsdfm jandsfjnajofnaweronfjwenfnwe

VITINC
Germany
7 months using the app
Stamped.io replied December 1, 2022

Hey there VITINC team,

While some of your review here was illegible, we did manage to Google translate the rest to see you were trying to translate your review request emails.

I couldn't find a single support ticket of yours so I'll pass along our email; hello@stamped.io

We do ask that you give us a chance to resolve your issues before reviewing our app, but we understand this may have been written in haste.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Edited July 13, 2017

Disappointed.
Useless features and more over the free version is useless.
Each month is asking me to upgrade to a premium plan even if I didn't send 50 emails. In the last 3 months since I installed it, there were sent 71 emails only. Most of the time the app is in "pause" mode waiting for you to pay.
Nothing is free, I've got it but what's the point with this FREE version? Just to get some people on board quickly?
later edit - forgot to mention that the app server gives lots of error just to display the current status.

Nvape
New Zealand
7 months using the app
Stamped.io replied July 13, 2020

Hello Nvape,

We are sorry to hear about the experience you had.

Our app does calculate the monthly order limit for each account accurately, and adding multiple reminder emails for the same order does not count towards the monthly limit.

We have also added much more features for the free plan, which includes rich snippet support, social push, custom forms & SMS review requests. Our paid plan have also been updated with even more value-added features, which will definitely help with generating sales and conversions for your store.

We hope you will reconsider Stamped.io once again :)

August 21, 2019

no aparecen las estrellas en los productos... no se como deben aparecer... no aparece la app o nada

New & Yours
Chile
6 months using the app
Edited December 27, 2021

Hi - I have deleted the app because you were showing your logo without permission everywhere since the last update. This was not agreed upon. Now the script is still showing the logo - get rid of it ASAP. Pissed off.

bentelinn home
Germany
5 months using the app
Stamped.io replied July 24, 2021

Helllo bentelinn home,

Thank you for your review and feedback!

We are sorry to hear about the issues you are facing. Changing the review star color and translations are definitely available on our free plan.

Our support team has responded to your email and assisted you with the necessary changes, hope this helps!

December 31, 2016

Inactive support, Apps don't work as advertised, support doesn't acknowledge problem and thus doesn't solve, however they advise to you switch to a plan with higher monthly fee if we want to use bug free APP, fyi, we already already on a paid plan !!

Saraf Furniture
India
5 months using the app
Stamped.io replied July 14, 2020

Hello Saraf Furniture,

Thank you for your feedback.

Our support team aims to reply all queries within 12 hours for all users.

We are sorry to hear about the misunderstanding for the issue you were facing, and we will definitely want to get this sorted out to ensure that the app works optimally for all our users.

Our support team will be reaching out to you to provide a resolution for the issue you were facing :)

May 20, 2020

DO NOT INSTALL. IT WILL GO LIVE ON YOUR LIVE THEME.
...............................................

Hyttefeber
Norway
4 months using the app
Stamped.io replied May 21, 2020

Hello there,

Thank you for your feedback, and we do apologize for your experience.

We have an auto-install function set in place for default themes as we've received feedback from users for simplifying installation, and taking that feedback, we’ve implemented auto-installation of the reviews widget by default, making it really easy to get started.
You can easily remove the auto-installed widget in product.liquid.

We apologize that this has backfired for you.

Our team has reached out to you swiftly to assist with your concerns.
Thank you.

August 26, 2020

This is not a good app. It's a constant "give us more money" scam as most features are behind layers of paywalls. As soon as you hit your monthly limit of review requests you get asked to upgrade every 30 seconds. Everything about the "creating banners" feature is broken. It constantly makes you re-do your work and still messes stuff up. Support says they are aware of the issue and doesn't fix anything. Not sure how they got such a high rating, I would look elsewhere.

The Freeze Pipe
United States
4 months using the app
Stamped.io replied August 26, 2020

Thank you for your feedback.

You're actually on the Business plan that allows you to request reviews from up to 1,500 orders monthly, and it's higher compared to comparable apps available.

It seems you've reached the sending limit on the Business plan and therefore it's showing a modal that encourages you to upgrade the account to continue sending the remaining review request emails, or you can also simply wait for the monthly reset which happens on 1st of every month.

Regarding the Smart Banners, it's recommended that you use Google Chrome to create the banners.

Our support team will reach out to you directly to ensure that your issue gets resolved swiftly.

Thank you!

December 19, 2022

I have never seen such poor customer service like I have been consistently sending email that we need to implement a particular functionality that you supposed to give us already. First we purchased premium plan and the tag/topic filter functionality was not working then you guys said it was mistakenly added and you need to purchase the Pro Plan, and even after getting pro plan that functionality is still not working at all and your support is not replying back on email from last week. If there was rating less than 1 star I would have given you that.

DMoose
United States
4 months using the app
Stamped.io replied December 19, 2022

Hey there DMoose team,

I'm sorry to hear about your experience and I've taken a look into your support requests to try and get a better picture of how this happened.

It looks like you have been submitting all of your support tickets through our new "Feature Requests" form which is actually an unmonitored inbox. We accept suggestions on how we can improve our products through this method.

I do apologize that this left you without any response from us, and we'll be taking a look at that form to ensure this doesn't happen again.

I see you have left Stamped, but should you choose to return we would be more than happy to help get you fully set up and successful.