Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 71% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 18% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its efficient customer support and user-friendly interface. It's praised for reducing the hassle of handling lost, stolen, or damaged packages, saving businesses time and money. Merchants report increased customer satisfaction and conversions since integrating the app. The claim process is efficient, resolving issues promptly. Described as a strategic partner, it provides an extra layer of order protection and meets customer expectations for quick replacements. The service is seen as mutually beneficial, enhancing customer peace of mind while benefiting businesses.

Edited September 20, 2023

They were once great. But their customer service changed drastically and not for the better. A change in their code messed up our checkout and our customers could not check out. We dont know how much money in sales we lost due to this. Our guess is between $3000-$5000 in lost sales. I tried to get my account manager to meet with me to talk about my account and strategy but he refused and kept sending me to the automated system. In the past my account manager was amazing and made me feel so supported. In the end he stopped responding to my email and the thread was left unfinished. I was sad to leave an App I once loved so much. But if it isn't servicing your business, as a business owner, you have to move on. I have found a much better solution in another app.

Warrior Within Designs
United States
Over 1 year using the app
RouteApp LLC replied September 26, 2022

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear this.

If you had any additional feedback or questions, you are more than welcome to contact us at https://help.route.com/hc/en-us, and we will be there to help!

All the best,
Leea, Customer Service

June 9, 2021

It was great when they started, but it quickly became a scam. Route provides an inferior service than we provide our customers. Our SLAs for customer service responses are much faster, whereas Route will take over a week to answer a legitimate customer claim. Ultimately, they've been making money off our website and offering a poor insurance solution to our customers. In the process, we lost money and our reputation got harmed. Their customer service (that was amazing before) could only shrug and apologize. The app works technically well... but the service they provide is really subpar.

No B.S. Skin Care
United States
Over 1 year using the app
RouteApp LLC replied June 15, 2021

Hi there,

Thank you for sharing this feedback. At Route, we pride ourselves on offering world-class customer service, and we’re so sorry to hear your experience fell short of expectations. We’d be happy to look into your situation and answer questions about the process.

First, we want to apologize for any delay in response to your customers. The Route team works hard to respond to every claim in a timely manner, and we understand the impact a delayed response has on the customer experience. We apologize for any delays that may have happened. We know this doesn’t always make for a great experience for customers.

Second, we understand the importance of the post-purchase experience and the impact it has on your reputation and revenue. Package protection should be a good, easy experience for you and your customers, which is why we're happy to assist further if you feel any claims have been wrongfully denied. Please reach out to merchantsupport@route.com with claims you'd like us to revisit, and we'd be more than happy to double check issues. Our team has been notified and we'll be on the lookout! Our goal is to always do right by merchants and their customers, so if mistakes were made, we'll catch them.

Feel free to reach out with any other questions as well. We’d love to help however we can.

All the best,

Bianca, Customer Service

Edited April 27, 2021

terrible service when it comes to covering the insurance cost which are lost. They stop replying or never do and doesnt make any sense to continue anymore with them as they cost a high percentage which is more then they state. --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Reply to your message: Thats not true. if in could send you a screenshot of what you guys charged my customers for each order those percentages are a lie.
See screenshot in dropbox link below. https://www.dropbox.com/s/uyrqimr52irjnx0/Screenshot%202021-04-27%20at%2010.59.55.png?dl=0

About 1 year using the app
RouteApp LLC replied April 26, 2021

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your candid review. We're so sorry to hear your experience with Route has been less than ideal, and we'd love to do everything we can to clarify and make things right.

We’re looking at your customer claims, and we’re seeing that they’ve all been handled and resolved in accordance with our coverage policies. Your history also shows that our Customer Success Manager has been an active communicator, responding throughout the relationship.

We're also sorry to hear that you felt our costs were more expensive than anticipated. Route Package Protection is free for merchants and is available for purchase to customers in the cart page. For cart totals under $100 USD, Route is only $0.98 USD. For carts over $100 USD, Route is calculated from 1.5%-5% of the cart total based on several factors (for example, if an order was $150 USD, then Route could be $2.25 USD).

I hope this information helps clarify any confusion caused. However, we'd love to know more about the communications you feel were missed, and if you have any further questions, by reaching out to us at https://help.route.com/hc/en-us or directly to your CSM, Ahseanté. We'd be more than happy to assist however possible.

All the best,

Jordan, Customer Service

January 15, 2021

They do not pay legitimate claims. Process is hard for YOUR customers to follow and if YOU (the Shopify Store) resolve the customers problem, Route will not. Route expects your customer to go to Route, not to your store for resolution. No one does that, nor does that make for good customer service from your stores' perspective. If Route mistakenly refunds when they were supposed to place another order the will not correct. Their customer service is very "bro cultured:" unresponsive, repeats their "terms and conditions" rather than listening. HORRIBLE experience. Out of 7 claims over 2020 Holiday season they did not resolve one.

United States
About 1 year using the app
RouteApp LLC replied January 27, 2021

Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your honest feedback. We are so sorry that it was not a satisfactory experience for you, and we would be more than happy to assist in any way we can to ensure that proper clarification is given for you and your customers.

Route will review, and refund/replace issues that fall within our current policies and procedures. This ensures that issues that are affected by in-transit delays and approved will be taken care of by us, so you are able to aid your customers in other matters.

If you feel that any issues have been mistakenly denied or refunded/reordered, please reach out to us, so we can investigate further.

Route strives to assist both you and your customers with ease. We are so sorry to hear that this process was difficult, and we would love to find a solution that would create a better experience for everyone involved.

If you have any remaining questions please feel free to reach out to merchantsupport@route.com and we will be there to help! I have notified our team to be on the lookout for any future emails.

Thank you,
Leea, Customer Service 

May 9, 2022

We had this app in our store for a while before noticing that it was messing with the way our cart functioned. We had a lot customers email in letting us know that when they tried to remove the shipping protection from the cart, it would remove another item. We showed Route this issue and they told us that they would get it resolved. After multiple emails back and forth over months with our account manager Kolby, they just stopped responding and gave up I guess. It is just disappointing to be lead on whilst you could have moved on to another solution. It just sucks to edit all of our FAQs and things now and then start looking for a different solution.

About 1 year using the app
RouteApp LLC replied May 16, 2022

Hi there,

Thanks for reaching out! I am sorry there have been issues with your removing Route from your customer's cart as well as haven't heard back from your account manager. I understand how frustrating that can be since you have been working out this issue for months! I

Again, I am sorry for all the trouble you have had with Route working on your site. Please feel free to reach out to our team if you have further questions at: https://routeapphelp.zendesk.com/hc/en-us

Bianca, customer service

June 23, 2020

They offered me a gift card to write a good review. :-/

That worries me about the quality of other people's reviews.

United States
12 months using the app
Edited August 5, 2020

Used to be great customer service and REAL protection, now after having to ask my customers to file a police report.....this is ridiculous! DO NOT RECOMMEND!

Faux Leather Wholesale
United States
11 months using the app
Edited May 9, 2020

2nd UPDATE: Route was working fine on my website for a few months then randomly stopped. The toggle wouldn't turn on and my customers could not add it to their purchases. I tried contacting Route via 3 different methods. It has been over a week and no response.

UPDATE: After seeing my review, a Route rep contacted me. It seems they were not receiving my support requests. He was very helpful and got the app installed correctly on my website. It is working properly, no complaints.

PREVIOUS REVIEW: There's no support whatsoever. Wrote them several times and received no response. Couldn't get the app installed properly. I worry that if my customers actually need to file a claim, it'll end up getting ignored like my support requests.

La Femme Boheme
United States
10 months using the app
September 14, 2022

This is the worst app to work with. Very shady business!!! Creating orders on my store without consent or notifying, refunding orders without my consent and without notifying me. Has not been approving claims due to "Cosmetic damage". DO NOT WORK WITH ROUTE, WORST MISTAKE I HAVE DONE!!!

United States
10 months using the app
RouteApp LLC replied September 22, 2022

Hi there,

Thank you for sending in your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your experiences with our product and team have not been the experience we aim to give.

If you have questions or concerns regarding replacement orders and refunds or our policies followed when approving and denying Order Issues you are more than welcome to reach out to your designated CSM directly or to our team through this link: https://route.com/help-center. We are here to help!

Take care,
Leea, Customer Service

June 23, 2020

They take money from the customers only to provide excuses when it comes time to fulfill a claim. Route has done nothing other than steal from my customers, and me. I highly recommend avoiding this company!!!

Black Tie Group
United States
10 months using the app