Thinkific ‑ Online Courses

Create and sell online courses to grow your business.

Free plan available. Additional charges may apply.

App highlights

  • Speed tested: no impact to your online store

Reviews

3.0 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

Counts per rating level
  • 47% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 20% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 20% of ratings are 1 stars

Filter and sort reviews

1 - 10 of 15 reviews

FitFixNow

Location United States
Time spent using app 7 months

UPDATE: Thinkific eventually fixed the issue. The problem is that it took over a week, I never received an official notice from Thinkific that there was a problem, and although I was able to give away a lot of our product to soothe our customer's anger, we ended up giving away over $1,000 of free stuff to apologize for a mistake that was Thinkific's. I am having a conversation with someone at Thinkific today, and I will update more after that. ORIGINAL: I've been a Thinkific customer since 2017. They used to have customer service options that worked, but lately, they've eliminated phone customer service and the chat tool has broken every time I've used it, so the only recourse I have to get help is via email which is extremely slow and isn't useful for complicated situations. Their customer service is basically "one size fits all" which means it doesn't really do much unless you're a brand new customer of theirs. The app stopped communicating with Shopify a few days ago. Thinkific still hasn't notified users. There are others I've found experiencing this problem, and Thinkific's response is understanding my frustration, but still not making meaningful steps to ensure this problem doesn't keep happening like it currently does. Thinkific discontinued its phone customer service, so you're left with a chat feature for customer service that more often than not fails and so email becomes your only means with intricate, complicated problems. I've had to give my customers a lot of free stuff to apologize. Our value proposition is to get and access these things instantly. So having to manually create accounts and enroll students destroys the entire business model. At this point, I've had to refund, cancel, or comp items to the point that I've lost almost as much in revenue as I pay Thinkific in an *entire year.* That's too much to lose. I'm researching other options, but I don't want a single other course creator to experience this problem while I do.

Happy Soul Online

Location Canada
Time spent using app About 1 year

Thinkific integrates wonderfully with shopify! really helped us with transitioning from in-person workshops to online courses. So many easy apps and had it up and running in no time! Highly recommended!

Developer reply

October 29, 2021

Thank you so much for sharing your great experience with us! We love to hear how the Thinkific app helped you future-proof your business. :) Keep up the great work, Happy Soul!

Maths Incubator

Location South Africa
Time spent using app Almost 2 years

I'm from South Africa and I have been using Thinkific for about a year now to host my interactive Maths program, which is aimed at improving the standard of Maths in my country. I have been impressed by the flexibility, ease of use and support provided by Thinkific. What's amazing to me is the assistance that I have received right from the beginning and ALL my concerns and questions have been addressed in detail and very professionally. Furthermore, the Shopify app that links with Thinkific has made my life so easy by enabling me to sell my Thinkific courses and getting paid in my clients' preferred currency. I will certainly continue using Thinkific in the future.

Developer reply

October 26, 2021

Maths Incubator is an incredible course business and we love how you've leveraged Thinkific to teach students more effectively—and help them fall in love with math. :) Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with us!

Salti

Location Australia
Time spent using app Over 1 year

While it's a decent platform to host a course and has good capabilities, the customer service is appalling. Replies are condescending, they don't provide reasonable solutions to my issues (in one case, telling me to delete the app in order to stop being charged - without providing the correct instructions to downgrade to the free version).
I've since been charged when I shouldn't have been (I had to upgrade to a basic plan to enrol students as it didn't integrate seamlessly with shopify). I had heard great things about it, however their customer service needs improving immensely.

Developer reply

October 25, 2021

Hi there!

First off, thank you for sharing your honest feedback around the Thinkific platform, but I am very sorry to hear about your experience so far with resolving your issues.

I've expedited your recent support tickets that came in over the weekend with our team to our product & lead support teams for them to review, and ensure you get the help you need ASAP. You will be hearing from us soon!

Thank you,
Miranda

Transformation Academy

Location United States
Time spent using app Over 1 year

I have been using Thinkific to host my online courses (70+) for several years and was excited when they announced their integration with Shopify through this app. The courses integrate automatically and, although it did take some investigation and work to get it functioning, it now works great! The only Thinkific products that do not integrate automatically are "bundles" and memberships. I used Zapier to get those products integrated. I am thankful for this app so that I would not have the time or expense of using Zapier to do all of the product integrations. Using Shopify for my online store and shopping cart has made it easier for my customers to enroll in multiple products during one checkout, which has massively impacted my repeat purchases. If you're using Thinkific to host your courses and you want a more robust store and checkout experience for your customers, I highly recommend this app.

Developer reply

October 25, 2021

We love to hear it, Transformation Academy! 🤩 70+ online courses is an incredible feat and we are so happy to hear that this integration has saved you valuable time so that you can put it towards growing your business further.

Here's to many more successful years ahead!
Miranda

Jazzduetshop

Location United States
Time spent using app 10 months

I have a Youtube educational channel of 225k subs. (jazzduets) and have worked hard to build a solid positive trustworthy reputation. Thinkific has hurt this reputation with my VIP customers. Let me explain. This is lamentable to say but my nightmares started when I started selling my online courses on shopify with the Thinkific integration. The integration does work not seamlessly. Customers do not get the automatic emails, so they get infuriated at paying $300 dollars for the course but cannot access it immediately, so I have to enroll many manually! As well, when I add a new course, sometimes it appears in the shopify backend and other times it does not!
The support at Thinkific has been the worse that I have experienced in 4 years of e commerce. I have sent the support many emails, and still have not had my problem solved. They are very slow in getting back. I was asked for access to my store a few weeks ago and can see that they have still yet to log in. It seems there is a programming error that they are unable or unwilling to address. I cannot therefore recommend shopify with Thinkific.
------------------------ My response to your october 21 response----
FIRST, I cannot see how your team could have addressed and resolved my problem as you contest. You asked for permission to access my store, which I agreed to, but I can see that you have still have never logged in , even after my complaint. SECOND
I have wasted many hours trying to work this out (8 months so far!!!) I have upset clients and a damaged reputation.
THIRD - I am now looking for a better platform with an integration that works and with a support that does not pass me from person to person as you have done, wasting my time further.

Developer reply

October 21, 2021

Hi there,

I am sorry to hear that your experience hasn’t been seamless—that is our number one goal and we want to make this right as soon as possible.

First off, we want to ensure that you receive a refund for the last two months on the Thinkific Pro plan. Please email me at platformmarketing@thinkific.com or simply reply to the last message you received from our support team so that we can make this happen.

Second, our team continued to investigate the issues you addressed and we're able to resolve them fully. Please check your inbox for a reply from our team with a full set of instructions. We would sincerely appreciate the chance to resolve this as efficiently and quickly as possible by jumping on a call with you, too. With this solution, your Shopify store and Thinkific course business will be seamlessly connected, so we want to make sure we can help you!

We absolutely want you to be able to leverage this integration to help grow your business faster and apologize for the experience you’ve had so far. We look forward to helping you out to make sure you’re 100% set up for success!

Talk soon,
Miranda

Spiritandmuscle

Location United States
Time spent using app Over 1 year

I'm sure the app is fine itself but I'm not happy I was led to believe that the free version would be compatible with shopify. It is not. I am required to purchase Pro at $100 per month. I have already uploaded my entire course and am connecting it to shopify THEN I am told it'll cost me $100 per month, after I've already done all this work. Then customer service sends me a canned copy-n-paste reply and doesn't even acknowledge my concern. I'm not thrilled but I am roped into this now.

Developer reply

September 29, 2021

Hey there!

Thanks for your feedback and we’re glad you reached out to our Support team for help on this.

The Shopify app has always been available on all Thinkific plans, including the Free plan.

I see you’re in conversation with our Support team now, though, so that we can get more clarification around where you may have identified any requirements for a Pro plan.

We want to make sure Shopify and Thinkific work together seamlessly and as expected—so we’ll definitely take all of your feedback in this conversation into consideration.

Thanks!

vermilife.co

Location Colombia
Time spent using app About 1 year

Tengo una duda, el plan gratis incluye 3 cursos?, únicamente puedo generar 1 curso, si intento crear un nuevo curso me exige un upgrade. Cómo puedo corregir eso?

Developer reply

April 12, 2021

¡Hola! ¡Muchas gracias por tu pregunta y tu reseña!

Thinkific actualiza periódicamente las características de nuestro plan, en función de una variedad de factores, incluidas las necesidades comerciales y lo que nuestros clientes encuentran útil. Al 31 de marzo de 2021, nuestro plan gratuito se ha ajustado para incluir un único curso gratuito.

Si desea más de un curso, le animo a que eche un vistazo a nuestros planes pagos que tienen cursos ilimitados.

¡Háganos saber si tiene alguna otra pregunta! Estamos encantados de ayudarle.

Wilson Román

Location Peru
Time spent using app 2 months

Recién estoy empezando y me encanta, solo tengo una duda: ¿en el plan gratuito no puedo vender cursos?

Developer reply

June 23, 2020

¡Hola Román, muchas gracias por los comentarios! Nos alegro mucho que está disfrutando nuestro aplicación. Se puede hacer mucho con nuestro plan gratis incluyendo vender tres cursos. ¡Buena suerte!

Actualización del desarrollador: Thinkific actualiza periódicamente las características de nuestro plan, en función de una variedad de factores que incluyen las necesidades comerciales y lo que nuestros clientes encuentran útil. Al 31 de marzo de 2021, nuestro plan gratuito se ha ajustado para incluir un curso gratuito. ¡Avíseme si tiene alguna otra pregunta!

Sell your stuff online

Location Netherlands
Time spent using app About 2 years

We love using this app. It connects our Thinkific courses to our Shopify store and rolls out the courses automatically when clients have bought them. You don't have to use a third party like Zapier, that's the beauty of it. When a course is bought in the Shopify store, the Thinkific app sends the clients info to your Thinkific platform and makes a new client account. Then sends out an email to the new customer where he or she can make their own password. The app works instantly with all the great info available. I strongly recommend it!

Developer reply

June 23, 2020

You nailed it! 🤩

This is exactly what we set out to accomplish for Shopify Merchants such as yourself. We're so happy to hear that you're finding value in using our app. Thanks for your review—we hope it inspires others to take the leap into the world of online education as well! 😉

Previous 1
Previous 1