Accessibility Enabler

Accessibility Enabler

by HikeOrders

Advanced Accessibility Solution For ADA & WCAG Implementation

4.1 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    73% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 4 stars
    (1)
  • 3 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 3 stars
    (0)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 2 stars
    (1)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    18% of ratings are 1 stars
    (4)

All reviews

4 reviews

Pearl Paradise

We installed this app on our website and selected what we felt was an adequate plan. We paid for this plan with the understanding we were paying customers and we were installing a piece of software from a trustworthy source given the reviews here on Shopify.

A few days ago, we apparently surpassed some arbitrary number of page views that only they can see and understand. Somehow, they believe this gave them permission to place a grotesque looking ad on our fine jewelry website.

No warning. No email. No call and certainly, NO PERMISSION.

This company should be banned from Shopify and nobody should ever consider adding this app to their website. Apparently they believe it's their right to spam your customers.

J Shepherd
CEO
Pearl Paradise

Developer reply

August 15, 2020

Hi Faitma,

You have posted yet another fake review. I would request you to remove this fake review.

@ToOtherCustomer: Please don't just our app by reading this fake review. Install it , Use the free trail and then judge this app.

This customer also runs https://deals.today.com/. Here is how this customer interacted with us.

Bad side of TODAY.com and their association PP Web Pros. (They Threatened as well )

https://bit.ly/2Y3bNCu

TODAY.com/Deals

We displayed this app on the a nationally televised flash sale for a major client. During the sale, an ugly, intrusive ad appeared for this software. We immediately paid to upgrade and complained.

Two days later, after the flash sale is over, we get a response. Pay us another $1000 per month to pull our ad.

The next day, an emergency text comes in from my webmaster from ANOTHER domain I own and manage. This is not a billion dollar client, it's in the $10 million range.

They needed to purchase an emergency upgrade because an ugly ADA ad had suddenly appeared across the homepage and every page of our website.

This is what it says on the Accessibility Enabler website.
"Do you inform me before putting the banner on my website?
We always keep you informed about your page view balance. We just don’t put the banner on your site and keep ourselves quite. We send you emails regarding the same."

This is not what we experienced, and I strongly urge caution if you are considering using this app. Two separate websites with different accounts, completely unconnected were spammed by this company in the exact same way.

Caution.

Developer reply

August 15, 2020

Hi Fatima,

Kindly remove this fake review. Because you had a high traffic website., We request you to upgrade to bigger plan . When you didn't want to pay more, you posted this fake review.

I have done my best to make a WIN-WIN agreement with you.

@ToOtherCustomers: We have also informed Shopify about this fake review. We have full email trial on how this customer interacted with us. We are share with you here. Please read it.

Bad side of TODAY.com and their association PP Web Pros. (They Threatened as well )

https://bit.ly/2Y3bNCu

Darby Scott

watch out! this company is now posting ads on your website for this app- this ad pop up should be illegal.

Developer reply

May 8, 2020

The free lite version has orange bar on bottom right corner of the of the screen ( which you are consider as ads)

If you don't purchase a plan then after 3 days of trail, you will be automatically using our free-lite version.

We send email notification regarding the same during the trial. Seems like your completely ignored them

Zodica Perfumery

What in the world?! They force you to authorize them to charge you $3,600 !! Poor communication!!! Very confusing!!

Developer reply

March 17, 2019

Update :

This issues is no more valid as we have fixed it from our end. Thanks for pointing this out.

Orginal Comments :
Thanks for your honest review.

This implementation is done because of the Shopify's strict rules
Shopify says that " if any app provider likes to charge customers by their usage, then you should show the maximum limit per month".

So based on our all plans $3,600 is the highest and hence it is the maximum amount of credits you can buy from us per month ( if & only if you wish too )

Even on the screen where you approve this, we have clearly mentioned this as follows:

" You cannot buy more than $3600 credits from us in a month. We charge you based on the credits you buy in next screen. You are not spending $3600 now - This is just a maximum limit that you can spend if you are willing to. "

We have made enough attempts to communicate and reduce confusions.

Thanks for giving us an opportunity to make one more attempt towards the same.