Overall rating
4.3
Counts per rating level
  • 78% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 15% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its performance-driven approach and simplicity, particularly its effective tracking feature. The customer service is praised for its professionalism and responsiveness. Merchants report improved conversion rates and assistance with Facebook and Google ad setup. The AI campaign feature is noted for delivering impressive results, including a high return on ad spend and increased sales. The app's retargeting and AI advantage campaigns are also highlighted as effective. Merchants recommend this app for its ability to outperform other consultants and agencies, noting significant results within a short period.

December 1, 2020

Don't waste your time with this app. Their lack of knowledge is insulting. They lock down any useful features making them inaccessible on their platform. You cannot, for example, set any sort of auction limits or target CPA. You're just throwing money down a black hole and hoping some of it does an about-turn and comes back to you in the form of a sale.
"learning phase, learning phase". That's what you'll here. Yes I fully understand that but you can't ignore warning signals that money is disappearing at sometimes a rate of £7 per interaction. Having had to learn myself how to run retargeting in facebook I thought these guys would know how to do it given the whole premise of their business is retargeting.
Yes they have built some form of platform, though all it does is sync with facebook business manager. There's literally no value in using this app.
They not only understand next to nothing about retargeting but they know just as much about e-commerce. I kept getting told "customers aren't interested in your products as you have a high bounce rate of 70% or so. The whole point of this is to retarget users that haven't registered enough interest.
Fellow shopify merchants, do yourself a favour and make sure you don't go into these types of apps blind as you'll get taken for a ride. I was fortunate to cut my losses early doors. You can use the facebook selling channel and setup retargeting yourself. If you need help setting up a proper ad account in business manager then facebook support are there to help! Cue dev response on that "I didn't give it enough time, customers weren't interested"

Ecohuman
United Kingdom
4 months using the app
Ad Intelligence INC (Adwisely) replied December 4, 2020

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

I have reviewed your appeal and can confirm that the employees of my team provided absolutely correct information. We do not create magic, we help stores with sufficient and high-quality traffic to promote their products and increase sales. The store can attract high-quality traffic using the Prospecting campaign or Google smart campaign.
Hundreds of our clients are satisfied with the result they get with our application.

In any case, we are doing our best to improve our product and your feedback will definitely help us. If you decide to use our application, please contact us at any time!

Maksim,
Customer Service Team Lead
RetargetApp

Edited November 16, 2020

THE PEOPLE MANAGING THIS APP REACTIVATED MY AD CAMPAIGN AFTER 2 MONTHS WITH NO PERMISSION FROM ME BECAUSE THEY CLAIMED THEY SENT AN EMAIL THAT I DIDNT RESPOND TO AND 2 MONTHS LATER DECIDED TO ACTIVATE MY FACEBOOK CAMPAIGN WIHOUT MY PERMISSION. I originally was dissatisfied with Retarget App but didn't leave a review because they do not tell you that you need at least 50 adds to the cart (Facebook's requirement they say) to pass the learning phase. If you're extremely small and don't reach these numbers, they will absolutely start you on the trial and spend that ad money (which I specifically asked before starting and they said my traffic numbers were fine to try - no mention of other metrics needed to be successful). Finally, after 19 back and forth emails, they told me to work on my traffic and quality of my website (? mine looks fairly good - it's a template. Not something I made myself) and then THEY manually stopped my ad from running. I sent an email specifically asking what I need to do on my end and to make sure I didn't get charged but I wanted to save my pixel in case I could use them down the road. NO RESPONSE. Ok fine, I'm not using them anymore, they were probably annoyed but they stopped the ad campaign so I thought everything was fine. I'll come back to them when I'm bigger. That was in September. Now, November 15, I checked my Shopify billing account to see my shipping charges and noticed their app charged me $49. I thought that was in error so I sent a message to all the emails I interacted with and one removed the others from the email and then I responded letting them know they sent me a blank email and he responded saying he was looking into it and will get back with me. The person sent me an email copy/pasting a supposed email they sent me asking: "Hello, Connie! I noticed that you tried to pause your RetargetApp-powered campaign through Ads Manager. Did anything go wrong? Our application automatically resumes all campaigns which were stopped not through the in-app dashboard. It works this way to avoid Facebook mistakenly deactivating your campaign. If you want to pause your RetargetApp-powered ad campaign, you should go to your dashboard and hit the "Pause" button. Let me know if you have any questions. Best wishes," PROBLEM IS - I NEVER INACTIVATED IT. THEY DID! BASED ON OUR EMAILS. I never touched the ad account because it specifically says do not edit and I didn't want to mess up the information. I checked my entire email which has a search feature and nothing with those sentences ever shows up in my email. This email was never sent. We had a 19 email thread that never got separated - do you think if this email was ever sent that I would be crazy enough not to respond when the email before is me specifically asking what do I need to do in order to not proceed? They simply turned off the ad account, never responded and I went about my life for 2 months not checking that ad account because why would I if it has been off the entire time? I NEED A RESPONSE FROM SOMEONE TELLING ME HOW THEY ARE GOING TO FIX THIS. Now I'm out $300 that I do not have. If I don't pay this, Facebook will suspend my ad account. They only say the assumed after two months of inactivity that they themselves inactivated at my request that I magically was okay with spending money again and did so WITHOUT MY PERMISSION. Copy pasting an email that maybe you meant to send but never did does not cut it. I understand fully that I have been screwed over and will have to find a way to pay the $300+ Facebook account, but at the very least the mistake should be owned and I should be refunded $49. I don't come into your bank account and swipe money from it and tell you that I just assumed you wanted me to buy you a coffee after our last communication was you explicity saying you don't want coffee. Same thing.

lunapearlboutique
United States
3 months using the app
Ad Intelligence INC (Adwisely) replied November 27, 2020

We are very sorry to hear about your negative experience using our application. We always work hard to make our product better.

We have investigated your case internally and provided detailed explanations regarding each point for you.

If you have any questions remaining, please contact us at any time. We are always happy to assist you and provide professional support.

Best regards,

Maksim Sokolenko
Customer Service Team Lead
RerargetApp

May 19, 2018

Aggressive and poor customer support.

App does not work, charges even on Trial Period, steals products and data from your Shopify store.

They try to force you NOT TO TOUCH YOUR FACEBOOK ADS account as per their Terms of Service, which is illegal in the US. Our legal department is taking care of this shady company.

Would not recommend this app to any serious company or person.

Kshops Freeship
United States
2 months using the app
August 13, 2022

i spent 300$ during 14 days trial. money is wasted. i didn't get a single purchase.>. it really didn't work.

yoyyooy
Qatar
About 2 months using the app
Ad Intelligence INC (Adwisely) replied August 18, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are sorry to hear that Adwisely did not meet your expectations.

As we shared with you, the app could work well if you fixed the issue with the pixel. Our Support team reached out several times, sharing that there are some issues with your pixel in the Events Manager. We still strongly recommend having a look at them, otherwise, any other campaigns you create will not be profitable.

Also, based on the evaluation of the Facebook Ads Expert, the traffic you attract has poor quality, since most visitors didn’t add anything to the cart, which means that they are not interested in your products. Therefore, the retargeting campaign that re-engages website visitors didn’t show the result.

We also recommend turning on Automatic Advanced Matching since most of your events have no matching score, which is not typical for accounts with high traffic.

We did our best and applied our top optimization technics to provide you with good service, but the app is not the answer to all your problems. You still need to work on the correct pixel setup, quality of your products, and incoming traffic to your website (or let us attract the right audience).

Best regards,
Oleksandra Deikun,
Adwisely

August 23, 2017

Money spent, no sales and you can never tell whether the stats is real.

Neomarcus
Canada
About 2 months using the app
Ad Intelligence INC (Adwisely) replied March 13, 2019

Thank you for your feedback.

Customer Success Team at RetargetApp is always ready to analyze your campaign and provide suggestions for getting even more sales.

Our recent updates allow you to get an even higher ROAS due to smarter cost control. To ensure absolute transparency, we created an improved version of RetargetApp where you can access your campaign stats directly in Ads Manager.

We will be happy if you give the new RetargetApp a try and share your thoughts on the app with us at help@retargetapp.com.

Alex from RetargetApp

September 8, 2021

They advertise as High-ROAS ads which is false & deceptive - straight up. My reality with them was:
- an average ROAS of 2.39x after an ad spend of $1397 in about 45 days.
-in the same time period my google ads (managing myself) was achieving 4.39x
- after investigating further, there's nothing special about this app. Its a basic retargetting campaign on Facebook, you can do it yourself easily and get much better results.

Cherub Baby
Australia
About 1 month using the app
Ad Intelligence INC (Adwisely) replied September 10, 2021

Hi Jimmy,

Thanks for your feedback.

I'd like to note that the average ROAS of our clients for August is 6.6x for a retargeting campaign. These indicators can be achieved by following the recommendations of our advertising experts, such as those that Oleksandra provided for you on 06.09.2021.

Feedback from all our customers is important to us, as it helps us become better! If you have any questions, don't hesitate to get in touch with us at any time!

Best regards,
Maksim Sokolenko
Head of Customer Experience
RetargetApp

August 29, 2016

Complete rubbish! Incorrect and inaccurate analytics that misguide

Superherostore
India
About 1 month using the app
January 16, 2020

It's too expensive and we don't get a return of our investment. Also, we have suspended our ads but someone reactive it without our permission

Notebook Love
United Kingdom
About 1 month using the app
Ad Intelligence INC (Adwisely) replied February 7, 2020

We're sorry you feel this way. We've already contacted you and sorted everything out. The main reason that the ads were not bringing profit was the lack of website traffic. This is why we encourage you to try again once your store gains more visitors (at least 100 per day). As always, our support team is ready to assist 7 days a week.

August 2, 2018

Do not under any circumstances use this service, I woke up this morning to check my ad account and all 15 of my active campaigns were DELETED!

The entire ad account was just wiped clean, this was an account that was spending $5k per day and now just at $0!

I contacted FB to see what happened and they replied saying according to the ad account history all of the campaigns were deleted by RetargetApp and there was nothing they can do to recover them.

Screw this app, screw the people that created it, do not make the mistake I did and trust these guys.

Bangin Trends
United States
About 1 month using the app
March 3, 2020

Hate this one, my shop in my facebook page has gone, and lots of changes i don't know how to fix!!dddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd

Retrodora
United States
About 1 month using the app
Ad Intelligence INC (Adwisely) replied March 10, 2020

RetargetApp doesn't make any changes to your Facebook page or to your website. We have contacted you several times to clarify the issue, however, we have not received any response from you. Should you need any assistance regarding the RetargetApp-powered campaigns, please, don't hesitate to contact our support team.