Overall rating
4.9
Counts per rating level
  • 90% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants highly recommend this app for its user-friendly interface, comprehensive features, and exceptional customer service. They praise its email automation, segmentation, A/B testing, and SMS marketing capabilities for effectively driving sales. The customizable email templates and detailed campaign reports are also appreciated. The 24/7 customer service is noted for its responsiveness. The app is suitable for both new and established businesses, offering many free features. It's effective for building email lists, running sales campaigns, and creating customer coupons.

December 10, 2021

1. A lot of discounts/offers were auto enabled upon installation. That is crazy. If I did not go through each section, I would be giving away free shipping, $10 discounts etc without even knowing about them. 2. No way to make my own popups.. or allow the customer to stop seeing the popups after 1 time. e.g. there is no need for a customer to see a "Welcome to our Store" popup EVERY TIME she visits.

Rich Gone Broke
South Korea
37 minutes using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied December 10, 2021

Thanks for sharing your valuable feedback. 

We are disappointed to know that you did not have the best experience using our app.

The features related to discounts and free shipping are auto enabled to grab the attention of shoppers and boost sales. However, these features can easily be disabled and customised, as per the user’s discretion.

As for your suggestion related to the Popup, I have noted your suggestions and have forwarded it to our product team. It is always nice to know the requirements of our users so that we can meet their expectations and provide an engaging experience.

We are continuously aiming to improve the application and work upon the suggestions given to us. Your feedback has been registered and in the future, you will be glad to see more enhanced features to make your experience better.

I apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and appreciate your understanding in regard to this matter.

Regards,
Neelima Aggarwal
Team Automizely

September 14, 2020

In it’s description, this app completely left out important details regarding advertised functions (i.e. The mass e-mail option isn’t currently available for any mainstream/free e-mail domains like gmail, yahoo, etc). It requires you to create an entirely new e-mail from a different domain, which means that it will not link to the e-mail created for your site if it falls in the category of any of the above. I found this out only after having failed attempts to link the sender e-mail, and speaking with customer service.

The Alluring Gems Collection
United States
35 minutes using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied September 15, 2020

Hi there,

The idea behind not letting free email domains to be used is to improve deliverability and reduce spam rates of your marketing emails.

However, I understand how important it is for a business to try emails first with a free domain before investing in buying a paid domain. I had a discussion with the product team internally and we are planning to launch support for free domains within 2 weeks.

I hope this can help improve your experience with our app. I am also dropping you a personal note via email. Stay tuned!

Best,
Shahbaz

August 10, 2020

dont work very bad............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

COCONUT BABY ACCESSORIES
Ecuador
14 minutes using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied August 10, 2020

Hello,
First off, thanks for sharing your feedback. I’m really sorry that Automizely didn’t meet your expectations. Clearly, we fell short, and I apologize.

The last thing we want to do is let our customers down, and moving forward, we’re going to do everything in our power to hold ourselves to that standard. But, for us to serve you to the best of our capacity, we would like to have a little more insight into what happened or what went wrong on our end that we need to work on to make this experience delightful for you.

We’ll see to it that you get what you need this time.

Again, we’re sorry we dropped the ball this time, but we hope you’ll consider giving us another chance.

Have a great day!

December 1, 2019

Tried to trap me into starting something for free I'm not impressed.......... tut tut tut tut tut tut tut....

PUBG CLAW Controllers Triggers 🎮
United Kingdom
8 minutes using the app