Reviews (643)

Overall rating
4.8
Counts per rating level
  • 97% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its clear delivery estimates, which help reduce cart abandonment and increase conversion rates. They praise its user-friendly interface, fast loading speed, and seamless theme integration. The app's high customization level, including specific times for individual products, is also valued. Merchants commend the responsive and proactive customer support. The availability of a free version makes it accessible for budget-conscious merchants, offering excellent value for money.

June 20, 2024

This app is really nice, And we got always swift support from their team

They give us very helpful and prompt answer
Love you

Satvic Movement
India
12 months using the app
June 20, 2024

Exellent app, great support.
All that you need this app can do it perfect.

fitnessgram.gr

fitnessgram.gr
Greece
Over 1 year using the app
April 24, 2024

We just installed this app after a few years of using "Order Deadline."

The app looks better, costs less, and has more options. The best feature is the ability to keep the estimated delivery date visible in the cart and, above all, the checkout. This should help with our conversion rate.

The customer support from the Coder Team is almost instantaneous. Yes, there is a little learning curve, but rest assured that you will get the help you need to get going.

Laguiole Imports
United States
4 days using the app
April 10, 2024

Excellent product. I needed a way for my customers to see approximate time frames their orders would arrive. Works great. I also got super fast, detailed customer support when trying to make one product different from the rest.

Kaden & Kai
United States
19 days using the app
April 16, 2024

The team provided incredibly fast support. The tool is also helpful in displaying estimated dates across products, cart, and checkout.

Epsilonartgallery
Mexico
10 months using the app
May 12, 2024

An absolute game-changer! The response time of this Shopify app is phenomenal, significantly boosting conversion rates. I can't thank the team enough for their clarity and patience throughout. 5 stars all the way!

Whisper's Store
Czechia
3 months using the app
June 6, 2024

Amazing service and exceptional support system they have. Provided the help I needed! 5/5

Canvas Case
Australia
About 1 month using the app
Edited May 15, 2024

Honestly not the best customer service. A bit rude and abrupt. I initially had my own trust badges and asked if they could remove it for me (did not know how to) and I emailed asking if they could help again. The reply was "you can do that yourself. see below." - no hello nothing.

Update: following my honest review the widget has suddenly “disappeared”…. It is active but disappeared from the store. Definitely a strange experience all together. Feeling very uncomfortable. Would definitely not recommend after this. After having a bad experience with them they will deactivate your widget. The customer service was one thing but this?! Just proved my customer service point. Who “punishes” their customers?

Trinilet
United Kingdom
9 days using the app
Coder replied May 13, 2024

Thank you very much for your review.

1. Your store is currently under protection and we cannot view the product page. So we can't help you with trust badge issues;

2. Our app is an estimated arrival date app. What you are describing is a trust badge issue. We are unable (not authorized) to provide you with any help. The best way is that you need to contact the corresponding trust badge developer customer service support to solve your problem. Because they know their applications best.

update:

Thank you very much for your review.

1. After the user installs our application, we will never operate any configuration of the user (unless the user authorizes us to operate).

2. The problem you describe: The problem that appears in your store is that you subscribe to the Free plan and only have a quota of 100 products (and only 100 products will display the widget normally).

Your store has over 150+ products in total. The widget will not be displayed for products with more than 100 products.

Thanks

July 11, 2024

I made a request for custom CSS code to change a particularity of the advanced delivery widget and they responded very quickly and implemented the code automatically for me. This was incredible! Furthermore, the app is very good, offers several functionalities and really fulfills its intended purpose and for a very fair price.

NOLVA
Brazil
2 days using the app
June 21, 2024

Easy to use. Extremely useful and customizable. Very flexible app. I just started to use and hopefully can help with more conversions.
Their support team is extremely helpful and quick response. Feel really good to have them for my support!

Generayxion
United States
About 9 hours using the app