Gift Box , 167 reviews

Overall rating
4.9
Counts per rating level
  • 93% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants highly recommend this app for its user-friendly interface, versatility, and sales-boosting capabilities. It offers customizable gift options and supports different currencies. Many appreciate its seamless Shopify integration, immediate functionality, and its impact on increasing average order value and conversion rates. The easy-to-navigate design enhances customer experience. The support team is praised for their quick responses, helpfulness, and custom coded support. The reporting feature is also valued by merchants.

March 2, 2024

Sehr enttäuscht. Leider funktioniert Sie nicht immer. Kunden wählen Ihre Prämie aber diese wird nicht in die Bestellung aufgenommen. Folge Unzufriedene Kunden, die denken Sie bekommen eine Prämie und dadurch doppelte Versandkosten!

CARLITOS handmade
Germany
Digismoothie replied March 4, 2024

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered with Gift Box. Based on the details you provided, it seems that the problems arose due to some incompatibility with your theme.

Despite our best efforts, there are so many themes and customizations for Shopify stores that occasionally, we encounter ones with which we don't have integrations. Not to worry, our support team is available 24/7 to assist in resolving them :)

Furthermore, we have sent you a follow-up message. If you could spare a moment to respond to our message, we will be committed to identifying the root cause of the discrepancy you experienced. We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention, and please rest assured that we will make every effort to address and resolve the issue to prevent its recurrence.

Best regards,
Digismoothie

May 1, 2022

This is a great app with excellent customer service, however, there are a few issues: 1) All Paypal payments were only accepted in US$ and not in the customers local currency
2) Although there is an option to enter a regular discount code via the app pop up, most customers are used to seeing this option at checkout- when using the app this option is not available 3) Does not work with Auto discounts since the app uses draft orders

Fervor Montreal
Canada
About 1 month using the app
Digismoothie replied August 4, 2022

Hi there,

Thank you for testing our app and for your feedback. The issues you had with the app were related to the fact that Gift Box was using Shopify’s draft orders API that comes with these restrictions. We understand that this approach is not ideal for many merchants and because of that we’re working on another method of adding free gifts to orders that won’t have any impact on your checkout currency or discounts.

Stay tuned! :)
Lucia, Customer Success Manager

January 25, 2021

This app has great potential, and is very easy to work with. However it cannot work if you have a loyalty program with your site and is limited by Shopify in terms of other discount integrations. Very unfortunate. However, the service is great - you get a response very quickly which is unlike most Shopify app partners. I wish we could have used it

RMS Beauty
United States
About 1 month using the app
Digismoothie replied August 4, 2022

Hi there,

Thank you for testing our app and for your feedback, we’re really sorry about the compatibility issues you experienced. Unfortunately, the draft orders that Gift Box utilized were the source of incompatibility. We understand that this is a problem for many merchants and because of that, we’re working on another method of adding free gifts to orders that won’t have any impact on your checkout currency or discounts.

Stay tuned! :)
Lucia, Customer Success Manager

Edited June 25, 2020

I installed the plug in and it worked pretty well at the beginning, the design is nice, flexible, and the team very helpful, answering very quickly.

We had few bugs and Lucia came up with solutions. Yet one, very randomly, could not be solve from time to time during the testing phasis.

the app system is having conflicts with the existing discounts options from Shopify. It will randomly bug or not bug if setting the discounts with Shopify (which allow more options, especially the display at checkout and the eligibility).

We tested it many times before launching the website officially and it happened only few times so we though it would be okay.

Today was the kick off of our launch campaign and the bug became impossible to control! 4 clients on different devices were kind enough to contact us to inform us that they were unable to enter the discount code given at checkout (set on shopify back end). We noticed that those 4 clients had selected a free gift (set with the gift box app). We tried again ourselves from 7 different devices, and the bug happened to 6 of us, while picking a gift, impossible to add the discount at checkout even when matching all requirements.

I warmly recommend the service from the team yet cannot afford to loose both clients and time as it happened this morning.
I would be happy to re-install the app as soon as the bug will be fixed.

ANOTHER_STORY
Thailand
25 days using the app
Digismoothie replied September 27, 2020

Hi there,

Thank you so much for testing our app and your feedback. We are really sorry about your experience. 🙏

As explained in the in-app chat, a customer is not able to enter a discount code during the checkout together with a free gift. That's because the platform allows only a single discount code per order (and the one is used for a free gift).

However, we have come up with a workaround so customers can enter additional discounts via the Gift Box UI. You can read more details here: https://www.notion.so/digismoothie/How-to-enable-discount-code-with-free-gift-s-7aee3efb25924aee96913e1d5d70576f

Hope this info helps and maybe you will consider giving our app a second chance.

Anyway, good luck in your business and happy gifting everyone 🎁,

Tom