Just copy/paste your tracking code and you are good to go. No theme editing or development required.
Quick to Launch
Once you complete the setup, the Hotjar service will be live on your site instantly.
Secure & Scalable
Asynchronous loading ensures your site speed remains fast. We don't edit your theme or any area of your Shopify store.
About Hotjar Install
Easily install Hotjar on your Shopify store with the original Hotjar install app.
We love Hotjar and the service it provides but this app is not directly affiliated with Hotjar. If you have any questions about Hotjar services, please contact Hotjar directly.
What does this app do?
This app automates the inclusion of the Hotjar script across all your themes. It uses the Shopify ScripTags to append the Hotjar script to any published theme without the need of editing the theme directly. Works great for those that don't have development resources, don't want to edit their theme, or those that change published themes consistently. This application does NOT edit your theme in anyway.
Why Hotjar? It is a new and easy way to truly understand your web and mobile site visitors.
- Heatmaps: Visualize behavior – Understand what users want, care about and do on your site by visually representing their clicks, taps and scrolling behavior – which are the strongest indicators of visitor motivation and desire.
- Visitor Recordings: See what your users see – Eliminate guesswork with Recordings of real visitor behavior on your site. By seeing your visitor’s clicks, taps and mouse movements you can identify usability issues on the fly and issues they encounter.
- Conversion Funnels: Where are your visitors dropping off? – Find the biggest opportunities for improvement and testing by identifying on which page and at which step most visitors are leaving your site.
- Form Analysis: How are your forms used? – Improve online form completion rates by discovering which fields take too long to ﬁll, which are left blank, and why your visitors abandon your form and page.
- Feedback Polls: Understand the reasons behind behavior – Improving the performance and experience of your website starts with understanding what your visitors want and what's preventing them from achieving it. Target questions to specific visitors anywhere on your web and mobile site.
- Instant Feedback: Instant visual feedback – Give your visitors an easy way to leave instant visual feedback on your website or app. See what people love and hate, identify issues, and find opportunities for growth.
- Surveys: Get to know your audience better – Build your own responsive surveys using an easy editor. Collect responses in real-time from any device. Distribute your surveys using web links, emails or invite your visitors just before they abandon your site to uncover their objections or concerns.
A Hotjar account is required.
The monthly charge of this app is in no way associated with a Hotjar. Any charges for usage of the Hotjar service will be through your Hotjar account.
See the app in action
Explore how the app works in an example store.View example store
Pricing 7-day free trial
External charges may apply. These charges are billed by the external provider and won’t appear on your Shopify invoice.
* All charges are billed in USD.
** Recurring charges, including monthly or usage-based charges, are billed every 30 days.
Most recent reviews
i had the original app last year when i first launched then deleted it as it started charging me . re-downloaded this year but its not giving me access to recordings via shopify. where is the app?
This app is only showing our technical teams previews of our store, or 3rd parties technical support. Not one recording of a customers' visit.
Hello, sorry to hear you are not seeing any recordings using HotJar. As stated in our description, our application only supports the installation of Hotjar across all themes in a storefront without theme editing required.
For any questions or issue on Hotjar service itself, such as session recording, please reach out to Hotjar directly at Hotjar.com
We installed the app and have contacted support 3 times by emailing them over the last 10 days and no one has gotten back to us yet. Terrible support. Can someone please get back to us. We have been emailing email@example.com that is listed as the contact email on the download app page. I just forwarded them to the email you provided below.
Hi, sorry to hear this but we don’t seem to have a single email from your shop. Are you emails us at firstname.lastname@example.org? If not, please do so and we can help with whatever questions you have.