Klarna On‑Site Messaging

Klarna On‑Site Messaging

by Klarna

Promote interest-free installments and pay later payment plans

2.7 of 5 stars(19 reviews)

Show users they can pay later

Promoting the availability of payment plans on product and checkout pages increases your sales

Personalize your messaging

The messaging can be personalized, creating a more intimate and unique online shopping experience, and more conversions for you

Control what, where, and how

Placements can be tailored to show payment plans available, or highlight promotions


About Klarna On‑Site Messaging

Sell more with personalized payment offers

Klarna has been taking the friction out of payments since 2005 for over 60 million consumers globally. Klarna allows shoppers to pay later in interest-free installments as an easy, flexible alternative to credit. The On-Site Messaging App continues the smooth journey, increasing risk-free sales through tailored messaging and showing your customers available payment plans while they’re still shopping.

On-Site Messaging is easy and simple to integrate. The app provides customized messaging ranging from banners promoting your partnership with Klarna and availability of payment options, to personalized promotions on product or cart pages. Advertising the ability to afterpay before checkout improves sales. Customers are identified from their first interaction, so the shopping experience can be tailored to suit their needs.

Let your customers know instantly how they can pay before they buy

Consumers are not always aware of the different payment plans available to them before reaching checkout. Knowing they can shop now and pay later, or split into installment payments prior to checkout, influences the purchase decision, and is a way to affirm their spending power. Not just to buy, but also how much to spend.

While your customers can pay over time Klarna pays you upfront. Your business is fully protected from fraud and credit risk, and your customers are safe too.

Capitalize on payment preferences

Payment preference is highly personal. Some people pay the same way for everything, while others choose the option best suited for a particular situation. In all cases, payment preference and communication influences the likelihood of a customer completing a purchase. The On-Site Messaging app tailors messages to previous Klarna users based on their specific preferences and the products they are looking at, while new users are informed about what payment options are available to buy the goods in which they’re interested.

How to make On-Site Messaging work best for you

1.Display Custom Payment Solutions & Promotions: Promote buy now pay later and monthly payments with promotions on product and cart pages. Klarna will display the most relevant payment option, or not load any content if a payment option will not be available.

2.Message within your Footer and Side-bar: Show your available payment methods with Klarna, as a footer or sidebar. These placements always let your users know how they can pay.

3.Available Banner Placements: Use our library of branded and payment method specific messaging on your homepage and landing pages.

Click the Developer Website link on this page if you are interested in finding out more about Klarna and our payment methods, or have not yet signed up to offer Klarna.

See the app in action

Explore how the app works in an example store.

View example store

Media gallery

Support

Pricing

Free

Overall rating
2.7 of 5 stars
Based on 19 reviews

  • 5 of 5 stars
    26% of ratings are 5 stars
    (5)
  • 4 of 5 stars
    11% of ratings are 4 stars
    (2)
  • 3 of 5 stars
    11% of ratings are 3 stars
    (2)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    11% of ratings are 2 stars
    (2)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    42% of ratings are 1 stars
    (8)

Most recent reviews

Aviator Custom Print

Would be nice if they had instructions as to how to set it up. Got stuck on credentials.... what credentials were needed? I couldnt tell you.

Developer reply

November 16, 2019

We're sorry you got stuck. We do have a Support Guide for this app available at: https://x.klarnacdn.net/plugins/KlarnaOnSiteMessagingapponShopifySupportGuide.html

From the Support Guide: When you first install the app, your Klarna API credentials will be automatically connected, as long as you have already completed the Klarna Payments for Shopify integration. If you haven't yet integrated Klarna Payments for Shopify, see instructions at https://x.klarnacdn.net/plugins/Klarna%20Payments%20on%20Shopify%20-%20Merchant%20Guide.pdf

If you don't yet have Klarna API credentials, you can sign up at https://eu.portal.klarna.com/signup

We hope this helps make the installation steps clearer, but if you need support, we're available at skosm@klarna.com

WildBounds

Was unsure about installing it given the poor reviews, but it worked a charm for us! Easy to set up, nice options for placement. Easily customisable. Highly recommend!

Developer reply

November 9, 2019

Thank you for the great review! We want all our app users to feel the same, but if there are any questions or issues, we're here to support.

Androtics

This app does not perform as expected, nor could we get reliable support from them to make it work as promised. For example, support kept saying the app can definitely show only Klarna’s 4 payment option (which is what we wanted), but instead the app keeps cycling through messaging for all of Klarna’s options (such as buy now, pay in 30 days). Support doesn’t seem to understand their own apps. Do they think Shopify is some niche player and it’s not worth opening up their own apps to see how they work (or don’t work)? It’s very peculiar.

I was super impressed by Klarna CEO, Sebastian Siemiatkowski, and Klarna’s operations in Europe. However, Klarna US is a different operation. As in, almost completely different. I was surprised.

The US operation even has a completely different CEO. One that comes off far worse in interviews than Sebastian, unfortunately. He repeatedly says “yes no” to almost everything asked of him, which is a concerning tic. This may indicate that even doesn’t know how Klarna works yet. He may need to grow into the job, which could take some time.

As another review said, we were thought we were approved and promoted Klarna... then we found out their rep didn’t set us up right. We then had to make site modifications that others in the same industry (such as The Fragrance Shop and Perfume Direct) were not required to do, which gave us no examples to follow. The rep made promises of help which she did not deliver. Not only was this a needless and peculiar complication, it is a tangible form of discrimination that puts us in an inferior position. It simply isn’t right.

I still have high hopes for Klarna, as their European operation is top notch. However, their US operation and Shopify apps all need to be rethought and redone to raise standards dramatically. They already seem to be “be there” in Europe. They just need to rise to the same level in the North America. - Dan K

Developer reply

November 4, 2019

After looking into the issue you've reported, we just have a couple of questions to help us better understand the situation.

You stated that the messaging is promoting various Klarna Payment options rather than Pay in 4 Installments. This is due to the fact that your online store is configured to offer the full range of Klarna Payment methods, but would you rather it be changed to just Pay in 4 Installments? This is absolutely something we can help with. This would change the app messaging to only reflect this payment method. It is important to bear in mind that the minimum amount for Installment payments is $35, as this will affect the messaging.

We also have a planned update to the app which will include up-sell messaging, so that customers will be greeted with the option to add XX amount to their basket in order to reach the minimum amount for Installment payments.

Alternatively we can manually migrate your app to only ever show Installment messaging.

If you could let us know which action you would prefer to take, we will get to work!

We do appreciate all feedback, and will continue to work on improvements to the On-Site Messaging feature.