Reviews (612)

Overall rating
4.6
Counts per rating level
  • 84% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 8% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for enhancing store SEO and improving discoverability. It automates SEO tasks, optimizes images for better site performance, and is known for its user-friendly interface. Many praise the customer service for its quick and helpful responses. Merchants have seen improved store speed scores and increased conversions. The app is cost-effective with a one-time payment and no monthly fees, and efficiently avoids repetition by remembering previously optimized products/images.

April 9, 2017

I attempted to contact Support at Minifier before posting this, but after waiting over a week without any response, I'm going ahead with this review.
Minifier touted its features well and even when processing our images for our Shopify store it appeared to be doing all it promoted. However, we ran a Google Page Speed test immediately before and after and Google still recommends image optimization. We saw a 1 point improvement in our Google scores, even though Minifier reported up to 80% savings in file sizes.
I just don't see any value in this product. We'll try something else.

Epica 2
United States
Over 5 years using the app
Edited August 23, 2016

As for an automated system and the app it seems quick and useful. I couldn't move forward as I have some questions first and haven't had any response from their support.

*update several days later... Still ZERO response from support.

Vapor24 7
United States
Almost 5 years using the app
August 17, 2018

Could not reach support regarding my questions. No effort whatsoever to contact me or respond in any way whatsoever. Horrible dashboard.

Petitebello
United States
Almost 3 years using the app
July 12, 2016

don't try it. it'll screw all your template. it screwed ours, we tried contacting support, and waited all day (and yet has not been resolved, nor have contacted us about the issue). our website has been down for 24 hours now

Www Zenbetterliving Com
United States
Over 2 years using the app
Edited November 8, 2018

I was charged with photos that saved me 0% in size! Not very honest tbh. Don't really like the email notification spam!

Coupdecoeur Sg
Singapore
Over 2 years using the app
May 31, 2018

Désolé, mais votre application m'a fait perdre au moins 30% de mes photos.
Je dois donc tout recommencer,en gros je vais perdre 3 heures... Et 14 $.
Je ne vous remercie pas et je vous encourage à FUIR cette app !

Fizzyhorse Shop
France
Almost 2 years using the app
March 15, 2016

I had high hopes for this app. It did not improve my website speed. I did the google speed test before and after. My mobile and website speed remained exactly the same =(

Dbenoit
United States
Almost 2 years using the app
August 22, 2018

No sure what is going on with the app. Hasn't worked for the past couple of days (just keeps bringing up a grey screen - refreshing will bring up the dashboard but starting a scan never results in any progress). Tried to contact support but the Oberlo team intercom icon now comes up at the bottom right corner. Gonna try switching to another app.

Thecatfair
United States
Over 1 year using the app
July 15, 2017

Shit app. Can't see what is being 'optimised' until after you pay.
My optimisation ended up being about 50 images that could save 1-5kb...

Dev also doesn't respond...

Moto Key Tags
United States
Over 1 year using the app
December 7, 2021

I paid $18.21 for my product photos to be optimized and they're ruined now. Pictures are very blurry, pixeled and discolored, and there is NO reversal. These are hundreds of photos. I have to delete the photos from 80% of my listings and reupload the photos because they are so bad. Time and money wasted.

Alexis Daoud Jewelry
Canada
Over 1 year using the app
Aheadworks replied December 29, 2021

Hello Alexis Daoud Jewelry,

We're truly sorry that you've met some difficulties while using the app.
Please, let me inform you that the app provides a 30-day free backup image storage, during which images can be reverted.
I wish you had addressed to us earlier so that we could assist you with it.

Rest assure that we've contacted Shopify and initiated full refund for you.
It should reach you within these few days.
I hope that we can resolve this issue with mutual understanding.

Best regards,
Minifier SEO Image Optimizer team