Overall rating
5
Counts per rating level
  • 96% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its ability to generate professional invoices and receipts, especially useful for businesses dealing with wholesale clients. It supports multi-currency orders, customization of order forms, bulk printing, and product notes. Merchants find it reliable, user-friendly, and easy to install. The support team is commended for their prompt assistance and technical knowledge. The app is seen as reasonably priced for its features and is recommended for both B2C and B2B customers.

September 11, 2023

FRAUDULENT! Steer clear from this app.. they don't even tell you this or update you but they've been charging me $10 / month for YEARS. And I had no idea nor did I ever approve these charges.

Decoralist
United Kingdom
About 3 years using the app
FORSBERG+two ApS replied September 13, 2023

To give some true context on this review. Decoralist installed the app and approved the app charges in 2020, as can be seen both in the Shopify Partner Dashboard, and on their own activity feed. We've provided screenshots of this from Shopify's own systems etc.

They've then forgotten they installed the app, even though Order Printer Pro would have been both showing in their Installed apps list, and on their monthly Shopify invoice every month since they installed and approved the app subscription.

They've now come to us and demanded a refund for 3 years that they "didn't know" they had the app installed. We gave 3 months refund, which we feel is fair, especially when such words as "fraudulent" are being thrown around.

Long story short, they installed and subscribed to the app, demanded a refund 3 years later, and are now leaving this review because they didn't get their way.

It's rare that strange situations come up like this, thankfully. Hopefully our other 800+ 5 star reviews help show what we are really about.

Kind regards,
Bjorn Forsberg
Founder - FORSBERG+two

March 30, 2020

I am really frustrated with this app. I have repeatedly asked this group how to remove the unnecessary information that displays at the top and bottom of every invoice. They will-not provide the information.

paxton hardware ltd
United States
Over 1 year using the app
FORSBERG+two ApS replied March 30, 2020

I'm sorry you are frustrated, but we have replied to all of your emails with instructions on how to remove the header/footer info added by your browser.

We've tried to help you, even though you have been rude and abusive each time you've contacted us.

Please uninstall the app, we don't accept this type of behaviour.

Kind regards,
Bjorn Forsberg
Founder - Order Printer Pro by FORSBERG+two

July 19, 2020

Takes Too much to Load the orders., If we select 50 order in orders dashboard it takes more than 30 minutes to print.

Itsy Bitsy
India
12 months using the app
August 5, 2020

Das Bestellformular ging bei mir nicht. Der Support hat es in 1,5 Wochen auch nicht hinbekommen. Ich habe es gelöscht.

Verwalterenergie
Germany
10 months using the app
FORSBERG+two ApS replied August 6, 2020

Thanks for the review, and sorry for the frustration. We have been emailing with you multiple times over the past week, trying to help you with the issue and providing multiple solutions. I see that you did not try the solution we sent over in our last mail, we'd love to help further if you would like to.

Ps. You are posting the review on the wrong app, you were using our OrderlyEmails app ;)

Kind regards,
Bjorn Forsberg
Founder - FORSBERG+two

June 22, 2021

It advertises that theres a free plan available. After downloading the app, it forces you to pay $10 a month

Street Aero
United States
7 months using the app
FORSBERG+two ApS replied June 23, 2021

Thank you for your review. However, I think there is some confusion or misunderstanding here.

Based on the number of orders your store had in the past month (don't want to post the actual number publicly here), the app is correct in asking you to subscribe to the paid plan. You are a long way over the free plan limit of 50 orders a month.

You are correct that the app has a free plan, for stores with less than 50 orders a month. For stores with more than 50 orders a month, the app costs $10/month for unlimited orders. The app will not charge you anything if you have less than 50 orders a month.

Again, you can see the full details of our pricing plans in the "Pricing" section of our Shopify App Store listing.

Hope that makes sense. Please let us know if any questions come up, and have a great day!

Bjorn Forsberg
Founder - Order Printer Pro by FORSBERG+two

May 26, 2020

customer service just ignores... no reply for days... app is not bad, but not
worth the money in my opinion.

njom FOODS
Estonia
7 months using the app
FORSBERG+two ApS replied May 27, 2020

Sorry to hear you didn't receive the reply we sent to you. The support team did reply the same day with the information requested. See screenshot: https://www.evernote.com/l/AO_sHE1ngjxD27kO5Znyt0zyersYgq8W_H0B/image.png

Our team has forwarded that to you again now, in case it got lost somehow :)

Many thanks,
Bjorn Forsberg
Founder - Order Printer Pro by FORSBERG+two

August 31, 2020

They'll charge you even if you try the 'free' version.

Cure Collection
United States
About 2 months using the app
FORSBERG+two ApS replied September 2, 2020

Sorry to hear you were surprised by the pricing of the app. I've double checked your account, and the app did correctly add the charge only after you crossed the 50 order limit for the month. This is of course after your 14 day free trial had expired, which is not counted.

As stated above in the Shopify App Store (under Pricing) the app is free for any store with less than 50 orders per month. For stores with more than 50 orders per month, the app costs $10 for that month.

You cannot use the "free version" if your account has more than 50 orders in a month, as mentioned in the pricing.

Of course we don't want anyone to be disappointed after using our apps, so we're issuing a full refund to your account :)

Please do let us know if you need anything else.

Kind regards,
Bjorn Forsberg
Founder - Order Printer Pro by FORSBERG+two

May 20, 2020

Cannot find the pause or delete app button. Very cheeky! Not sure why someone would pay $10 for what Shopify already provides for free?

Red Bay Coffee
United States
About 2 months using the app
FORSBERG+two ApS replied May 21, 2020

Thanks for the feedback, and sorry for the frustration. Our support team has reached out to you with instructions on how you can uninstall/cancel any Shopify app you have installed, which is the same for Order Printer Pro:

1- In your Shopify admin
2- Go to the "Apps" page
3- Click the "Delete" button next to Order Printer Pro

This both removes the app from your admin, and also cancels any subscription or trial on your account.

Stay safe and best of luck with your store.

Bjorn Forsberg
Founder - Order Printer Pro by FORSBERG+two

January 9, 2023

Unübersichtlich, Rechnungen werden teils gar nicht erstellt. Für 3 Bestellungen im Monat OK....Alles andere Schmutz!

FOLLOWERDISCOUNT
Germany
About 1 month using the app
FORSBERG+two ApS replied January 9, 2023

Guten Morgen,

I'm sorry to see you didn't have a good experience with our app. I checked our support tools and it looks like you haven't contact support before, so we'd love to hear from you so we can help with any issues you are having.

Our support team is available 24/7 using the in-app contact widget, or on hello@orderprinterpro.com

Kind regards,
Bjorn Forsberg
Founder - Order Printer Pro by FORSBERG+two

In German:

Es tut mir leid zu sehen, dass Sie keine guten Erfahrungen mit unserer App gemacht haben. Ich habe unsere Support-Tools überprüft und es sieht so aus, als hätten Sie den Support noch nie kontaktiert. Wir würden uns also freuen, von Ihnen zu hören, damit wir Ihnen bei allen Problemen helfen können.

Unser Support-Team ist rund um die Uhr über das In-App-Kontakt-Widget oder unter hello@orderprinterpro.com erreichbar

Mit freundlichen Grüßen,
Björn Forsberg
Gründer - Order Printer Pro von FORSBERG+two

Edited July 18, 2018

I tried to upload the code they sent through, and it doesn't work. I emailed them twice and still had no reply. I am disappointed with their total lack of communication.

Rosanna Lonsdale
United Kingdom
22 days using the app