Conjured Referrals

Conjured Referrals

by Conjured

Boost sales with a beautiful, customizable referral program

4.9 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    98% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 4 stars
    (0)
  • 3 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 3 stars
    (0)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 2 stars
    (0)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 1 stars
    (3)

All reviews

3 reviews

Eden Ashram

Poor on almost every front. Let's start with the basics. Most Shopify store owners want simplicity, that's why they look at apps to have 'done the hard work' in terms of development / look / feel of a certain thing and then we can come along and plug it in to our store with hopefully little or (ideally) no fuss. So, if this is what you want then avoid this app. I'm sure they have spent time on some 'back end' bits and bobs but the implementation and set up for this app is laborious and time consuming. The customer seeing 'front end' doesn't even exist! Nothing comes 'ready made' with this app allowing for some simple tweeks to make it your own. Oh no, this is bare bones stuff. Don't be fooled by the images of the app in use by other stores thinking this is what you get, you don't. You get nothing but a simple text page similar to the simple text's you'd send on a phone from the 80's. ALL of the 'examples' they show on the app page are heavily modified /customised examples by the store (can only be done with CSS) and are NOT what you get. The 'out of the box' look and feel to EVERYTHING that they have standard is like graphics from the worlds first computer. Horrid. They say, 'we use the look and feel of the template you use to create the standard look' but there is NOTHING in my store that looks like the junk I got. Essentially they replicated the font. That's it! Then stuck a box around some text and these were meant to be the 'sign up' boxes! And then you try to reach out to customer support. Again, slow, outdated and difficult. I suppose I should have been concerned straight away when I raised a question about their link with 'Facebook' and the support had no idea what I was talking about! Then when I asked about the look and feel and how I can change this I was instructed to completely design a new page myself and then send them the artwork and they would try to match it! Eh?! I don't have time for that! And more importantly I told them 3 times that I would like a sign up page similar to the examples they provided originally (like the nice ones you see on their app page) and yet they seemed unable to follow this instruction. I still don't have it. Why don't (like almost every other app available anywhere) do they not just have a set of pre-designed, well thought out templates where we can simply change the font, colour, add/amend a picture etc. and one simple amendment would be a global change across all the relevant communications? How difficult is that? And this is also an important point. With this app you have to manually change and amend EVERY SINGLE email (there are lots), landing pages and pop ups INDIVIDUALLY. It is absolutely unworkable. Perhaps at some point in the future, and at version 29.6 this app will be something that could be used, but right now I'd advise you to avoid.

Developer reply

September 29, 2020

I'm so sorry you had a disappointing time with our app! Customer service is something we care deeply about, so I want to apologize that the service you received didn't meet your expectations. I've reached out personally through our support channel to ask for additional feedback and offer assistance specific to your situation, but I also want to address a few things you mentioned in your review here.

Out of the box, our referral program pulls in your store's theme and stylesheet, so things like buttons and input boxes are styled using whatever your store theme's CSS. This typically makes it easy for merchants to match their existing store's look and feel, rather than needing to fuss with every element to match. In your case, it sounds like your store's stylesheet didn't have styles for those specific elements. In that case, all those elements can be changed, either using the page style editor, or with custom CSS, and we're more than happy to do that all for you if you'd rather not do it yourself.

The reason every email, color, and bit of text is editable is because many merchants care a great deal about having full control over each part of the program. It's important to most of our merchants that they have the ability to fully edit all the imagery and messaging to match their brand exactly, rather than have to deal with a "cookie-cutter" template. Full customization is a feature we believe is an asset to our clients, and allows for referral programs that are highly unique in their design.

Finally, all our examples are real stores who are actually using our app, who have generously agreed to be included in our showcase. They've made efforts to make their referral program look and feel fully branded to their store, and so we can't simply copy their designs for other customers. We do offer several layout options out-of-the-box, and as mentioned previously, they leverage your store's CSS. We also offer free styling service to every client on every plan level to help everyone achieve their design goals for their referral program.

Again, I'm very sorry you didn't have a good experience with our app. We take all critiques to heart and would love to chat with you about what improvements we can make to better serve your needs.

Fioriah Cosmetics

'I'm not sure how this app is, 'Or even how it works. 'There were so many mis-communication on all levels. 'The app developer did not get back with me in a timely manner. 'I reached out to Shopify to see if someone over there could help me. 'But I was told that they would reach out to the developer so they could assist me. 'That is when I got a consistent response. 'I told the developer through email, exactly what I wanted but instead they kept asking me the same questions but just in a different way. 'The app is very confusing, also I asked the developer if they could enter the code into the theme store for me and from there it was just bk and fourth questions and as an end result Ii was given a link to read instructions when the app clearly says that they would be happy to install it for it's customers. 'Good luck to everyone else....

Developer reply

November 6, 2019

Hi Johnny,

I am sorry you've had a negative experience with our app. We pride ourselves on providing high quality customer support - we are a US based company with standard office hours, and we did reply to your email within 4 hours of receiving it. We offered to help fulfill all your requests (implementation of a pop-up and updating the Facebook share content), however we never received any response back about how you wanted it to look, or what content you wanted us to use for the Facebook share. We would be more than happy to help you with both those customizations (free of charge, like we do for all our customers), however we do need that additional information to proceed. Please feel free to reach out if you'd still like our assistance.

Breadvillage

I wanted to like this app, but ended up deleting it. The standard design elements (windows, buttons, text sizes, emails) look horrible, and who's got time to custom-make all that from scratch? From an app that wants to charge me up to $ 299, I expect a standard set-up with professional look & feel that is immediate plug & play. I also do not like that the app forces you to sign up with sendgrid to send emails, and of course sendgrid wants to charge people, too. Sorry, for $ 299/month I expect an app to contain all necessary functionality. Sending emails is an integral part of a referral program and should NOT cost extra.

Developer reply

April 1, 2019

Hello! Shopify recently implemented the ability for us app creators to respond to reviews, so I wanted to reply with a couple of clarifications in case you'd ever like to give our app another try.

Out of the box, Conjured Referrals makes use of your site's native stylesheets. This means all the buttons, text, inputs, and so forth will take on the look and feel of the rest of your store. The styles are fully customizable, and deliberately "bare bones" so that they are adaptable to your store's theme by default. And as you mentioned, if you have a specific design in mind, we provide free styling services to help you implement the vision for your referral program.

We also don't require SendGrid integration at all. Conjured Referrals will send all the emails for your referral program without any external services. Integrating your own Sendgrid account enables you to have better control over your email deliverability with your own domain, and allows you more robust insights into open and click rates beyond what comes native within our app. It's an extension some customers take advantage of but is by no means required for the app to function.

If you'd ever like to give us another try, please reach out to support@conjured.co and we would be happy to help make sure the program looks and functions the way you need it to!