Seal Subscriptions App

Seal Subscriptions App

Built for Shopify

Reviews (1,735)

Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 93% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants highly recommend this app, especially for new stores, for its custom pricing, prepaid plans, and subscription management features. It's praised for its ease of use, affordability, and seamless integration. Merchants appreciate the test-before-purchase option and the value-for-money provision-based pricing. The customer portal, allowing easy subscription management, is a standout feature. The support team is commended for their quick and knowledgeable responses. The app's multi-language option and its ability to increase repeat sales are also appreciated.

June 21, 2024

Be aware that every time a customer moves house and changes their address, or updates the billing details, the subscription will break, without notifying the seller. The link you can send to the customer to update their billing details does not resolve it.

This is a huge flaw in the app as it creates a lot of friction for the customer, extra work for the seller, and some lost business. I've messaged Seal several times about this, but all they suggest is setting up a new subscription. By that time it's often too late - the customer has either moved on or I have to give them a free product to make up for the inconvenience.

In addition, while their customer support is fast, the quality of the replies is often poor and requires multiple emails going back and forth.

Positive Science People
United Kingdom
Over 2 years using the app
Seal Subscriptions replied June 25, 2024

Update 2024-06-27:

It seems that we can't get a hold of you. The issue you mentioned occasionally happens in ShopPay, with the ShopPay payment method when the customer removes their credit card from their ShopPay account, which is why the subscription can't be renewed after the card is removed. Unfortunately, the issue happens at ShopPay and not at our side and we can't control ShopPay's systems and their code. However, we have notified Shopify Support about this issue and we have a ticket open with Shopify Support. If you can get back to us, we can add your case to the ticket, so Shopify can try to resolve it as soon as possible.

Overall, if anyone else is experiencing this issue, please contact us at

Original reply:

Hi, We are trying to contact you about this issue over the email and phone so we can help you out with this. Can you please reply to our email sent from so we can check what exactly is going on there and resolve the issue for you?

Thank you,
Seal Subscriptions app team

November 27, 2023

Some of what Seal offers is great; however, there are a few key drawbacks that made me choose to find a new service within a couple months of starting. The biggest one is the inability to modify existing subscriptions in bulk. I wanted to change which date they charged on and I had to go through each one, one by one, to manually adjust this. This was annoying but doable with 50 subscribers, but would become untenable with growth. Secondly, the tax settings don't sync with the product in the Shopify store, so our subscribers have consistently not been charged sales tax, and Subify tells me the only way to fix this is actually to delete every existing subscription and recreate them one by one. The manual work involved to make basic changes of fix issues has made me look elsewhere -- which is too bad, because the UI of Seal is really nice otherwise.

Little Thing
United States
About 2 months using the app
Seal Subscriptions replied November 30, 2023

We are currently working with merchant to resolve these issues, but we wanted to also write a reply about this here :)
1.) We are planning on creating a functionality, which will allow you to edit subscriptions in bulk. This will allow you to easily adjust them even if you have tens of thousands of subscriptions.

2.) As per our email correspondence, the sales tax is something that is automatically calculated by Shopify. Our app (and other subscription apps) have no control over how the sales tax is calculated and charged, as this is entirely controlled by Shopify. Having said that, we have opened a ticket with Shopify Support about your specific case.
We are currently working on finding a workaround for this glitch which is most likely happening with Shopify Checkout :)

If anyone else needs help with our app, it will be best to simply send us an email to as our team is always more than happy to help merchants succeed :)

Seal Subscriptions team

March 9, 2024

Dissapointed again

7 Realms Bliss
United States
About 7 hours using the app
Seal Subscriptions replied March 18, 2024

We are always more than happy to help merchants configure the app and maybe even customize it for them.
We have tried to reach out to you through phone and email for almost two weeks now, but we never received a reply. Also, it seems that you never sent us any email about any issues in the app.
So we aren't sure what exactly are you missing in the app.

We will be grateful if you can get back to us on our email of phone as we will be more than happy to help you out :)

Best Regards,
Seal Subscriptions team

February 8, 2024

Not really happy with the rate change

Destiny By Design Store
United States
About 2 hours using the app
Seal Subscriptions replied February 10, 2024

We have just sent you an email about this, as we aren't quite sure what kind of rate change you have in mind. We haven't increased our prices at all since we created the app. We even decreased them, so we aren't quite sure what kind of rate change you have in mind.

Looking forward to your response so we can resolve this :)

Best Regards,
Seal Subscriptions team

November 27, 2022

The only reason I didn't give Seal a 1-star review is because they might be the only subscriptions app that doesn't take a percentage or sales nor do they charge more just because we're on a higher-tier Shopify plan. However, this app lacks greatly with analytics. Have to do a lot of digging for super basic, mostly not unusable analytics. There are bugs with their PageFly integration whereas the discount values aren't matching up. Issues with Shipstation integration for prepaid plan: doesn't create subsequent orders and reference them to subsequent Shopify orders. This app hasn't evolved much since we started using it earlier this year. Hardly any customer support, certainly no live support. You really get what you pay for with this app. We're looking into using a competitor now. Needs a lot of UX improvements for us to stick around.

Wildlife Tree
United States
About 1 year using the app
Seal Subscriptions replied November 28, 2022

Hi, We have sent you an email yesterday to help you solve these issues and help you out :) We are still waiting for your reply :)
Can you please check your inbox for an email coming from and send us back an email so we can help you out?
Thanks :)

June 28, 2021

The full potential (e.g. auto-charge) of this app only works with Shopify Payments...
It's even worse... Not even setting up subscriptions for product variants is allowed with other payment gateways than Shopify Payment.

About 1 month using the app
Seal Subscriptions replied June 28, 2021

Hi, I am sorry to hear that you decided to write a review before even giving us a change to explain why the limitations are in place.
Our Seal Subscriptions app currently allows you to use the auto-charging feature with Shopify Payments, PayPal Express or You are NOT limited only to Shopify Payments.
All subscription apps have the same limitation (currently) and there is nothing we can do about this.

We allow you to create a subscription rule even if you don't have any of these payment providers set up, as this is the only way to start using PayPal Express for auto-charging. You first have to create set up PayPal Express gateway and create an auto-charging subscription rule in your shop. Shopify then automatically submits your shop to PayPal for approval to use PayPal Express for auto-charging subscriptions.
If we wouldn't allow you to create a subscription rule, then you wouldn't be able to use PayPal Express for auto-charging subscriptions.

We are always happy to help you if you experience any issues with the app. You can always contact us at

I hope that I managed to explain to you why there are such limitations in the app.

Seal Subscriptions team

March 7, 2021

So far its been easy to install. Have not used it yet but they want you to leave a review so early. So I cannot do that. I a few months time.

About 13 hours using the app
February 18, 2023

Maybe I am the problem. I had high hopes for this app based on reviews and the demo site. However, I uninstalled in under 30 minutes. The app’s interface is crowded and instructions are too wordy and confusing. A video pops up after installation to help, but, honestly, if I have to watch an almost 20 minute video to understand the basics, I’d rather just pass. Some things should just be intuitive.

Sheair Butters
United States
9 minutes using the app
Seal Subscriptions replied February 18, 2023

Hi, We have sent you an email about this to schedule a Zoom call to help you set up the app. We are waiting for your reply :) Can you please check your inbox and send a reply to