Bold Subscriptions , 375 reviews

Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 70% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 11% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants highly recommend this app for its seamless integration with Shopify, enabling the addition of subscription functionality to their sites. It's praised for its user-friendly interface, reliability, and automation of subscription management processes. Particularly beneficial for businesses seeking to maximize recurring revenue, it offers efficient back-end management and responsive customer service. It's seen as a crucial tool for growth in online retail businesses.

October 18, 2021

This app is terrible. I have customers sign up that don't get added to the subscription. It has been 6 months now and they haven't added them. When customers cancel you don't get notified nor do you see the reason why. I have customers refill orders happening all throughout the day rather than at one time. There is no way to change it. You can't sort by anything when looking at customer information. It is a beta software at best and they are charging through the teeth for it. I wish I had never gone with this app.

New Zealand
11 months using the app
January 11, 2021

We have had a bad experience with this app. A glitch in their system resulted in their subscription service promising our customers $0 orders. Use this service at your own risk if you want to be out thousands of dollars.

Droplette Inc.
United States
10 months using the app
BOLD replied January 12, 2021

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for any frustration this may have cause you. Our team is looking into making sure that your issues are resolved and hoping that we can turn your bad experience into a good one.

February 24, 2022

They dont seem to be actively working on this app, it has limitations in that customers cant add products to their subsciption. And if I do it manually I cannot add it at the subsciption discount price. They do not seem to care about improving this app. I would look elsewhere if I were you.I've been using it for 8 months and nothing has improved.

The Black Stuff
9 months using the app
BOLD replied February 25, 2022

Thank you for your review. Feedback like yours is very important to our team and helps us align our priorities with our merchant's needs. I can assure you we are actively working to add new features in the near future. I hope we can improve your experience going forward. Thanks again for taking the time to write in!

Edited July 27, 2021

UPDATE JULY 2021: still no ability to have pre-paid options, plus it double charges my customers constantly and when i reached out to bold, they basically said you're SOL. this app has tons of potential, but sadly i will be moving on to a different one after the next box cycles out. OLD REVIEW:
I'm extremely excited to add subscription boxes to my website. The ONLY thing I'm not happy about is the inability to add prepaid lengths or give as a gift with the v2 yet. I plan on launching this in March and to give as a gift/offer prepaid lengths of 3-12 months is important to me. I still have 2 months left of my trial period so hopefully those features will become available soon! I am happy with the ease of navigation and ability to directly integrate with my website and shopify payments!

Virago Candle Studio
United States
7 months using the app
December 8, 2021

Very bad support. I am trying to contact support for days and they are not getting back to our queries... My Bold subscription has stopped functioning suddenly. I am not getting orders as well due to this.

5 months using the app
BOLD replied December 20, 2021

Thank you for your feedback - we are very sorry to hear about the delay in communication! We sincerely apologize for any frustration this may have caused you. I can confirm our team has reached out in hopes of resolving this issue for you.

February 23, 2021

Really disappointed that BOLD created a new version of their app but just left us in the dust... they said months ago that migration was coming soon but they have done nothing and say its still not available for us. So for us to switch to the new version we would have to install the new version and manually migrate all of our customers and subscriptions ourselves. I don't think BOLD values their customers.

United States
5 months using the app
BOLD replied February 24, 2021

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. We are working really hard on rolling out migrations, thank you for your feedback.

May 4, 2021

The app is still charging me even after I cancelled the subscription for at least 2 months. I guess they are living up to their name

Vitabrim Health
3 months using the app
BOLD replied May 6, 2021

Very sorry about the experience you had. We want to be sure that we take care of this for you we will look into what happened and get you your refund. Thank you for your feedback.

January 29, 2021

This app is incredibly frustrating with all it's glitches. We have multiple tickets open for close to a month now and the slow response time in rectifying these issues is very unprofessional. It's very disheartening having OUR customers upset at us for YOUR issues, glitches, lack of features and big oversights. PLEASE listen to your customers (me) and fix your app!

United States
3 months using the app
BOLD replied February 2, 2021

Thank you for the honest feedback. We apologize for any additional stress for you and your customers. Our team has reached out to speak over the phone regarding the status of the technical issues you are experiencing.

September 20, 2022

I migrated from v1 to v2 thinking it would be better. It was horrible. It is worse than v1. Run away from this subscription app, it will only cause you headache as you scale your business.

1915 Farm
United States
3 months using the app
BOLD replied October 4, 2022

Thank you very much for your honest feedback, I am sorry to hear that you have had a less than positive experience. Your feedback helps us determine areas for improvements and motivates us to do better.

Edited March 7, 2022

We tried to make things work with Bold Subscriptions, but it took about a month for them to respond to our migration request, and we had problems with code integration. After about a month and a half of trying we've decided to move on to a different app, which were able to get it working within the same day.

Mascot Monthly Mix
About 1 month using the app
BOLD replied February 4, 2022

Thank you for your kind review! We will be sure to pass along your words to the support staff, and especially Nikhil. We are always happy to help! Thanks for choosing Bold!