Reviews (391)

Overall rating
3.4
Counts per rating level
  • 37% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 21% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 17% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 8% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 16% of ratings are 1 stars
December 7, 2019

I am using this to show my products on a custom Wordpress site I built. The core functionality is solid, although there are 2 things I would add.

1. The ability to redirect to Checkout in the same tab. (I had to mess with the code of the buy button for a while too figure this one out. I was able to accomplish it but it would be much nicer if it was an option like in the sidebar when creating the buy button)

2. Since I do not have an actual strorefront on Shopify (I own my own domain) when users are redirected to checkout the url changes to my shopify store url. I would rather have the url stay the same because if someone inputs the shopify store url into their browser they will get the blank default theme. If I switch to the Shopify Lite plan then I loose some of Shopify's functionality and plugin ability (Most notably Kit)

Bad Basketball
United States
13 days using the app
Shopify replied December 10, 2019

Thanks for leaving a review. Your feedback is valuable for app development. I see that you've reached out to us regarding this, and a member of our Support Team suggested a workaround - have you tried this already?

Nevertheless, I've gone ahead and sent you an email to follow up to see if there's anything I can do to support you with those steps. Hope to hear from you soon! - Ryder, Shopify Support

November 10, 2020

It works but could be more user friendly. It is impossible to centre in a page no matter how often you select this option. Having to past it in code and having no visible icon on the page to check presentation is also not great. Overall a good idea and great that its free but it could do with some work,

White Lotus
Australia
13 days using the app
Shopify replied November 15, 2020

Hi, there! Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback here. I'd like to find out more information about your centre issue and hear any other feedback you may have, so that I can pass this on to our developers for you. I'll send you an email shortly for more details. Cheers. - Brie, Shopify Support

Edited May 5, 2020

Button works quite easily BUT it would be a HUGE improvement if Shopify could enable the following: 1) ability to add campaign tags or a simple way of knowing where specific orders are coming from (since we use the buy button on different campaign pages but they all appear as generic Buy Button purchases); and 2) the ability to automatically apply a discount or free shipping for each button that is generated to make promos on landing pages more seamless and less friction for the customer (who currently needs to add the code manually).

To'ak Chocolate
United States
8 days using the app
Edited July 20, 2020

Doesn't seem to work with Twitter? This page implies it does and gives setup instructions:
https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/products/details/checkout-link
"After you create a checkout link, you need to share the link with customers so that they can use it. You can copy the link text and paste it in email campaigns, social media posts, or direct messages. For example, you could paste the link in a Twitter post to let your followers easily buy a product on sale, or you could text the link to a customer who messages you asking how to buy a product."
I've followed the instructions but only get options for a website or blog.
Does this not work for Twitter now?

20 Jun 2020 Still doesn't work, No email received from Brie. Maybe because I'm a contractor working on this site so therefore my email is not the one listed as Store Contact Email?

20 July - still nothing.

Masato Jones
United Kingdom
12 days using the app
Shopify replied June 11, 2020

Hi, there! You can certainly create a checkout link to share on Twitter. You'll want to navigate to Products > select the product > More actions > Create checkout link. You would then copy it and share it on your Twitter. I'll follow up with you via email shortly to see if you need any further assistance with that. Thanks! - Brie, Shopify Support

October 1, 2021

Love how easy it comes up on my site. It was very easy to set up and has already generated revenue for us.

Millie's Sipping Broth
United States
2 days using the app
Shopify replied October 5, 2021

Thank you for writing your review and I'm delighted to hear that the app has been easy to use and has helped you generate sales for your business! We really appreciate you sharing your experience using the app with us here. -Victor, Shopify Support

July 7, 2021

Switching from the default Squarespace Digital Downloads store to the Shopify Buy Button has been great, except for one thing.
The great: it works smoothly along with digital downloads product variations, so I am now able to sell dozens of variations of my products, a feature I really needed.
What's unfortunate is that there is still no way to add a custom field to the checkout for the Buy button, even though there's posts as old as 2016 saying that its being worked on. With that feature added, it'd be 5 stars from me.

Herzberg Design Co
United States
6 days using the app
Shopify replied July 13, 2021

Hey, there. Thanks for taking the time and writing this review! While we're glad to hear that the Buy Button channel has been great, we'd also be happy to share your suggestion for a custom field with our developers for future considerations. Though we aren't able to provide a time frame when features can be implemented. However, if Shopify moves forward with any changes or updates to the Buy Button channel, you can find it on our changelog (https://bit.ly/3vOQnrP) or updates page (https://bit.ly/3uLZ6JI). Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support

July 16, 2021

This app is ok but problematic. If you have a lot of text on the product and want to showcase that, it won't open on a new tab and will clutter the screen without respecting paragraphs and spaces. It also failed to align into my page centered, there is no option. With 0 knowledge of coding it took me 1 hour to figure out how to center it manually. If it matters, I am on the theme prestige. Not allowing me to use the fonts of my choice or the website defaults is extremely annoying. I only recommend if you need the basics or don't care about design much. If that's what you need, then yes it's functional and simple.

The Noble Shoe
Sweden
21 days using the app
Shopify replied July 30, 2021

Thank you for writing your review and for detailing your experiences with the Buy Button app. I can appreciate that the limitations of the app can be frustrating when trying to get the button to look how you want it to, and whilst the nature of how the button works makes it far less customisable than an online store on Shopify, I can see why having more options to make editing the button easier would be beneficial.

Feedback from merchants is always appreciated and I will be sure to pass your comments onto our app development team. -Victor, Shopify Support

August 14, 2020

Really needs the script to keep the cart on every page once products are added, as well as ability to mask URL change.

Stellar Factory
United States
6 days using the app
November 15, 2016

I tried to create a simple button to add to my blog on my shopify website so I could direct customers to my specific collection, well, it wasn't so simple after all.
I am sure you can do better shopify.

Cielo Collective
Australia
9 days using the app
February 15, 2021

This is a pretty great solution for adding a shopping cart however it could benefit from a bit more customization, most notably an area for advanced users to implement custom CSS to help match the style, padding, fonts, etc of the site it's being embedded in.

Lamanna's Bakery
Canada
4 days using the app
Shopify replied February 17, 2021

Hey, there! I can definitely see how being able to customize the placement could be beneficial - I'll be sure to pass that on to the correct team as a feature request for you. Thanks so much for the feedback and glad to hear the app is working well for your business! - Oliver, Shopify Support