Overall rating
4.8
Counts per rating level
  • 87% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 9% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants highly recommend this app for significantly improving website load time and speed. It's praised for its user-friendly interface, efficient image compression, and advanced features like automation of compression, renaming, and alt tags. The app is also appreciated for optimizing websites for mobile, improving SEO, and offering excellent customer service. It works automatically in the background, is easy to install, and can save around 25% of the file size. Merchants find it extremely helpful in loading sites faster and improving website speed grade.

October 5, 2015

This is an amazing app. We installed it and it worked seamlessly out of the box. It reduced our image sizes by an average of 27%! According to Google this should help boost our rankings.

Thanks Dom for the great customer service!! Really appreciated!

Minibini
United States
5 minutes using the app
June 17, 2022

删除后无法安装,导致我的img都无法显示,一直处于压缩状态
就是垃圾,我询问客服,客服还他妈放假。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。。

asyil
Hong Kong SAR
About 2 hours using the app
Space Squirrel Ltd. replied August 24, 2022

We're really sorry to hear that you had trouble using our app! We've worked really hard to make the app easy to use. We've tried contacting you multiple times to try and help you with your set-up, but we haven't heard back. If you or any merchant ever has any questions or needs help, we can always be reached at support@spacesquirrel.co

November 15, 2017

Made me upgrade, then I didn't use all of my quota.

NOT happy.

- Lisa
toddletunes.com

Toddle Tunes
United States
About 2 hours using the app
Space Squirrel Ltd. replied July 23, 2019

Hi Lisa,

We're sorry that you didn't have a good experience with our app! We certainly don't want anyone to feel forced to upgrade and offer the free plan if users only need to compress a few images. We have to pay for each image compressed so that's why higher quotas and features are reserved for the paid plans.

We have all sorts of guides and help articles that may help and our support team is always happy to answer any questions you might have. You can reach us anytime at support@spacesquirrel.co

-Dom, Co-Founder

May 24, 2017

Really high quality, thanks! Payment plans are reasonable also

Coresteady
United Kingdom
3 minutes using the app
February 4, 2018

it did 1 product pic (the main one) but not the additional ones. Not at all intuitive and confusing to use.

Marytea
Canada
About 1 hour using the app
Space Squirrel Ltd. replied July 23, 2019

Hi there,

We're really sorry that you had a poor experience with our app. One thing we work really hard on is improving the user experience and we've recently introduced an all new dashboard that is much easier to navigate. We also have Getting Started Guides and other resources that can help you use and navigate our app.

We would love to help you use our app and if you have questions, please reach out at support@spacesquirrel.co and we'd be happy to help.

-Dom, Co-Founder

Edited April 26, 2017

Doesn't work with our image.

We wanted to make sure the compression algorithm for lossless was powerful enough (30% announced sounds quite low in comparison to tools like TinyPng), so we ran a trial on one specific product.
We optimized all images, lossless at first, then a few with lossy compression.

The app says xx% compression, but Google Page Speed says nothing changed.
Ok, we downloaded the so said "compressed" images, from Shopify (changing the ?variable to make sure we have the latest version)... Nothing changed.
So, let's try to download the preview image displayed on screen that is supposed to show a comparison between the old and the new image.
Surprise... Same image, same size.

The comparison tool is very fancy, but both images are not on the same layer, the second image has a small offset of a few pixels, so it gives the impression the image is not identical, but it is.

Again, it might just be a bug, but the fact the tool says the image was compressed by "xx%", and that the comparison tool second image is offset a bit is not reassuring.

Edit:
I'm suspending my judgment temporarily. We've been in touch with the developers and it looks like our image are already too optimized for their app to have any significant effect on one hand, and that Shopify is messing up with optimized images (increasing their size) on its end.

For now, my first conclusion is that this app is pointless for those who know how to save their images (photoshop, gimp, or recompressed with online tools like TinyPNG) because Shopify already has its own algorithm.
Since Shopify algorythm increase the size of overoptimized images, negating the benefit of this app, it sounds pointless.
See here about image compression issues with Shopify: https://ecommerce.shopify.com/c/ecommerce-discussion/t/shopify-image-quality-optimization-round-2-with-stats-38-improvement-304813

We're in touch with the developpers, if something come up, I'll update my review;
Until then: I do not recommend the app to merchants already saving their images for internet use with proper comrpession.

Seido Shop
Japan
About 1 hour using the app
January 13, 2018

Quickly installed and compressed my images! Saved a little space!

Hairberry Co
United States
1 minute using the app
January 14, 2020

App did not work. for me at all. When I attempted to compress my photos it would keep saying retry and would never compress the images. I tried the automatic compression and it still wouldn't work. Waist of time and money. Also, it will only compress product images, not blog post images.

Handmade Haven
United States
21 minutes using the app
August 27, 2021

I installed the app on my shopify store, but after I tried to open it the only thing I see is a blank white page. I don't think it works

Shanaya & Elina
United States
9 minutes using the app
Space Squirrel Ltd. replied October 1, 2021

Hello,
We're really sorry to hear that you had this happen while using our app! We'd love to help you get this solved - our app had been up and running normally at this time, so it may have been a browser error.

We work really hard to make Crush.pics a high quality app and take any instance of app-failure seriously and work to get that resolved ASAP.

We've emailed you a few times but haven't heard back yet - you can reach us
any time at support@spacesquirrel.co

Dom, co-founder

January 23, 2018

Not impressed. It counts the size of your entire image towards the quota, not just how much it saved. If my images were already all optimized, I'd run out of bandwidth, even though I shouldn't, because there's nothing to optimize.

Wemakehomes
Romania
9 minutes using the app