Overall rating
4.7
Counts per rating level
  • 81% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 11% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 1 stars
Edited May 18, 2020

Autopilot didn't work. It said "internal error". It looks promising though, hopefully they get it fixed soon.
Update: Their support addressed the issue which was caused by 280 characters Twitter text limit. Thanks

Goods Of Japan
Japan
4 days using the app
February 5, 2022

So far so good, seems pretty easy to use. Haven't really tested its capabilities in full though looks great so far. I'd really like to see some other social media platforms on here though, as it only covers Facebook and Twitter. I wish there were others like Pinterest, Etsy, Tumblr, Flickr, etc. to assist with gaining more exposure, though it is pretty good so far.

Bannard Fashion
Australia
4 days using the app
OneCommerce replied February 25, 2022

Hi Bannard Fashion store admin,
This is Windy from Socialhead Team.

First of all, I sincerely thank you for your review.

We really appreciate your feedback and comment about your experience when using our app and loving our support.

Once again, thank you for trusting our app.

Besides, we are developing a blog about all the useful information that can assist you in doing your business on social networks with all the apps from Socialhead.

Please refer to more details here: https://socialhead.io/blog/

SocialPublish - Auto Post Facebook, Twitter
Best Regards!
Windy

June 3, 2022

It is great app and very helpful. the interface is very simple and user friendly. Thank you so much.

WoW! Gotta Have It!
United States
3 days using the app
OneCommerce replied June 3, 2022

Hello WoW! Gotta Have It! admin,

This is Felix from Socialhead Team.

First of all, I sincerely thank you for your review.

We really appreciate your feedback and comment about your experience when using our app and loving our support.

If you need any further assistance, please let us know via our live chat or email us at support@socialhead.io

Besides, we are developing a blog about all the useful information that can assist you in doing your business on social networks with all the apps from Socialhead.

Please refer to more details here: https://socialhead.io/category/shopify/

Best Regards !

Felix
Socialpublish - Auto Post Facebook, Twitter

January 26, 2023

ok im new and learning so the easier the better and perfect products. i just started to import things.

SavoryNation
Romania
3 days using the app
OneCommerce replied January 31, 2023

Hi SavoryNation admin,

Here's Ocean from Socialpublish. Thank you so much for your greathearted review.

Besides that, to make your experience better, we will keep on improving our services for valued Socialpublish users like you. Thank you for the loving words you've shared, and thank you for being the best part of Socialpublish

Also, I highly recommend you to check our blog for the latest news regarding not only Socialpublish, but also other of our OneCommerce applications - a leading eCommerce Solution Platform, more than that at https://onecommerce.io/blog/

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us via our live chat, or email us at support@socialhead.io

Regards,
Ocean
Socialpublish by OneCommerce

September 2, 2020

I love this app but today it is not working. I am a paying customer and tried to contact support but it says that something went wrong. I also tried to delete it and reinstall it but it wont even reinstall!

Old McDonald Goods
United States
About 2 months using the app
July 4, 2020

I have been using this app for a couple of month and now its just not working. I tried reconnect but i doesn't even show me the dashboard.

Brands by Sag
United States
About 2 months using the app
OneCommerce replied July 6, 2020

Hello Brands by Sag owner,

We sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had with our app. This mistake was on our end, and it is not a mistake that we take lightly.

According to our technical team, the error was due to the server being overloaded. As a result of this issue, we upgraded the whole server to fix the error completely. You can now log in and use all features normally.

Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention, because it will help us improve our user experience. We highly appreciate your feedback. If you have any further concern, please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Warmest regards,
Vivian

Edited March 15, 2021

Everything Social head have his been really good to me. thank you guys for creating something wonderful like this.

Arsthetc Doles
United States
26 days using the app
OneCommerce replied March 15, 2021

Hi Arsthetc Doles store admin,

Here's Annie from Customer Support of Socialhead team. Thank you so much for your feedback and for choosing our app.

We are working hard everyday to bring you the best experience. If you need any further help while using our app, please don't be hesitate to contact to us.

Besides, we are developing a blog about all the useful information that can assist you in doing your business on social networks with all the apps from Socialhead. Please refer to more details here: https://socialhead.io/blog/

Warmest Regards,
Annie

February 5, 2023

طبيق يأتيك بالكثير من الخصائص المصممة لتجعلك تستفيد بأكبر قدر ممكن من جهاز خاصتك. لتدخل إلى كل التطبيقات الصغيرة حتى تتمكن من ...

متجر بيوتي سنتر
Saudi Arabia
1 day using the app
OneCommerce replied February 5, 2023

Hi there,

Here's Felix from Socialpublish. Thank you so much for your greathearted review.

Besides that, to make your experience better, we will keep on improving our services for valued Socialpublish users like you. Thank you for the loving words you've shared, and thank you for being the best part of Socialpublish

Also, I highly recommend you to check our blog for the latest news regarding not only Socialpublish, but also other of our OneCommerce applications - a leading eCommerce Solution Platform, more than that at https://onecommerce.io/blog/

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us via our live chat, or email us at support@socialhead.io

Regards,
Felix
Socialpublish by OneCommerce

Edited January 18, 2020

Review update: The support replied to my initial review, and hopefully they will implement the suggested points.
__________________________________
Initial review: I tested the app so this is what I think:

1. I can't add a photo gallery or choose any consecutive images e.g. 2nd, 5th as I have multiple in the listing that I want to publish.

2. Limited to two social accounts only FB and Twitter. There are plenty of others that should be on the list, at least 5 to 10 most popular.

3. There is no URL shortener available e.g. bitly.com, so I can't link to my shortener account to either uses generic Bitly or custom domain shortener links, because original link display looks impractical as it is too lengthy. If you do happen to hook-up Bitly, then make sure you have the feature to customise shortened URL within the same App interface, not to jump between windows for a custom URL and then get back and re-paste manually again.

4. I guess, no engagement metric, nothing. No CTR, efficiency measures, reach views.

Hope you to improve it, thank you.

A to Z Gadgets UK
United Kingdom
About 22 hours using the app
OneCommerce replied January 13, 2020

Hi there,

Here is David from SocialHead Customer Support team, and I do really appreciate your feedback to our app.
1. Selecting the different image in the list of product images is in our product roadmap and it will be available in the next versions. Stay tuned, please.
2. You can connect many social accounts to Social Publish. For example: 5 Twitter profiles, 3 Facebook pages would count as 8 social accounts in total.
3. Sounds interesting! We've noted it in our roadmap and hope it will be available soon.
4. We're updating this feature and will release in the next versions, estimated on Feb 1, 2020.

If you have any ideas about the app, please let us know. By the way, we hope you change your mind to re-review the app at higher rating. We're greatly encouraged by your positive 5* stars. Thank you very much.

Best,

August 11, 2021

This has to be the slowest loading app I have ever used. It took literally 5 minutes to get the dashboard and setting to load. Sorry but this is 2021 we should not have to wait more than a few seconds for the app to load in shopify.

Coastal Gifts Inc
United States
25 days using the app
OneCommerce replied August 12, 2021

Hi Coastal Gifts Inc store admin,
This is Windy from Socialhead Team.

I sincerely thank you for leaving a review. We take customer satisfaction seriously and are glad to hear from you.

Firstly, I would like to apologize for your incomplete experience. I want you to know that we appreciate your feedback. It will allow us to resolve any problems that occur and help us to improve our services.

As far as we've found out and investigated the cause, we've been aware of this error and fixed it. We hope you can check our email.

Once again, we are very sorry for this inconvenience.

If you need any further assistance, don't hesitate to contact us.
Best Regards!
Windy