Google & YouTube , 7,754 reviews

Overall rating
4.4
Counts per rating level
  • 69% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 12% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its user-friendly interface, easy installation, and seamless integration with Google Shopping and YouTube ads. It's praised for providing valuable insights, assisting with ad creation, and increasing store reach. The customer support is responsive and helpful. While it effectively syncs products, some merchants reported issues with large product volumes. It's recommended for its comprehensive tracking features and ability to embed stores in YouTube, proving effective in increasing sales traffic.

June 23, 2021

please help me how to edit expire date in content API my products is expiring after one month. this app automatically add wrong expiry date

Primecrave
India
Almost 3 years using the app
Google LLC replied June 23, 2021

Hi there, Spencer here from Shopify. Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Google Channel with us. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us. I'm sorry to hear about the struggles you are having with your feed, there sounds like there is an issue there that we will want to look at for you. I'm going to look into this further and follow up with you in an email to open up the lines of communication here in order to help you further. Spencer | Shopify Support

March 17, 2022

It has been almost 2 months since GTIN issue but no fix. The app loses alot of value without GTIN synchronizing properly

The Costume Shop
United States
Almost 3 years using the app
Google LLC replied March 18, 2022

Hi there,

Nate here from Shopify. Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your experience with the Google channel app. We definitely want to make sure that you get the support you need regarding the issues you are facing with the Google Channel. I'll be sending an email out to open up the lines of communication and help where I can.

- Nate | Shopify

November 26, 2021

My Merchant Center account may be suspended, Shipping costs inaccurate (inconsistencies between flow and checkout pages on my website)
it's not normal

Bobishop : Epicerie et produits cosmétiques Afro antillais en ligne
France
Almost 3 years using the app
Google LLC replied November 29, 2021

Hey there,

Adil here from Shopify. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We definitely want to make sure that you get the support you need regarding the issue you are facing with the Google Channel. I'll be sending an email out to you shortly to open up lines of communication. I look forward to communicating with you there.

Adil | Shopify

Edited April 21, 2023

Meh causes more problems than benefits.

I spend countless hours "fixing errors" then I get any benefits from it.

FUREVER Faux Fur
Canada
Over 2 years using the app
Google LLC replied April 21, 2023

Hi there,

Ashley here from Shopify support, thank you for taking the time to install and use the Google channel on your store and leave a review. I'm going to follow up with you over email to open up the lines of communication and see how we can provide support for you on this.

Ashley | Shopify

October 24, 2022

I wish Google would work with independent distributors. Google isn't very user friendly with Shopify online stores who are distributors of products. These products have a logo and the company requires the logo to be a part of the picture. Google doesn't support pictures with logos, and therefore a lot of my products are advertised.

VJ Bedazzled Jewelry
United States
Over 2 years using the app
Google LLC replied October 26, 2022

Hi there,

Charlotte here from Shopify support, thank you for taking the time to install and use the Google channel on your store and leave a review. You are correct that one of Google's requirements is to have images that are free from logos or watermarks. You can learn more about this policy here: https://bit.ly/3f9mtvb. While Shopify does not have any control over these policies, I am going to follow up with you via email to see if there is any way I can support you further.

Charlotte | Shopify

Edited April 14, 2020

Really easy to roll out and start using. Three main critique points:
Uses weird ID's in feed and ecomm_prodid making it difficult to work in tandem with other tools and supplementary feeds.
Second is a general Shopify issue: Bulk editing is very ineffective!
Third: No control of when products are synced, and which fields. E.g Google Product Category is not synced and sunk hours into setting them!

NORDcraft
Denmark
Over 2 years using the app
Google LLC replied April 15, 2020

Hi there, thank you so much for your review today! My name is Jonathan and I'm a member of Shopify's Support team.

We really appreciate hearing from our merchants, as it helps us to continue working with our developers to improve the Google Shopping app.

There is a few points here to unpack, so I'm going to follow up with you directly via e-mail! Keep an eye out for that.

I will mention that we use specific Shopify Product IDs to help us clearly identify the product data that we're importing to the Google Merchant Center. This is important since we want to be able to easily identify what product data is from us and what product data is from a third-party feed.

As for the application failing to sync certain fields, this is certainly not what is expected! I'll speak to you more about this via e-mail and our next steps, but just know that all Google fields should be synced without a problem. I'm sorry that that error has affected you!

With that being said, I will be shooting you an e-mail later today with more information and next steps!

Talk soon,

Jonathan E. | Shopify Support Guru

March 28, 2020

Lot of issues with the feed, lack of support. I recommend not to use non shopify app if you can avoid it

finding.wine
United States
Over 2 years using the app
Google LLC replied April 1, 2020

Hi there! My name is Jonathan and I'm a member of Shopify's support team. Thank you for your feedback!

I'm sorry to hear that you've been struggling with the sync between Google and Shopify and that our support team hasn't been able to resolve this problem. I'm going to take a look at your store for you and determine if I can locate the issue!

I will follow up with an e-mail to offer some more support once I investigate the situation! Look out for that message.

We'll chat soon,

Jonathan E. | Shopify Support Guru

May 13, 2020

I followed the process but don’t understand what I have set up. Some more information would be helpful during the process.

Huda’s Healing & Health
United Kingdom
Over 2 years using the app
Google LLC replied May 21, 2020

Hi there! My name is Jonathan and I'm a member of Shopify's support team. Thank you for leaving this feedback! We really appreciate hearing from our merchants.

I can appreciate looking for some more information about the set-up process! I have some great resources I'd love to share with you. I'm going to send them your way via e-mail, so look out for that message!

Talk soon,
Jonathan E. | Shopify Support Guru

April 7, 2023

Doesn't work well. Shopify, you built it, please fix it.

I tried support but that didn't help so I will write this review.

You have a mandatory field on the product page, why I don't know, it is called "vendor". Ok? Well some of us are small businesses who sell one of a kinds. Vintage would also have issues with this.

So you force us to add a "vendor", I have used my shop name. Well, Google takes that information and adds it as BRAND. There is no brand! So they punish me and keep asking for a GTIN etc. I had to go to the merchant center and change every product. Tick off the box they have, for "custom or vintage". Days later it is back to what it was!!! I assume because it keeps pulling the information from Shopify?

Why don't you add a box on the product page, where we can check "custom or vintage" because there is no brand and not force us to write something that isn't true? Also, product category should work as it does on Google, so we can easily pick category. I get warnings all the time, I click on the yellow google, the window to edit pops up and same thing there. No suggestion about category. Do you really think we know those long categories? I tried adding the number I knew it was, didn't work.

Your programmers are changing the dashboard weekly, unnecessary changes and not always for the better, how about fixing actual issues? Adding things we can use instead of meaningless moving things around so we can't find them?

Just asking!

I guess I may have to remove the app and try something else. i am not sure what to do right now. I really wanted this to work. I can't believe this hasn't been known before and fixed. So did you know and never did anything about it or weren't you aware?

Energy Peace Shop
United States
About 2 years using the app
Google LLC replied April 11, 2023

Hi there,

Mario here from Shopify. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We definitely want to make sure that you get the support you need and that your feedback is heard - I'll be in touch with you via email shortly to discuss this further.

Mario | Shopify

Edited June 1, 2022

I have been using this app for nearly three years. There has recently, not sure how recent, been an update to the Google Shopping app that has changed to bulk editor. This change has not only increased the time to make bulk changes with an infinite scroll, but also while loosing some flexibility in the interface. Additionally, I noticed that a lot of my product attributes have been automatically changed without my consent. All of my apparel now says "infant" and all the genders on my clothing were switched to "Male". What a terrible experience. I will now spend hours correcting all this data. In addition to hours more spending on adding new items. Stop the infinite scrolling, bring back the page numbers for starters. It is too much data to compute with larger catalogs. Update on 6/1: This has been awful. The Shopify team reached out to me after my review, and after I spent over 24 hours of continuous work on my Google Merchant Center fields, to state they "fixed" the problems with the attributes shifting from Adult to Infant, and the Genders switching to Male. Their "fix" reverted all of my hard work back to its broken state of Male and Infant. I spent HOURS of my life changing them back to the right age group and genders. This has been terrible. Since I have highlighted this issue, their support staff has not responded to any of my follow-up. It's like they made my life more difficult and just forget about my business. Which has had an impact on sales due to this problem.

Plain Clothing Store
United States
About 2 years using the app