Reviews (538)

Overall rating
3.2
Counts per rating level
  • 57% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 22% of ratings are 1 stars
December 17, 2021

I seem to have lost the majority of my subscribers since this change was made. This needs fixing asap and it's not good enough.

Beeboobuzz
United Kingdom
Over 2 years using the app
Mailchimp replied December 17, 2021

We’d certainly want to investigate further if you’re missing subscribers. Can you drop us a note at mc4shopifysupport@mailchimp.com?

November 5, 2021

I was using Mailchimp for 3 years with no issues up until today. Like normal, I scheduled a campaign last night with my correct number of subscribers and this morning my campaign delivered to only a fraction of my subbies because 1,200 subscribers had been deleted by Mailchimp. What is going on? This is the busiest shopping season of the year--Can someone at Mailchimp reverse this error?

Wraps Adorn LLC
United States
Over 2 years using the app
Mailchimp replied November 18, 2021

Hi Wraps Adorn, thanks for your patience while we researched your comments. By chance, did you have the old (Legacy) Mailchimp for Shopify app installed previously? If so, and it was deleted recently, that would've caused data to be "deleted" in Mailchimp. We realize the inconvenience and frustration this has caused and have made an update to the legacy application to eliminate this behavior going forward.

The good news is that resyncing your store should fix any missing data. We'll grab your customer's order information and opt-in preference and sync them with your Audience. Follow this guideline for set up: https://mailchimp.com/help/connect-shopify/. Please reach out to our support team anytime if you see anything different after a resync is completed and we will be happy to help!

December 1, 2021

Do not download and DELETE this app from your Shopify store immediately. They have resubscribed thousands of customers ranging back from 5+ years ago who have unsubscribed from my emails. Upon emailing them about it and asking them to call me immediately, they informed me that phone calls are only for premium plans. WHAT? Had to delete it immediately, and continue to apologize to thousands of customers.

Twinkled T
United States
Over 2 years using the app
Edited May 9, 2019

It might sync emails to a list, but automations do not work. Shopify, even though pushes them as a solution, have no support on it and it takes about 7 hours to sync your shop.

REPLYING TO RESPONSE: No Mailchimp is not experts at this. I asked them questions about their own blog post and their EXACT reply both times "WE DO NOT OFFER SUPPORT ON THIRD PARTY SOFTWARE". I asked for help with my automation emails and their reply both times "WE DO NOT OFFER SUPPORT ON THIRD PARTY SOFTWARE".

2nd Reply: Yes, I have gone over it 3 times and have asked MC directly with no success. Only abandon cart now works.

Karla and Co.
United States
Over 2 years using the app
Mailchimp replied May 9, 2019

Thanks for reaching out, sorry you're having trouble with those. If you're not already following, Mailchimp put out a great how-to guide on switching over to ShopSync. In there, you'll see a migration guide that should help you get those automations restarted: https://mailchimp.com/help/switch-shopify-shopsync/#Migrate_Your_E-commerce_Automations

If for any reason they don't restart, you'll want to reach out to Mailchimp's support team for further assistance, as they are the experts in the MailChimp application, and best equipped to assist you with those needs.

Let us know if you have any follow up questions, happy to help anytime.

REPLY:
Have you run the migration as noted?

Edited May 5, 2019

This is by far the worst App I have ever had it doesn't do what it says does, entering valid email addresses that are not spam or bot it chooses what it wants to send to mailchimp. So you end up missing out on sign ups if you don't closely check your list. Shopsync solution was to do a re sync that doesn't work either. Even worse now the original Sync has completely messed up my customer date order sequence in my admin section and shopsync are avoiding fixing this. Now when I select the order newest customers I get random mixture of old and new what a balls up. Now I am trying to get them to fix this they avoiding the issue. Apps like this should be banned. This whole experience has also put me off Mailchimp the whole thing has been nothing but a drama and complete waste of time.

Lizandez Pty Ltd
Australia
Over 2 years using the app
June 17, 2021

We have experienced the same horrific issue of repeat customers getting booted from our email list if they do not continually opt in with each transaction, and if we don't continually opt in for them when checking them out via the Shopify POS. This is such a costly "glitch." I see your response and that Shopify is supposedly looking into this. But, this response has been posted for months. Is there really no fix yet from Shopify?

Bolt Fabric Boutique
United States
About 2 years using the app
Mailchimp replied June 28, 2021

Hi there, see the reply we posted to "DaVallia" below your review, the situation has been resolved by Shopify. If you'd like to test and update your review it would be much appreciated. If you still experience any issues, don't hesitate to reach out to our support team at support@shopsync.io.

July 27, 2020

I dont know why but select list option is not not showing any list because of which iam unable to sync anything to mailchimp and complete the process.
I need help asap to understand what the problem can be so that i can sync and start using mailchimp. Hope shopsync will look into my issue.

Flawless Coat Boutique
India
Almost 2 years using the app
Mailchimp replied August 27, 2020

Hi there, thank you for the feedback. We saw your review and it sounds like your issue may be related to a browser caching issue or just a temporary problem with Shopify's app store. We'd suggest clearing your cookies/cache or trying another browser entirely. If the problem persists, don't hesitate to contact us for further troubleshooting at support@shopsync.io.

June 13, 2021

After an existing subscribed customer buys anything, it changes that subscriber in Mailchimp to a "Transactional Only" customer. Been a nightmare to resolve and re-add all of our great customers.

DaVallia
United States
Almost 2 years using the app
Mailchimp replied June 17, 2021

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. After extensive testing, we've figured out how this could be happening after finding a bug in Shopify during checkout. We've been in contact with their technical team, and they have acknowledged this is a glitch on their end. They are working hard to deploy a fix for this problem.

Here's why you are having the previous subscribers moved to unsubscribed (or transactional).

1. Let's say jim@gmail.com checks out in your store and opts out of marketing on their first checkout. In Shopify, this customer is NOT subscribed at this point.
2. Later on, you decide to connect ShopSync with an existing Mailchimp Audience.
3. jim@gmail.com IS currently subscribed in Mailchimp in this example - perhaps you gathered their email address previously via another platform or curated them from a pop-up/landing page or social media.
4. With ShopSync now connected, jim@gmail.com comes back to place an order for the second time, and this time they opt-in at checkout.
5. Here's the bug...Shopify doesn't update that customer to be subscribed to marketing on the second order.
6. Because the user is still deemed to be opted out of marketing, Shopify passes this information to Mailchimp as unsubscribed; if they don't complete the checkout, they would be marked as transactional.

The only workaround we can advise is to resubscribe the customer via the Shopify admin manually. This action will POST a customer update to Mailchimp with the correct subscriber status to your Audience.

Thanks again for the feedback, but please understand the unsubscribe behavior is not because of ShopSync specifically. Because of the bug, any app listening to a customer update from Shopify would pass the wrong information at this point on the customer's marketing status.

We don't have visibility into Shopify's product release or bug fix roadmap, but I'm happy to reach back out directly when this issue is patched. In the interim, please let us know if there's anything else we can do to help.

**UPDATE**
Shopify has notified us that this issue has been resolved with previous customers as noted above. They will no longer be unsubscribed in this scenario. We have tested ourselves and is working as expected.

July 21, 2021

WORST APP EVER. We had a store that wasn't even published yet and it started adding THOUSANDS of "customers" (very obviously spam) which it then synced to Mailchimp - which costs money to hold more subscribers! Such a waste of time. I don't even know why Shopify allows this garbage to be listed. I made a video showing some of the spam that was imported by ShopSync and also showing the store had no orders (again, it wasn't published yet). Take a look for yourself: https://www.screencast.com/t/eXDqBfuv8

LabOvens.net
United States
Almost 2 years using the app
Mailchimp replied July 21, 2021

Hello, we saw your review and wanted to respond right away. We're syncing these contacts to Shopify because they're in your Mailchimp Audience. This is done to keep both Mailchimp and Shopify with the correct subscriber status. You can learn more about how we sync here: https://support.shopsync.io/using-shopsync/syncing-information.

Do you by chance have a pop-up form or opt-in form somewhere that is collecting these spam addresses? Feel free to contact us for any more questions or comments at support@shopsync.io. We're happy to help.

May 16, 2022

Having several issues with the integration with the subscribe options on our site. Have contacted mailchimp but do not have the best response time.

NSOD Clothing
United States
Almost 2 years using the app