Overall rating
4.8
Counts per rating level
  • 88% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its extensive customization capabilities and user-friendly interface. It's particularly beneficial for those offering personalized products, with a time-saving feature of mass applying templates. The seamless integration with Shopify and compatibility with various themes is a plus. Support is praised for their promptness and effectiveness, including live chat and instructional videos. The free plan, allowing testing of all features for one product, is also valued.

February 29, 2024

Your app is not working, The install page doesn't load.

Virya Retails
India
1 day using the app
Product Customizer replied March 1, 2024

Hi Virya Retails,

I'm sorry that you experienced this issue with our install page. Our app experienced a temporary outage due to a database migration that only lasted about an hour. Still, we apologize for the inconvenience it caused for you. We noticed you had not contacted our support team before leaving this review - a member of our team has sent you an email addressing your concerns and offering assistance with setting up the application. I will also reach out to you personally.

December 5, 2023

App is well-designed, but not intuitive to setup initially. Also, discovered a terrible bug that causes massive multiplicative cart checkout totals when adding the option with Product Customizer to the cart. Unfortunately, you are blaming this on a recent update with Shopify, but Shopify is saying to speak to you as the vendor.
I am not used to getting this runaround. This is a critical issue that is preventing us from making sales in Canadian (CAD) dollars. We had just released our product and we have this less than ideal experience with Product Customizer, which is a shame :-(. We have 8 days left on the trial, and so far not a good experience. We really wanted this to work.

The Bird Board
Canada
About 1 month using the app
Product Customizer replied December 7, 2023

Hi Bird Board,

We are very sorry that we were not able to resolve your problem in a timely manner. We are aware of the issue with Shopify Markets. Our team went in and resolved the issue, which stemmed from fixing the Item customization product price at $25 for each market when it should only be $0.01 we have adjusted this for you and are terribly sorry about the delay.

The Support Team

August 29, 2023

Customers can select a bundle and select the options they want however upon the invoice the selections the customers have made do not appear on your invoice

Summer Set Lashes
Australia
19 days using the app
Product Customizer replied August 31, 2023

Hello Summer Set Lashes,

We are sorry that our invoice did not contain the detail that you wanted for the bundle you selected.

From our internal investigation, we noticed that over the last 10 days, you have worked with all of our Customer Support team members to assist you each step of the way. We noted that our app brought all customization data to checkout, however our team noticed that you had a bundle feature that appears only at checkout and that may be the issue you are experiencing.

We would appreciate the opportunity to do some test without that feature being enabled to assist you. We will be reaching out to you to go over this testing and the results it brings to help identify where the concerns may be.

Stephanie and the Customer Support Team

September 14, 2023

It's ugly, hard to customize and doesn't have conditional options.

The Memori
United States
28 minutes using the app
Product Customizer replied September 15, 2023

Hi The Memori,

We’re sorry to hear that you had this experience with our application, but we must disagree with what you’ve written here.

Firstly, we offer free onboarding sessions, and we reached out to you within half an hour of the time you installed our application. We did not receive a response but will be reaching out to you again to arrange a session with a member of our support team who can help to ensure that the app is properly configured for your store.

Secondly, our app does offer conditional options, but the initial setup must be completed correctly for this feature to work. Again, our team can easily assist you with setup. We hope to be able to contact you shortly to resolve the issues that you are describing here.

Edited November 30, 2021

Update 11/27/2021. After updating our site to a newer theme, many of the items did not work with the product customizer. The support is responsive at times and non responsive as well. -----------------------
The team has fixed the issue. If you having a problem where the customization is sold out at check out, please make sure the Item Customization is not modified and set to Archived and Draft. When this is set to archive, it will show that it is Out of stock.

HappyLaulea
United States
About 6 years using the app
Product Customizer replied May 3, 2021

Hi HappyLaulea,

Thank you for your review. We are so happy to have you as our customer, Our goal is always to go above and beyond. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us in support at any time so we can exceed your expectations in the future.

`Harish - Customer Success Team

August 26, 2020

This App used to be brilliant with no issues what's so ever, Something as changed and this app is so unreliable these days you add a product and 45 mins you still can't add the Personalization fields "Product Not Found"

SportsGiftsDirect.co.uk
United Kingdom
Almost 5 years using the app
Edited September 16, 2020

This App is not consistent anymore, Used to be good somedays better than others, It's really slowing us down adding products as the product data as become extremely slow at updating!!!!!! it can take up to an hour for to be able to to add the personalisation fields for a product!!!!!!!

Update Sept 2020 - Still Having Issues

Gifts24-7.co.uk
United Kingdom
Almost 4 years using the app
Product Customizer replied January 16, 2020

Hello!
This is Sean, the Customer Success Manager with Product Customizer.

Thanks for leaving this review. Early this morning we became aware of a rare server "backlog" in the middle of the night. We have worked hard this morning to clear it out and get it back to normal. Things should be back to normal now. I'll email you directly as well. Thanks for your understanding! We'd love a few more stars on this review if you'll consider it - it makes a big difference with our ranking on the app store.

Thanks very much, I'll keep you updated if there's any other issues!

-Sean H & The Product Customizer Support Team

Edited May 9, 2020

Really not a fan. Often glitchy and can't update. Still shows 1x customization for each $0.01 of cost. (Meaning a $5 engraving fee confuses customers, who are told they purchased 500 engravings). Generally slow support

Elder Pens
United States
About 3 years using the app
Edited November 19, 2015

Nice app and one we've used for quite a while now, very annoying though if you have thousands of products and you decide you need to alter or fine tune the variants, instead of simply changing group set you have to do it one by one taking days.

Also, by now for an app of this age, we would had expected conditional logic to had been developed and optional pricing for variants.

Whtshirtmakers Com
United Kingdom
Almost 2 years using the app
Product Customizer replied March 19, 2020

Hello!
This is Sean, the Customer Success Manager for Product Customizer. We took over this app from the previous owner :)

You left a negative review for Product Customizer a long time ago and I am emailing to see if you wouldn’t mind removing it (or adding more stars)?

We have already made several improvements and fixes to past issues with this app (including new features and 24/7 support) - and it REALLY helps our ranking on the App Store if we can remove the handful of negative reviews.

Please let me know how I can support you and help in return? I appreciate it very much!

-Sean & the Product Customizer Team

November 12, 2017

I requested to stop charging me and even removed the app 'Product Customizer' but I have still been charged $9.99 recently

Shopokarma
Australia
About 1 year using the app
Product Customizer replied March 19, 2020

Hello!
This is Sean, the Customer Success Manager for Product Customizer. We took over this app from the previous owner :)

You left a negative review for Product Customizer a long time ago and I am emailing to see if you wouldn’t mind removing it (or adding more stars)?

We have already made several improvements and fixes to past issues with this app (including new features and 24/7 support) - and it REALLY helps our ranking on the App Store if we can remove the handful of negative reviews.

Please let me know how I can support you and help in return? I appreciate it very much!

-Sean & the Product Customizer Team