AfterShip Returns , 2,210 reviews

Overall rating
4.7
Counts per rating level
  • 78% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 12% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its intuitive interface, easy Shopify integration, and customizable return options. It's praised for streamlining return requests, enhancing customer shopping experience. The support team is noted for their quick and effective problem-solving. Recommended for all business sizes, especially small ones, due to its affordability and functionality. It efficiently manages multiple return types, saving merchants valuable time.

June 22, 2020

I need to contact someone who help me with the app because i don't know how to use it. Please contact me, thanks

Ghiaglasses
United States
7 days using the app
November 12, 2021

The description looks great, but after spening a lot of time trying to make it work I discovered that a lot of things have to be done manually. Even the stock of the returned items has to be changed manually!! You do not see any of the return information in the original order. So there is no integration with Shopify that will help you make returns easier.

LEEZZA
Netherlands
7 days using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied November 12, 2021

Hi,

I can see that the stock of the returned items has to be changed manually and you are not happy with it. It is unfortunate to know that you did not have the best experience using our app.

Your feedback has been registered. Please accept my sincere apology for the experience you had. However, this is not the experience we want to provide to our users.

You are our valued user, and we are committed to providing the best support at all times. Hence we would like to discuss this further with you.

We are available 24/7. You can always contact us via the live chat option available on your account or email us at support@returnscenter.com.

Regards,
Team Returns Center

September 15, 2017

Doesn't allow you to change the email template that autosends to your customer. This is a huge deal. I don't want just anything sent to my customers. Please fix this and we will change our rating.

Darcsport
United States
6 days using the app
July 28, 2020

Not user friendly and customer service is horrible. spent 2 hours building my page, just to not be able to save my progress and have to start over

Adagio California
United States
5 days using the app
June 9, 2017

Awful app. Cannot customize the email. So it says from AFTERSHIP and not our company name. Support takes way to long to answer and they don't have phone support. Do not recommend.

Buddhapants 2
United States
4 days using the app
Edited October 9, 2020

To all shopify store owners: Please do not create an account there! Read through the 1-2 star ratings and you will see that a lot of people are not satisfied with the way they deal with customers. You will not get any answers. If you have problems, it takes at least a week to find a solution. The worst experience I have ever had with Shopify APPS. The support does not want to solve the problems and you get a standard text as an answer. Your profile information will not be deleted if you request it. No idea what they do with this data. Answer to Mudit: I have been working on a solution for 3 days and I have spent at least 10 hours looking for a solution to solve the problem. Because of you we can't process returns and our business suffers. You are not helping me. All you are doing is saying that you are checking. Then I get no answer and have to contact you again. Do you always treat business partners this way?

SEVENHEAVENS
Germany
2 days using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied October 8, 2020

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We’re sorry you had a bad experience. To discuss this further, we have sent you an email on your registered email address.

You can always contact us at support@aftership.com for any queries. We are available 24X7.

Kind regards,
Mudit

December 20, 2021

We had a nightmare time trying to install and ultimately couldn't be comfortable with this app having access to our store and customers. We deleted it.

Dakini
United States
2 days using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied December 20, 2021

Please accept my sincere apology for the experience you had. However, this is not the experience we want to provide to our users.
You are our valued user, and we are committed to providing the best support at all times. Hence we would like to discuss this further with you.
We have assigned a support executive to investigate and resolve your concern.
We regret the inconvenience caused to you.
Regards,
Team Returns Center

May 17, 2021

Be aware they are still charging after you remove the app from your Shopify Store. They ask you to close every single acces of your staff.. closing the service is not enough. I can not imagine if you have so many staff.. And they are not responding basically SCAM.

Pedal Commander
United States
2 days using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied May 17, 2021

Please accept my sincere apology for the experience you had. However, this is not the experience we want to provide to our users.

You are our valued user and we are committed to provide the best support at all times. We are assigning a support executive to investigate and resolve your concern. Please check your inbox, as you will be contacted via email shortly.

We regret the inconvenience caused to you.

Regards,
Neelima Aggarwal
Team Returns Centre

November 19, 2020

Is it just us or the customer support just doesn't exist with this app? Thankfully we found out how bad the support is whilst trialing. Deleting it and never looking this way again.

damn gina
Australia
2 days using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied November 19, 2020

Hello,

Please accept my apology for the experience you had. However, this is not the experience we want to provide to our users.

We work really hard to make our app user friendly and provide a great support experience.

One of the specialists will reach out on priority in order to assist you.

Regards,
Sumit

April 11, 2021

It says there's a free plan available, but after downloading the app I'm being forced to select a "7 day free trial" through a pop up that just won't disappear.

Peach
India
1 day using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied April 11, 2021

It is unfortunate to know that we did not meet your expectations.

A "7 days free trial" is available to make the users explore and experience the features of our app. We will surely get all your issues resolved and make you a happy customer!

One of the experts will reach out to you in order to assist with your queries.

Regards,
Neelima