Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 71% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 18% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its efficient customer support and user-friendly interface. It's praised for reducing the hassle of handling lost, stolen, or damaged packages, saving businesses time and money. Merchants report increased customer satisfaction and conversions since integrating the app. The claim process is efficient, resolving issues promptly. Described as a strategic partner, it provides an extra layer of order protection and meets customer expectations for quick replacements. The service is seen as mutually beneficial, enhancing customer peace of mind while benefiting businesses.

March 4, 2021

Let me start by saying this is a super cool idea and I applaud Route for it. Its something that in concept would be a dream for our company so thanks for dreaming this up Route!!! We started using this App October of 2020, to be honest it felt a bit like a good used car salesperson was selling this to us and everything seemed WAY To good to be true, but we were promised no this is for real. We signed up and it worked amazing for first 2.5 months as insurance. That being said the "used car salesperson" who sold us went dark after we set it up, when we finally located them they got very defensive and seemed hurt that we called them out for not helping us after they sold us the service, and we had 100 percent no support or anyone to reach out to till we continued to be a real squeaky wheel and then were assigned a "Customer Success Manager" "Customer Success Manager" felt a bit like going to the orthodontist where everyone is SOOOO Nice, and has the most amazing teeth you have ever seen and you are like Is this real??? Well like a really good yoga teacher our "Customer Success Manager" was great at platitudes and making it clear they were soooo sorry for the issue and would get it taken care of right away....then would be on vacation for long stretches and not take care of anything... once they returned they would forget our companies issue and we would spend considerable time bringing them back up to speed (mind you this is during a pandemic when our company is short staffed and stressed out trying to make outdoor gear safely in our workshop) And our CSM at Route would get very stressed out that we were frustrated with needing to invest MORE OF OUR VALUABLE time into something we had already told them about. The more we worked with Route the more it almost felt like a needy Child who we were needing to discipline and help shape but at the same time had to tread lightly as to not make them feel bad or to cause them to much work cause then it derailed the whole conversation and things we needed done would not be able to get done. We have been in E commerce 17 years. And as a Small business our customers expect responses from us fast, over the time we have been in business we have seen customers go from a 24 hour email response being seen as fast to them needing it instant through text or chats. When we were sold Route as a solution to our Shipping customer service issues (which to anyone in E commerce we can all agree are lots of the questions we all handle daily) we expected to have quick and reliable customer service from Route as well since they were selling an e commerce experience. Anyone reading this in e commerce can predict when the most shipping is going to be happening and hence the most Customer service needs : ) Well a very large issue for us with Route was Dec - Jan of 2020 much of the Route Team was out getting rad (skiing and doing great things with Family) that I would have loved to be doing myself albeit there was a pandemic and I was stuck triaging to my customers why their claims where not getting processed and my questions to Route where getting auto responses of being out on vacation. While I applaud work life Balance not being able to balance your staffing needs and that is unacceptable, especially for a company to be selling a product to take customer service stress from small businesses and then not really follow through. As I was told my the used car salesperson in our initial sales person "E commerce never sleeps" I could not agree more and as a company servicing that sphere you should structure your claims and customer service people so there is always someone available to help customers 24-7 Late in 2020 Route also changed their terms of use policy very discretely and stopped reimbursing the merchant for the cost of shipping which is very large on our products. This was never publicly addresses in any emails to clients and just processed by changing their website page where they have their terms of use, when I asked about this our rep got very angry and said it was our fault for not paying attention to their terms of use changing. On top of this they also changed how they processed the claims, prior they would sit on them until approved then someone would reorder from route, on their route credit card and we would see a new order with a route billing address to know it was a claim, then without any notice (Aside from the aforementioned change of use policy page on their site) they started putting every claim through as they were filed and we would see an order come in but sometimes paid for other times not paid for, our team would ship an item assuming it was a new order or had been approved as the old route claims worked only to see the claim denied and not paid a week later. To keep training our team to watch for the changes in Route became to much to handle for us. I was told in March of 2021 that this changed back perhaps again so they are reimbursing shipping but honest I don't know anymore and got tired trying to keep up with these folks. Last straw was when we uncovered a glitch in Route. As of March 2021 we have put 1.5 months into working with them on it to have a response that they don't know what is going on. This glitch will overcharge clients double or more in the insurance on occasional orders so we see a $389 Route on one order charges $4.95 for insurance and then a customer reorders and sees insurance of $10.95 or so. I run my business by honestly and while I understood there may be a glitch will say Route did nothing to fix it or address this or to publicly admit there was a glitch to their customers. In fact again they threw this back at us (Actually our customers) for going to fast through checkout and that this was the only way they could replicate the issue and had bigger problems to fix than this, Literally this is what our CSM told us! So apparently its never routes issue, always someone else's fault, and oops don't give them real life feedback or they get their feelings hurt, and they own this huge business but don't have to take the same stress the rest of us business owners do cause, they don't want to? In the days of big tech, VC Capital etc as a USA Manufacturer of High Quality goods perhaps I am just Old School but if I had this much investor Money I would be racing to address these glitches before I continued to push my Used car salespersons to keep collecting more and more accounts, clearly there is not enough roots behind the growing tree above and its becoming more and more unstable. Giving 1 stars instead of 0 only because I do really think Route is onto something but needs to grow up and learn customer service and hard work but then could be a super awesome product and I hope someone with time makes their own shipping insurance company as its a great idea if you have the backbone behind it to support it. In closing I want to note Route has given incentives for others to give them good reviews and this I find dishonest and did not do, instead this is our real life experience

Organic Climbing
United States
8 months using the app
RouteApp LLC replied March 10, 2021

Hi there,

We’re so glad to hear you enjoy Route’s concept. Route prides itself on offering world-class service, and our sincerest apologies for your less-than-ideal experiences otherwise. We empathize with our customers greatly, having started as just a two-person company at a table not long ago. We're always innovating on our concept, and we experience some growing pains of our own.

While one of our Customer Success Managers has been in contact with you to gather additional feedback and dive into the extra charges you are seeing, we’d be happy to address the other concerns raised in your review here.

It appears there were some misunderstandings surrounding CSM transitions and the best point of contact for your business needs and Route support. We are sorry for any confusion caused, particularly around the holiday season. Currently, Route’s Product Support team is online year-round and our Customer Success Managers are allotted optional time off during the holiday season.

Additionally, our apologies for any confusion caused regarding our Resolve via Platform update. While this update eliminated the time, effort, and cost required to resolve customer issues with a replacement order or refund, it did change how we format reimbursements. For a detailed breakdown on how RVP affects billing, read more here: https://help.route.com/hc/en-us/articles/360055934194-Route-Order-Issues-Resolution-Resolve-via-Platform-

We hope this information helps, and we are glad our CSM has been in contact with you for additional support and to find ways we can better fit your business model, needs, and implement your feedback. We have several employees who enjoy bouldering and use your products, and we would love to continue this partnership however possible.

All the best,

Jordan, Customer Service

May 25, 2021

route only replaced 5 packages for us in the last 6 months, our out of pocket for replacements is still astronomical because route doesn't approve MOST claims. their app has been removed from the google play store and we have received constant customer complaints about their lack of service. this company is a scam and shouldn't be on the app store

Restrained Grace
United States
7 months using the app
RouteApp LLC replied June 7, 2021

Hi there,

Thank you for sharing this feedback. At Route, we pride ourselves on offering world-class customer service, and we’re so sorry to hear your experience fell short of expectations. We’d be happy to look into your situation and help or clarify however possible.

After reviewing your customer order issues, we’re showing that those closed or denied were due to the following reasons:

1) Order tracking showing “unfulfilled”.

In such cases, Route will refer the customer to the merchant for a fulfillment update or updated tracking (should the order have been shipped but the tracking not updated). Once the order is fulfilled, Route coverage still applies.

2) The order issue was filed outside of Route’s coverage policy timeframes.

Issues delivered and not received, or delivered and broken, must be filed within 15 days of the delivery date. On lost issues, a customer must file within 30 days of the last tracking update. For a more detailed overview of our policies, please see: https://routeapphelp.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/360041131194-Route-Package-Protection-Policies.

3) After Route reached out for more information, the customer never responded.

In these situations, Route sends two reminder emails every 48 hours. If the customer doesn’t respond within 48 hours of the second reminder email, the ticket is automatically closed. Should the customer eventually respond on these threads, the ticket is then reopened and addressed within 24-48 hours.

4) Tracking update or delivery after an order issue is filed.

When a tracking status is updated or marked as delivered after a customer issue is filed, the customer is notified that their package is on its way or has been delivered, and the ticket is closed.

Our sincerest apologies for any confusion caused regarding the filing process or coverage policies and timeframes.

If there are any you feel any customer issues were wrongfully denied and need to be revisited, please reach out to us at merchantsupport@route.com and we’d be happy to assist. Additionally, we’d be happy to clarify any of the above policies or procedures as needed. Our team has been notified of your feedback and will be on the lookout for any future emails.

Feel free to reach out with any other questions as well. We’d love to help however we can.

All the best,

Jordan, Customer Service

March 1, 2023

Very very disappointed with the service from Route. They increased our prices and broke our check out cart - on chat will raise the issue and the agent then just disconnected the chat without any information or follow up via email

6 months using the app
RouteApp LLC replied March 6, 2023

Hi there,

Thank you for sending in your feedback! We are sorry to hear of any miscommunications or delays while working with our team.

We would be happy to discuss the details of the Premium Rate changes, and the issues surrounding your checkout cart as soon as possible so we can assist with a solution.

Feel free to contact us via chat on our Help Center here: https://merchants.help.route.com/hc/en-us and we will be there to help!

Thank you,
Leea, Customer Service

December 20, 2020

Terrible experience. The app is glitchy, it doesn't handle well order edits. Customer service doesn't reply or sends canned answers. And when a package is lost they DON'T pay! There's always an excuse. I have been dealing with them for 2 months to get paid for a claim. And they didn't approve another claim that should have been. I am pulling this app out of my store.

Astral Spot
6 months using the app
RouteApp LLC replied January 19, 2021

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your candid feedback! We are very sorry to hear that you’ve had a challenging time with claim approvals and app glitches. We would be happy to look into any claims that you feel should have been covered. I’ve notified our team to look out for an email from you at merchantsupport@route.com so we can review our policies and get everything squared away from you.

In the meantime, you can look at our package protection policies here (https://help.route.com/hc/en-us/articles/360041131194-Route-Package-Protection-Policies) on our Help Center. Often times that helps to clear things up, as well!

Hoping your year is off to a great start!

Holly, Customer Support

February 25, 2022

nope, very difficult to get a hold of someone and when you do they tell you to email someone else. It has been 2 months and still have yet to get someone to answer my question.

Son Mias
United States
6 months using the app
RouteApp LLC replied March 10, 2022

Hello there,

Thank you for reaching out. We are sorry you have had trouble reaching out to someone to answer your questions. I do see we had to have our billing department look over those charges for you and a customer success manager will be reaching out to go over any discrepancies. You can also access your billing information here: https://dashboard.route.com/admin/reimbursements

We truly appreciate your patience and will be talking with you soon!

Bianca, customer service

Edited December 3, 2020

They placed an order for our customer who lost her package WITHOUT paying. Customer service has no response when asked about the detail of the issue/payment. Feel frustrated about the service." More than a week passed, I have not got my reimbursement back yet even after everything they requested set up, no direct response to my question. Really bad service!

TokTok Beauty
United States
6 months using the app
RouteApp LLC replied November 24, 2020

Hi there,

Thanks for your review. I’m so sorry your experience was less than perfect, but I’d love to help clarify. We have recently made an important automation update that slightly affects how Route-covered reorders and refunds are recorded.

This update - Resolve via Platform (RVP) - allows us to process replacement orders and refunds at the click of a button via Shopify for a much faster resolution time. These orders and refunds are still covered by Route, but credited weekly back to your Route bill. While the format of reimbursements has changed, Route still works as promised.

For more details on how RVP affects your billing, please read more here: https://help.route.com/hc/en-us/articles/360055934194-Route-Order-Issues-Resolution-Resolve-via-Platform-

If you need anything else, feel free to reach out to merchantsupport@route.com and we will get you taken care of as soon as possible! I have notified our team to be on the lookout for any future emails.


Jordan, Customer Service

February 12, 2020

Great idea but we do not understand why it has to be a physical product at checkout. It creates a multiple of issues. For example bundle discounts buy 3 items and save it counts route insurance. There is more always shows on what else would you like buy no way to exclude it. The headaches are too much to handle

Cali Tiger
6 months using the app
Edited May 13, 2021

Absolute rip off. My customer received her crystal which was damaged in transit at the tip. They claim it is only "cosmetic" because the item is still usable but that would mean any of my crystals technically would never be covered as all of the damage would be "cosmetic." Now my customer has paid for a service and they are being ripped off since Route won't cover it. Personally I feel like this is a big oversight on their part. Not all items damage the same way. Be cautious when downloading this and helping your customers be ripped off. NEW EDIT: as you can see in their answer below they did resolve my orignal issue but that is because I threatened to call the BBB on them, not out of the goodness of their heart. Damage is damage even if it is just a chip so their policies allow them to accept or deny claims at their discretion and I am assuming its usually denied. I cancelled them on my shop because they have changed a lot of their policies including that if a package is marked as stolen customers may have to file a report with the police. I have a lot of black customers and I would NEVER ask them to make contact with the police for something as little and stupid as a lost package when Shipsurance does not require this. I also just had an international customer have their claim denied which I am currently trying to dispute. He thought it was lost in customs so waited to file a claim in the hopes it would arrive and now they have denied him saying he waited too long. With COVID and extended wait times for international shipments it seems like AGAIN they just do not want to pay out for services they have been paid for. Absolutely don't deal with these people. They are a total rip off. Second edit: They will not cover my international shipment that was lost in transit. If I had insured it through Shipsurance for $0.70 I would have not had to pay out over $100 to my customer who spent THEIR OWN money on Route's product.

crystal cavern imports
United States
6 months using the app
RouteApp LLC replied March 8, 2021

Hi there,

Thanks so much for your candid feedback. Route prides itself on offering top-notch customer service to our merchants, and we are so sorry your experience fell short.

I’m showing that the customer in question submitted a photo in which no damage is visible, and that the specialist made a cosmetic damage call based on the photos provided.

The customer and yourself responded mentioning that the damage was indeed not cosmetic and would fall under Route policy. With that additional information, it appears our specialist was able to get managerial approval to cover a refund for you customer.

Our sincerest apologies for any confusion or misunderstanding. Per Route policy we cover damage that renders an item unusable, and not minor cosmetic scratches or dings: https://help.route.com/hc/en-us/articles/360041131194-Route-Package-Protection-Policies

We understand many merchants sell specialty products such as artwork, crystals, etc… and our team is always happy to work with merchants to find the best solution for their products.

Again, we’re so sorry your experience fell short of expectations, but we’re happy we were able to take care of your customer.

We would love to continue our partnership, and are always available to discuss coverage options on your crystals. If you are interested in continuing but would like to explore how Route will best work for your store, please reach out to csm@route.com and we’d be happy to assist.

Hope you had a lovely weekend,

Jordan, Customer Service

November 11, 2021

PLEASSSSE whatever you do, DO NOTTT get this app!! I've had this app for a few months and everything was going great until I had my first claim. They refunded the customer FROM MY ACCOUNT, without MY KNOWLEDGE. You can't call them only email. Once I emailed them about the refund. I deleted the app. I received a email about getting reimbursed for the refund and I needed to make sure that my account information was up to date. An hour after I updated my information, my card was charged 14 times. I've turned my card off and I've gotten 5 more notifications that my card has been declined as my card is off. ALL CHARGES ARE FROM RPT! I've called Shopify and sent them pictures and I will be going to my back in the morning. PLEASE TAKE THIS AS YOUR WARNING. It's not worth it.

Afro Glam Nails
United States
6 months using the app
RouteApp LLC replied November 29, 2021

Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear you haven't had a good experience using Route. We would be happy to clarify any confusion. Route will refund the order subtotal and taxes to the customer's original payment method, and issue a reimbursement to the merchant for the same amount. If you have more questions on how this works you can use the article here: https://help.route.com/hc/en-us/articles/360055934194-Route-Order-Issues-Resolution-Resolve-via-Platform-

However, you definitely should not have 15 charges on your card. If you could email us at csm@route.com, we would be happy to look into this matter for you. We appreciate your patience on this and we look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks, and enjoy the rest of your week!

Bianca, customer service

May 5, 2020

When I started using this app I told their represantative that I do drop shipping and packages may take 20 days in average to be delivered to customers and they insured that this won't be a problem at all.
With corona virus shipments got delayed for 40 days they covered claims equal to the amount they collected from my customers when they sold insurance through my website.
When the claims amount became bigger than what they have collected they stopped answering customer claims.
In result customers who knew that they have insurance considered this fraudulent sale of insurance from me and resulted in multiple charge backs.
It's absolutely horrible experience and not recommended to any one to use their service.

T A Y Online Store
United States
5 months using the app