Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 77% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 12% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its user-friendly interface, competitive shipping rates, and seamless integration with Shopify. It's praised for time-saving features like automatic tracking updates and bulk label creation. The app supports thermal label printers and simplifies international shipping by pulling product information for custom forms. Merchants also value the return labels feature, which only charges when used, and some report better rates than Shopify's own shipping rates.

December 16, 2022

I wanted to like this app as its features look great on paper. We couldn't get it up and running though, because they require a photo of the shipper's government-issued ID and a photo of the shipper him/herself before activating the app. I didn't really want to send them copies of my driver's license/passport, and I for sure didn't want them stored on their servers.

When I asked their support (which is pretty responsive) why they needed this when no other label sellers we've worked with do, and how long this information is stored they didn't have a clear answer.

Their website says things like "We receive and store any information you knowingly provide to us" and "Some information may remain in our records after the deactivation of your account" and "...unless the business that requested your verification has deleted it, Stripe (Shippo's verification provider) will retain copies of your submitted identity data-the images of you and your ID as well as any typed or extracted data and the verification results and insights..."

I couldn't find anywhere in their privacy policy a mention of them deleting this information after verification, and their support couldn't point to such a mention in their policy.

So no Shippo for us, we're now trying another app for labels that doesn't require a photo ID.

ulumulu design
United States
27 days using the app
Shippo replied January 9, 2023


Thank you for leaving this review about Shippo. We apologize for any trouble and confusion this caused. We take fraud very seriously and we want to ensure we're keeping our customers, and our system safe.

Shippo uses a verification system that does require photo identification when an account needs to be verified, however, the system we use automatically deletes all information every 5 days. So, you can rest assured nothing is saved. We would love to have you shipping with us, so please let us know if there is anything we can do to help get you started.

Shippo Support

April 8, 2023

App was easy to use but found that I was charged when I thought I was on Starter Plan and I haven't used the app for a while because they don't allow Royal Mail as a postal service. They won't allow a refund either. Not happy with this.

Force of Life
United Kingdom
About 1 month using the app
Shippo replied April 21, 2023


We're sorry to hear you're unsatisfied with Shippo. This is never what we want for our customers.

Shippo plans are billed on a monthly cadence. If customers do not downgrade their paid plans before the billing cycle date, the accounts will be automatically charged. We apologize for any confusion this caused!

We will have one of our Support Specialists follow-up with you now to continue working with you on this.

Thank you,
Shippo Support

November 13, 2022

My Amazon - Shippo connection stopped working Thursday Nov 4 2022 I have called, chatted and emailed customer support more times than I can count. I hope that shippo will fix the issue so I can revise the shippo review as well.

Select Settings
United States
21 days using the app
Shippo replied November 14, 2022

Hi there!

We are so sorry to hear that there have been issues with your Amazon connection to Shippo. We do see that all of your Shopify orders are coming in as expected.

We have escalated the issue to look into your Amazon connection and will follow up directly as soon as we are able to resolve this issue.

Edited July 8, 2022

Would not recommend for larger packages - We have been using shippo for over a year, no significant issues that we couldn't work through with customer support until recently. Our business is growing and packages and quantity is larger. Noticed multiple " fee " charges. Reached out to support and was advised UPS is charging SHIPPO for incorrect dimensions on packages and SHIPPO is charging us. We have proven over 20+ times that the dimensions are correct and fees are unwarranted ! Fees have been refunded & corrected. However this is a weekly issue and requires us to review every invoice and dispute 5+ " fees " with SHIPPO on a weekly basis. The crazy part is we are providing each time that the "fees" are unwarranted. Yes, we get a "credit" back NOT a refund but that takes 1-2 weeks. It has also become a task that requires us to almost hire someone for just to stay on top of disputing unwarranted surcharges. We have tested multiple third party shipping providers to determine if this is an across the board issue with UPS as suggested by SHIPPO. From our findings from the last 6 weeks of testing, SHIPPO is the only third party app charging us "fees" for incorrect dimensions but if I catch it we get our money back... Since this finding we have decided to end our relationship. We are not saying don't use SHIPPO as we are not bashing any company just want to share our experience and remind everyone the importance of reviewing all invoices and looking for "fees" that do make sense. If this was not caught on my end, my business would be out over $100's and counting as the fees are small enough to go unnoticed. Like $5-$10 a week. We are in the process of trying to figure out with SHIPPO what will happen with our credit of about $150ish & then we will continue growing with another company. Hopefully the closing process is smooth & we can walk away from this situation. Update **** We have received a $18.00 " surcharge ". SHIPPO has advised that this is due to UPS having to deliver the package to a different address. The address the customer submitted at the time of purchase is the same as the billing address. Also no indication at the time of purchasing the label that the " address did not exist ". If UPS went to deliver the package and it was turned away due to being the wrong address, won't the package be returned to sender? I have never heard of a UPS driver, driving around looking for " Customer X " and then when he finds her sends me a $18 invoice. I disputed the "fee" with SHIPPO and was advised by Deangelo that UPS said " For any future shipments, the shipper will need to update their shipping records to avoid delays and charges. " This response is not appropriate for the type of business SHIPPO runs. We are a business with 1,000's of customers. The customers purchases from us and provides shipping details, we ship the product to the address provide, if the address does not exist it is returned to sender. This is common practice. I am now told that I will not be getting the $18 back and pending an explanation why the package was not returned to sender. I also now have to reach out to my customer as a business owner and make sure they are taken care of because technically the order WAS NOT delivered to the correct address. This is a mess. It further validates my decision to remove my business and decrease my rating from 2 star to now 1 stars. If UPS is truly charging all of these fees. SHIPPO is not protecting their customers. I recommend investing a fee before charging your customer as it leaves a bad taste and breaks trust.

United States
Over 1 year using the app
Shippo replied July 26, 2022


Thank you for leaving this feedback about Shippo, and we apologize you ran into trouble with surcharges from UPS.

Looking over your correspondence with Deangelo, it does appear that UPS updated us with more information about the address correction they made. Per UPS, they stated that the correct address associated with the suite numbers is 1850 per the United States Postal Service's website, not the 1859 address that was entered.

We do apologize for the surcharge you received, however, UPS is adamant this address correction was needed and is correct.

We understand receiving surcharges after shipping is always a surprise, and we're very sorry this happened on multiple occasions. When this happens we will do everything in our power to fight these charges with UPS (or any carrier). At times, these are successful, and at other times the carrier will deny the dispute if their findings are accurate.

I understand you have been using a different shipping provider and these charges have not occurred there. We would love a chance to talk with you further about these charges and see if anything is being done differently on that site, as well as see how we can win you back as a Shippo customer.

Again, we thank you for your feedback. This helps us align on where we need changes in our product so that it is a better experience for our customers.

Thank you,
Shippo Support

August 29, 2022

I don't recommend this app if you are thinking to automate the returns process. We spent over $2000 on the unmanifest articles because they are not able to pass the article details. I have given 2 months to fix the issue but they couldn't, now I need to accept the loss and find something else.

Bevilles Jewellers
6 months using the app
Shippo replied September 9, 2022

Hi there,

Thank you for leaving this feedback. We are here to help in any way we can and apologize for any frustration surrounding manifests. Our Senior Lead, LeKea, has reached out to further assist.

April 4, 2022

I've had them for 5 years and am looking to change. I have a CASH debit card attached and it's only April and I've been blocked 5 TIMES this year alone! Today I have 7 orders I woke up to that needs to be fulfilled. I don't have time to go to post office or paypal to do. Support, what a joke! I don't have the time to wait until THEY get around to answering an EMAIL, there is no way to contact them. NONE! The last time it took 48 HOURS, I'm done!

United States
About 6 years using the app
Shippo replied May 10, 2022


Thank you for leaving this feedback and we're so sorry to hear you were running into trouble in Shippo. It does appear the blocks that occurred were due to denials by your card issuing bank.

We strive to get back to all of our customers in a timely manner and looking over your correspondence it does appear we responded back to you within 1 business day. However, we do offer live support for faster resolution times.

In the future, you can reach our Support Team via our live channels (chat and phone) M-F from 9AM-5PM PST. You can access these by logging into your Shippo account and clicking on the "Help" button.

Should you need any further assistance, please don't hesitate to send us an email, or reach out through chat/phone.

Thank you,
Shippo Support

February 13, 2022

Better off going with Shipstation. Took a while to get all of our accounts setup (Fedex, UPS, USPS, etc). Worked fine for a bit, but then it stopped syncing our orders started receiving error messages. Their support was dumbfounded for several weeks and kept telling me that they had escalated the issue. After waiting for over a month to see a resolution, I finally uninstalled the program and have went to shipstation. Have not had an issue with them. In fact they offer more shipping options that Shippo did not, which saves me more money in the long run. Shippo . . . I hope you guys can figure out some better IT support. A small medium business cannot operate if your shipping software does not work for over a month.

UXO Supplements
United States
Over 5 years using the app
Shippo replied February 14, 2022


Thank you for leaving this feedback and we're very sorry to hear your issue is not resolved. We see you're working with one of our Team Leads, Jazmine, and she has been working with our engineers to find the root cause of this issue. Unfortunately, troubleshooting can take time as we do need additional information from customers when follow-up questions arise. That said, we absolutely understand needing your orders to import and this is a high priority for us. We will continue to work with our engineering team and Jazmine will reach out to you with any new updates. We hope we can win you back when this is completely resolved.

Thank you,
Shippo Support

July 17, 2022

i delete the app and after 3 week they take me money from my bank account ...... this is like someone stolen you !!!!

3 months using the app
Shippo replied July 26, 2022


Thank you for leaving this feedback about Shippo and we're very sorry to hear about the billing confusion you encountered.

We would love a chance to speak with you further about the charges you received so we can explain what happened, and investigate them further for you.

Please reach out to our Support Team M-F from 9 AM-5 PM via our live chat and phone options, or through email by emailing support@goshippo.com. To access all of these options, just log in to your Shippo account and click on the "Help" button.

Thank you,
Shippo Support

January 12, 2022

My Shopify Customers Not receiving Tracking Numbers I rspond to 100+ Please Fix this Issues Then i will give You review

United States
10 months using the app
Shippo replied January 19, 2022


Thank you for leaving this feedback and we're so sorry to hear you were running into trouble in Shippo. Looking over your correspondence with Debe, it does appear she offered a solution and this issue is now fixed.

We're delighted we could help with this. If there is anything else you need, please don't hesitate to reach out via email, or through our live channels! We have Live Chat, Monday-Friday, starting at 9AM PST and we can also be reached at 415-779-7447.

Shippo Support

May 26, 2022

Rates "mysteriously" increase by $70-100 without explanation. Not well priced. I was planning on using it, but this seems sketch.

Nordic Ways
United States
About 2 months using the app
Shippo replied July 26, 2022


We're so sorry to hear you ran into trouble in Shippo with rates. Shippo's rates have remained the same, so I'm curious if anything was different about the shipments you were pulling rates for.

Rates can vary based on many factors - dimensions, weight, shipping locations, extras you may add (like insurance and signature confirmation), etc.

We would love a chance to talk to you about the rates you saw, and look at the different shipments. This would give us a better idea of what happened and how we can help you fix it.

We would love for you to reach out to our Support Team so we can work with you on the problems you experienced, and hopefully win you back as a Shippo customer.

You can reach our Support Team M-F from 9 AM-5 PM via our live chat and phone options, or through email by emailing support@goshippo.com. To access all of these options, just log in to your Shippo account and click on the "Help" button.

Thank you,
Shippo Support