Overall rating
4.7
Counts per rating level
  • 90% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its easy-to-use drag-and-drop feature, enabling even those with minimal tech skills to design attractive websites. It's especially useful for small businesses, providing a cost-effective way to add new pages without a developer. Merchants also value its device optimization capabilities. The customer support team is often commended for their swift responses, expertise, and proactive problem-solving approach.

March 19, 2024

Once you use Shogun you're locked in. They have repeatedly changed features and changed their pricing which results in broken pages, missing features that we once had, and difficulties site wide. Customer support is slow to respond. You guys suck.

EVELO
United States
Almost 4 years using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied March 21, 2024

Hi there!

Thanks for leaving your feedback with us. While we change our plans' pricing and add new features, necessitating shuffling features to different plans, we never take features off of users, nor do we force you onto new plans.

Once the app is persistently installed, you've always got to keep the feature set you are familiar with. Pages, therefore, will not spontaneously break. As I understand, the features that were missing were found to be still available, only slightly moved in the UI with the editor design refresh.

Customer support is available 24/7 through email, where we aim to respond to every email within 24 hours, and live chat, where we can be reached most hours within a couple of minutes.

I know we were chatting recently about this, and if you have any specific queries not addressed in our more recent interaction, please reply to that same thread or reach out to our team, and we'd be more than happy to assist you.

James | Client Services
Shogun

March 21, 2024

Unexpected HUGE charge

Trying this app is not advised… I was shocked to see that I was automatically charged almost $400 (with taxes) after trying this for a day. My $1 / month trial Shopify account just set me up to get taken advantage of. If I automatically was charged $39 like it shows is the price then I would understand but this is 10x that.
I only used for a few hours and didn’t find Shogun to be intuitive unfortunately.

My Store
Canada
About 1 month using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied March 28, 2024

---Update - April 5, 2024---

Hi there, Jay, I appreciate you writing back, however, it looks like we have not heard back from you again. Could you check the email and reply back with the store details so that we can assist you further?

Thanks.
---------------------------------------

Hi there, Thanks for sharing your feedback here.

I am not able to locate your account or a support conversation about the same as the store name- My Store seems to be very generic.

However, I would like to let you know that app charges or subscription charges work based on billing cycles in Shopify. We offer 10 days of free trial and if the app is not required we recommend uninstalling the app before the trial period is over. If the app is not uninstalled, the recurring subscription starts automatically, that is how subscriptions work.

I see you suggested you tried the app for a day, but if the app was not uninstalled before the free cutoff period, you will be charged which is expected behavior. And, you will be charged based on the plan you selected while you uninstalled and started the trial.

If you reached out to our support team about this previously, could you reply back to us on that thread?

Having said that, as I am not able to locate your store details I wanted to check if you can reach out to our support team at support@getshogun.com?

Our support team will be happy to analyze the account and share further information to clear any doubts or misunderstandings here. And, we'll be happy to help with the charge.

We'll look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Thanks for your understanding.

Sweetan | Client Services
Shogun

January 24, 2024

charged me 99$ when i had uninstalled a long time ago, get back to me to refund my money please

BEFORETHEFALL
United Kingdom
About 1 month using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied January 25, 2024

Hi there!

Thanks for reaching out with your feedback.

We noted your request for a refund yesterday, and my colleague, Sweetan of the Billing team, replied to say that he had processed your refund and that the amount would be back with you in the next 5-10 days as per normal process.

It looks like our email reply may not have been received and we suspect the email address you used to reach out to us had a slight typo. If there are any outstanding action items, could you please write back to us or reply to the same email thread? We'll be happy to assist you.

Looking forward to hearing back from you.

James | Client Services
Shogun

December 7, 2023

Don't use this app. Find something else.

The app worked fine until they moved all the standard features to only be available in higher plans.

Image quality is an issue now on the main plan.

They want you to jump from $39/month to $99/month.

Embarassing for a SaaS company to act this way. I hope a lot of people cancel and move to more affordable competitors.

Good Wave
Canada
About 1 year using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied December 14, 2023

Hi there Aaron! Thanks for taking the time to log your feedback with us.

I am sorry to hear that your experience hasn't been a positive one.

I had a look to double-check and found that Image Quality Settings haven't historically been available on the Build plan and weren't moved up when we implemented the current plans. This hasn't been specifically raised as an issue before; still, we're taking this feedback and are looking at retroactively granting the capability to the current 'Build' plan, given the new price point.

Regarding the price increases - a big part of this is related to significant changes to our product and company. We were a “page builder” for a long time; however, we’ve expanded our offering to include core optimization features, including AB Testing, Targeted Experiences (personalize content to audience), SEO tools for keyword discovery, AI-assisted blog generation, and page performance monitoring.

While the entry plan has increased, we’ve also added features, including our AI page designer, AI text generation features, and grid-based editing. We also increased the page limit on our entry plan to 50 pages and removed page limits for any plan higher than entry.

While there are cheaper alternatives, if you’re looking to build and optimize your shopping experience, we are still quite budget-conscious compared to most AB testing, personalization, and SEO software providers.

Lastly, you can contact us any time at support@getshogun.com, and we will do our best to help.

James | Client Services
Shogun A/B Testing & CRO

November 13, 2023

I'd give 0 stars if I could

Shogun is slow and you have to update a page manually one at a time. It's extremely painful to make any changes, let alone make a single small change across all pages.

The app has decided to double its costs recently, making it completely prohibitive for any business trying to scale.

SUMMARY: SAVE YOUR MONEY, HIRE A DEV, OR USE ANOTHER APP. You will simply get no value in this app

Deltora
United States
Over 2 years using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied November 15, 2023

Hey there, Eric. Thanks for taking the time and sharing your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that your experience hasn't been a positive one.

I wasn't able to locate a conversation with respect to the slowness you were facing, but our features such as bulk publishing, theme sections, and global snippets are used by our users to make changes across multiple pages.

Having said that, we do change and update the pricing for our plans, which is normal behavior. Your account was subscribed to our legacy plan and that plan is no longer offered. We don't force our users to move away from their grandfathered legacy plans. However, if you uninstall or reinstall the app, the legacy plan will be lost. This is something our support team explained further via email. There isn't a way to activate that deprecated plan again.

I see you have since uninstalled the app, however, I also see you had been installed for a while with us and I apologize if you felt there was no value.

I also see you are in touch with our team to get some further assistance and our team, as always is more than happy to help you.

Sweetan | Client Services
Shogun Page Builder

November 22, 2023

Being forced up upgrade to a $100 plan is ridiculous. I laterally just need to update 1 page but rather than pay the original $40, i'll be paying $0 and going someplace else.

Exxtended Image Hair Co
United States
Over 2 years using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied November 23, 2023

Thanks for taking the time and leaving us a review here, Jenae.

We appreciate the feedback.

I am sorry to hear that you felt you were forced to upgrade. I wanted to share some details here.

Looking at the account I see Shogun was uninstalled on July 25, 2023. This is when your account was subscribed to our old plan. That old plan was a legacy plan that had been deprecated a long time ago. As the app was uninstalled, this legacy plan got canceled as well.

You reinstalled Shogun again on November 16, 2023 and our pick-a-plan page displayed the new plans that can be activated which would be the expected behavior.

I could not locate a recent support conversation about the questions you may have had with respect to the plans, but I have reached out to you via email to share more information.

I'll look forward to hearing back from you.

Sweetan | Client Services
Shogun Page Builder

June 18, 2023

It's imperative that they ditch the 'Free Plan' option. It allows you to build pages without limit but it's useless because you can't actually do anything practical with them. As someone else mentioned it's like a game with no practical use. It's clearly a crude marketing ploy to lull you into doing so much set up work that when it's time to press go, there's nothing you can do. Lots of time wasted and the minimum cost is too restrictive for small businesses. Cheers lads.

Skiptune
United Kingdom
3 months using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied June 18, 2023

-UPDATE-
25th July 2023.
HI again, Peter and Mattie. I see you haven't used our app in a while and I haven't heard back from you. I wanted to check here if everything is working fine and if it was possible to reply back to me via email.
Thanks!
-------------------------------------------------
-UPDATE-
22nd June 2023
Hi again, Peter and Mattie!
Thanks for writing back to me, Mattie. I appreciate the feedback you shared. It was good to communicate with you and we'll look forward to turning this negative experience into a positive one.

Myself and the support team is available to answer any questions you may have and we'll look forward to hearing back from you as you explore our app further.
-------------------------------------
-UPDATE-
19th June 2023
Hey, Peter, it looks like I spoke to the store owner, and we'd be happy to connect with the individual/user on the account who did use the app so that we can understand the concerns better and assist you further.

I have reached out via email and will appreciate it if you could reply back to me.
Thanks!
----------------------------------------

Hi, Peter! We appreciate the feedback.

I apologize if you feel the Free plan isn't practical or wasn't useful. I also appreciate you going through the other feedback. The free plan is a way to test the app and get a feel for the editor before you can decide to try and test more options and access more elements. The free does allow you to access pages and it comes with the ability to publish 1 page.

We also offer a further 10 days of the free trial on our paid plans. You can start the trial and explore the app and the elements further.

Having said that, I apologize for the inconvenience and I have reached out via email to understand the use case and answer the questions further.

Thanks and I'll be looking out for a reply via email

Sweetan | Client Services
Shogun Page Builder

August 4, 2023

They double charged me, last November I uninstalled and they still charged me. My store was deactivated because of multiple reasons. I just paid my bill to reactivate and of course they charged me again without even being installed. BEWARE!!!!

BEYMOSS
United States
Over 1 year using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied August 6, 2023

Hi there! Thanks for taking the time and leaving us this review and sharing your feedback.

It looks like there seems to be some misunderstanding here about how the app charges work.

I see I was already in touch with you to understand these charges so I could help you further. While I did explain why you noticed these charges, I wanted to share the information here as well.

The app charges work based on the store's billing cycles in Shopify. If the app is installed, the monthly charges continue to work as usual based on the subscription plan that is active on the account. We always recommend our users to uninstall the app if the app is not required. This helps to ensure you are not charged further.

This is also true when you close or pause your store with Shopify. The store was closed on December 9, 2022 without our app being uninstalled, then reopened on August 3, 2023. When the store reopened, the subscription charges were unfrozen. The app was correctly uninstalled on August 3, 2023. This means any pending charge would be processed when the store is reopened.

However, I reached out via email to discuss and learn more about the charges in question so we could help you with them.

I'll really appreciate it if you could reply back to me on that thread and I'll make sure we can help resolve this and clear the misunderstanding here.

My sincere apologies for the inconvenience. I'll look forward to hearing back from you.

Sweetan | Client Services
Shogun Page Builder

June 26, 2023

Right, I see I am not the only one that has been hoodwinked by this "free" plan option. To further compound to the mysery of this, I am also being charged a 2nd month re-occuring, despite not even using the app? Could you please get in touch and sort this on your end coz it's just embarrsing for you guys...

Afrithings
United Kingdom
2 months using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied June 27, 2023

-UPDATE-
25th July 2023
HI there, Dennis. I wanted to check if you are doing well. I also wanted to check if it was possible to reply back to our email conversation as I haven't heard back from you and it has been a while.
Thanks!
------------------------------------------
-UPDATE-
June 28th 2023

Hi again, Dennis! Thank you so much for connecting with me over a phone call. We really appreciate your taking the time and sharing your feedback. We apologize for all the misunderstanding and the inconvenience. However, we are glad that we were able to discuss this further with you and find a resolution.

I have followed up via email and I'll look forward to hearing back from you.

We greatly appreciate your continued support.
----------------------------------------------------
Hey there, Dennis! Thanks for sharing your feedback.

While I apologize for the inconvenience that has been caused, I wanted to let you know that my colleague reached out to you via email to explain this further.

It looks like your account started a 10-day trial for our Build plan. This was started on May 2nd. You upgraded from the Free plan to a trial of the paid Build plan at that time.

The Free plan and paid plans work differently.

After the 10-day free trial is activated, if the app is not uninstalled (considering you won't be using the app), the app must be uninstalled by the end of the 10-day trial period to avoid recurring monthly charges for paid app subscriptions.

However, since the app was not uninstalled until June 15, those recurring charges from Shopify occurred.

My team has shared further information in the email and they also tried to reach out to you via phone but were not able to connect with you.

I will be happy to assist you further if you can reply back to us.

Thanks!

Sweetan | Client Services
Shogun Page Builder

December 9, 2023

expensive and i thought templates would be better. theyre outdated and crappy

Bloom Wellness Spa
United States
About 20 hours using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied December 14, 2023

Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback!

We completely understand if the templates you looked at didn't meet your expectations; the template library is something that we may revisit at a future date.

However, as you may have noticed, we have been focusing on expanding our offering to include core optimization features, including AB Testing, Targeted Experiences (personalize content to audience), SEO tools for keyword discovery, AI-assisted blog generation, and page performance monitoring.

Candidly, if you’re looking solely for a “page build” function, we may not be the best-fit solution. However, if you're looking to optimize your storefront and set yourself up for success, Shogun is the answer.

James | Client Services
Shogun A/B Testing & CRO