Reviews (3,287)

Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 90% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate the app for its intuitive drag-and-drop interface that simplifies the creation of responsive web pages without needing extensive coding skills. The app is noted for its excellent customer support, including personalized video tutorials and real-time chat, enhancing the user experience. It also offers educational resources, interactive webinars, and a supportive community, making it easier for merchants to learn and solve issues. The seamless integration with Shopify and its cost-effectiveness make it especially appealing to small businesses managing websites in-house.

July 9, 2024

The landing page building works good. My issue is with the support and lack of transparency in fixing glitches and issues with the landing pages.

I reported a glitch in Jan 2024 (the team at shogun confirmed) which was affecting the conversion rate of my landing pages (variant buttons hover / focus / active style).

The support team kept saying "it is on the roadmap to fix" but now in July 2024, they just ignore my requests for updates.

It's disappointing that a good product is being shaded by a lack of transparency and communication.

Bluebird Provisions
Over 3 years using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied July 19, 2024

Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review and sharing your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience with our team. We always strive to offer our best services and I am happy to check on this feedback further, internally.

We apologize for the trouble.

Sweetan | Client Services

July 17, 2024

Used this on Bigcommerce for years then moved to shopify. Better and less expensive alternatives like Gempages out there. Also, this will install a ton of code in your theme that you will have to remove manually if you uninstall it. Shogun did not respond to our numerous emails for help to remove this code. We eventually got rid of it all but beware if you decide not to keep using this.

United States
3 months using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied July 19, 2024

Hey there, thanks for leaving us a review.

We are sorry to hear that your experience with Shogun wasn't a positive one. I do want to mention that Shogun is a solution provider with solutions such as A/B testing, Targeted Experiences, SEO, and AI. We aren't just a page builder. However, we are happy to hear you have found an alternative.

Also, every app adds code to the theme, that's how apps work. Our app installs minimal code to ensure your pages work, even when you uninstall the app. Our team responds to each and every email we receive, however, if you didn't receive a reply, could you share more details with our team at

Our team will also be happy to provide you with resources on how to easily remove the Shogun code from the theme.

Thanks for trying Shogun.

Sweetan | Client Services

May 17, 2024

The customer support is good, the the app itself is pretty bad. Very hard to build landing pages, poor navigation, brutal formatting for mobile.

overall not great

Phytoplankton Supply Company
12 days using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied May 22, 2024

Hi there, Pierce. Thanks for leaving us a review and sharing your feedback.

I was going through the conversations you had with our team and I apologize if you felt Shogun wasn't a good fit for your requirements. Would you be able to help us more when you refer to the app being hard to build landing pages with issues for mobile formatting? Our team will be happy to analyze the use case and ensure we can work on your suggestions.

I see you were looking to create a form and connect the same with a third-party form app/service. For such instances, it is best to embed the form directly from the form service as suggested by the team. The embed form is not something you can control using Shogun, but our HTML element will populate what is pasted there.

However, let us know if you decide to try Shogun again. We'll be happy to assist and answer your questions.

Sweetan | Client Services

January 26, 2024

Price increase from 39 to 99 USD? This is ridiculous. We just use it or rather used it for a couple of pages. We will now switch to an alternative.

8 months using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied January 27, 2024

Hi there, Benjamin. Thanks for leaving us a review and sharing your feedback.

We have indeed changed our plans and pricing a bit. However, I feel there is some misunderstanding here.

Your account is still subscribed to our old/legacy plan and we are not forcing you to upgrade your plan. You can continue to be on the same old plan until you have the app installed. If you uninstall the app or upgrade, you will lose the legacy plan you have when it won't be possible to downgrade back to the old plan.

However, as I suggested, we are not forcing you to change the plan. You can continue to use it while the app is installed.

I tried to connect via phone but that went to voice mail. I have reached out via email and I would appreciate it if you could reply to me should you have any questions or doubts.

Sweetan | Client Services

Edited August 2, 2021

Saving and publishing feature is so slow. Saving a page takes 10 seconds and sometimes up to a minute. Publishing is about the same. Very annoying, especially when you risk loosing all your work given there's no auto save.

United States
Over 3 years using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied August 2, 2021

Hey there,

I'm really sorry to hear that you are experiencing longer than usual waits when saving or publishing a page. I would absolutely like to take a closer look into this issue to see if we can help resolve this. I fully understand that this can be very frustrating, especially when saving/publishing content is crucial for designing your pages.

I've reached out to you via email/phone and hope to hear back from you. Thanks so much for your patience and understanding and look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kalen | Team Lead, Support
Shogun Page Builder

Edited February 24, 2020

The app is not working properly, support has not fixed it. Cannot access my product page to edit it. There is some technical error. Gone back and forth with their team and they have finally decided to acknowledge that I have a problem. Waiting for their technical staff to respond but this is a huge disadvantage on a LIVE product page that I cannot even access because of this app.

Sky Sins
Over 3 years using the app
Edited February 16, 2021

Good for VERY basic web development. If you are looking to make an About Us page with some more customization than Shopify offers this app is great. If you are looking to use Shogun to work with product pages then expect extremely slow page load times, very slow editing speeds if you have a moderate amount of elements on one page, and many random errors that are just glitches from the system. The A/B testing feature would be great if it actually worked but it hasn't been useful at all in seeing which pages result in higher sales. This app is almost good but after spending 100+ hours working with it I am searching for a more robust solution as I'm sick of dealing with the shortcomings of Shogun.

United States
Over 3 years using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied September 3, 2020

Hi Drew & Team,

Thank you for your review and your feedback - I'm sorry to hear that your positive experience has turned into a negative experience with Shogun. I hope that we can help you resolve any issues that you are having with the app. My colleague Justine has also reached out to you via email.

I do want to start off by thanking you for your kind words about the app. I'm glad to hear that you found Shogun useful in that sense.

Regarding your issues - in relation to the slow page load times, there are a lot of factors that go into this. Shogun is a small part of the overall loading of your page, this would include your theme components, other third-party apps and any custom code that you have. Similar to creating a page without Shogun, the more content you add to a page the longer the page will take to load - Justine has reached out with some tips and information. We take measures to improve page load speed, such as deferring scripts and lazy loading your images.

Inside the editor, there may also be slowness if there are a large number of elements as the editor must keep track of all of these elements, as well as additional information regarding their state and changes. We are aware that we have room to improve there and hope to do so in the future.

We would love to hear more about the errors that you are experiencing. Would you mind sharing more information on these? The team should be able to help resolve anything that you are experiencing with the app.

Finally, regarding the issues that A/B testing is giving you - would you mind sending us over feedback about that too? Would love to see if we can resolve these issues for you and help you understand the data better.

We really appreciate any feedback that you can give us regarding the issues that you are having so that we can help you, and we can pass on feedback to the appropriate teams for future improvement. We welcome all feedback that you may have about the app.

If you could respond to Justine, or reach out directly at we would love to help.

Thank you,

Karl | Team Lead, Technical Support

October 24, 2020

Nice app, but extreme expensive. We hav had Shogun for a long, very long time and was deciding to remove all the content from the platform. Customers should not be a milk cow at all. Sorry to be so clear, but we was a customer since almost the beginning.

About 3 years using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied October 26, 2020

Hi Hanspeter, thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a review with your honest feedback - we appreciate the honest feedback as it helps us know where we might be going in the right direction and course correct.

I am sorry to hear that you feel that our prices are quite high - just a note, these prices have only increased slightly over the three years that you have been with Shogun - you were on one of our deprecated plans at $79/mo, we are happy to honour this price on our Measure plan which is currently $99/mo.

I understand that you are unhappy regarding the inability for support to copy your pages - however, while we did deprecate our old, unreliable page copying service in favour of a much better self-serve system called Sync that's available on our Measure plan. Our support team do not have the ability to use the manual page copying feature anymore. Once your stores are on the correct plans, you will be able to sync content between the stores whenever you wish.

Again I would like to thank you for the feedback that you have provided for us and look forward to helping resolve this negative experience with my colleague James. We do really appreciate your loyalty with Shogun and hope that we can resolve this in a manner that works for you.

Thank you,

Karl | Team Lead, Technical Support

April 25, 2022

Overall it's great for what it does. What's not so great is relying on them when shit hits the fan. Something happened with their backend that kept us from updating our pages. Took them around a month to figure out what was wrong and fix it. Provided zero compensation for the issue even though I'm paying $$ each month. Hard to say how reliable they will be in the long run.

The MeatStick
United States
Over 1 year using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied April 25, 2022

Hi there! Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and leaving us a review.

I'm glad to read that you find Shogun great, however, I am extremely sorry about the not-so-good experience you had. We strive to ensure that you have a good experience with our app and the support team.

I'll be happy to look into this further and would be reaching out via email. I'd appreciate it if you could follow up with me there.

Thanks! We appreciate your support.

Sweetan | Team Lead | Support
Shogun Page Builder

Edited December 8, 2021

Do be aware there is NO ANALYTICS for the first two PAID plans. We found this out after we built pages. Think about this - publishing pages blind to your data as an intentional feature by the app developer. This important fact is not in their pricing information when you select a plan which seems misleading in a effort to upgrade you plan after doing the work and putting up pages

Scent Fill
United States
About 1 year using the app
Shogun Labs, Inc. replied December 8, 2021

Hi there!

Joe here from Shogun Client Services. I wanted to thank you for taking time out to leave valued feedback for us.

I understand you have some concerns regarding our analytics feature and wanted you to know that I reached out a few moments ago via phone to get a few more details about your Shogun experience, and left a voicemail being that I wasn’t able to connect with you.

While we agree that Shogun analytics provides additional value to your Shogun experience, most of these analytics can be found within Shopify's Analytics feature. This does depend on the plan that you're subscribed to with Shopify, however, If you find that the Measure plans price is a bit hard to justify, we would also suggest Google Analytics as a working alternative.

Would love to discuss this further on a call. Please let me know if there is a best number to reach you at and when and we'll do our best to reach out in that timeframe!

King regards,