Recharge Subscriptions , 1,710 reviews

Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 86% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its user-friendly interface and robust subscription management capabilities. It's praised for seamless Shopify integration, responsive customer support, and its role in boosting recurring revenue and customer loyalty. Features like subscription pausing are particularly valued. However, some merchants suggest enhancements in reporting and customization, and find its pricing higher than similar apps.

March 5, 2024

We have been using recharge for quite some time now. The old pricing structure meant that they took a % of sales. The new pricing structure is still a % of sales plus an added monthly charge of £140 - this can quickly add up.

The email for the price increase justified this with the addition of new features - OK, that seemed fine.

The new features are at an EXTRA cost.

I'm not sure what happened with this company but i feel this is unjustified.

Maybe they were bought and the new owners thought they would ad these extra charges to recoup their initial investment as fast as possible.

I will be leaving recharge very soon which is sad due to the great service i used to receive.

I feel its a classic case of get customers by offering a good deal then sting them in the future by hiking prices. A sign of the times i'm afraid.

If you are reading this and want to avoid paying these awful charges then check out Appstle. Their pricing seems fair and benefits both parties involved.

United Kingdom
Almost 3 years using the app
Recharge replied March 21, 2024

Thanks for taking the time to share this feedback. We understand this can impact your business and did not make this decision lightly. Updating the price of our Standard plan gives us the continued flexibility and resources to invest in merchant support and innovative solutions to power our merchants in the future. Please reach out to our support team if there’s anything we can do.


- Ty Bailey | VP of Services

December 13, 2023

I was happy with ReCharge and I would continue with them but their price increasing to 99$ per month coming into effect in the new year is ridiculous. Sadly no options for smaller businesses and this simply seems like an attempt to increase their revenues. I look forward to switching to a competitor that is more reasonable and fair for smaller businesses. What an inconvenience!

Twisted Nut | Berlin's Nut Butter Makers
About 3 years using the app
Recharge replied December 19, 2023

We’re sorry to hear this feedback. We did not make this decision lightly and the change will not impact your business until January 1, 2024. If there is anything else we can do to help during this time of transition, please reach out to us.


- Ty Bailey | VP of Services

January 22, 2024

Not recommended. This app lacks a lot of standard features. It's expensive and difficult to use.

United States
4 months using the app
November 15, 2023


- Responsive customer support (thanks Thomas)
- Easy to migrate off Recharge, which you will need to do when you realise you have made the wrong choice


- Expensive
- Poor documentation
- Clunky, slow and ugly UI for front end and backend users

Use something else, there are apps out there that are as good but don't cost the world.

Nourished Natural Health
United States
Over 2 years using the app
Recharge replied November 20, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review with your feedback. I will be bringing your points up to my team for future consideration in the advancement of our product.

- Ty Bailey | VP of Services

July 4, 2023

I have been using recharge for over 7 years and had very little need for help but when I did come up against a small problem, the issue was sorted (via back and forth email as I am not a high paying valued customer).

Sadly, as a small business with a small customer base the latest price increase from $20USD a month to $99 USD a month will mean I will also have to cancel.

Perhaps Recharge doesn't want small business anymore, that's why they are pricing so high.

I tried to contact support, but never received a reply. I imagine they have been inundated with unhappy customers. I don't understand and can't see what features and benefits are there to value the 5x price increase.

I'm truly disappointed, and very sad after being a loyal customer.

StickyBoo Stickers - Rewards Kids Love
About 7 years using the app
Recharge replied July 5, 2023

We’re sorry to hear this feedback. We did not make this decision lightly, and the change will not impact your business until January 1, 2024. I will make sure my team follows up with your email to provide any further assistance you may require during this transition.

- Ty Bailey | VP of Services

August 15, 2023

The app mostly of does what it's supposed to but has a lot of Shopify integration issues. Back end subscription management is tedious and unintuitive. Customer service agents are unhelpful if they respond at all, and when they make sweeping platform changes the user is left helpless with no response from developer. Lack of customization options. I used Recharge for several years before I found a better solution: Seal Subscriptions. Easier to navigate, integrates better with Shopify, and costs significantly less if you're running a business that's doing <$10k/mo.

Culinarie Kit
United States
Almost 3 years using the app
Recharge replied August 29, 2023

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you had a less-than-stellar experience with us. We have taken this review to our team and will be reaching out to you for more details so we can resolve this issue.
- Ty Bailey | VP of Services

May 11, 2023

(We were on this platform more than 2 years) Recharge is a nice platform with a potential. The problem is that this solution make a lot of mistakes in case of creating orders with correct information. Constantly swaping SKUs, porduct names. Customer Dashboard is really hard to setup and keep it in design you want. Also if you want any changes like product swap or price change. The only option is to change it in the customer export, send it to hem, wait 5 days and hope it is correctly made (which wasnt in most cases). If the cost would be 1/10, i would be okay with that, but not in this case.

Mana™ | Slovensko
Almost 3 years using the app
Recharge replied May 16, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on our product. Your insight has been passed along to the appropriate teams for future consideration in how we can continue to improve.
- Ty | VP of Services

August 15, 2022

This app is not user-friendly at all. You have to click a lot of buttons to get what you want. And I agree that many of their customer service don't understand their product at all. They simply provide links and ask you to read their instruciton.

United States
Almost 6 years using the app
Edited February 4, 2022

We have been using Recharge for over 2 years now. First of all and sadly, I guess this is still one of the better options out there. However, this app comes with some major UX issues which makes managing an subscription on the storefront such a pain for your customers. I reported this issues several times to the customer support but they don't seem to care: Issue #1: Editing subscriptions. If you sell multiple products like we do, your customers will create an subscription order consisting of several products. So far so good. Recharge will create an order in Shopify. However, here comes the tricky part. If a customer wants to edit his existing subscription, he has to edit EACH one of the products separately. Meaning, when a customer ordered 10 products he and wants to change next charge date, frequency or even cancel he will have to do that 10 times! Just think about it. They placed ONE order initially when they started their subscription (meaning they got all products delivered at the same time) but have to edit each product separately from then on. Makes no sense. We get complaints about this almost every day! You as a store owner can bulk edit all products but why can't the customer?! This is such a UX disaster. Please, Recharge. Make bulk editing possible on the storefront! 2/ Sold out products. If you have products that are out of stock occasionally, the real mess begins! This will basically freeze the complete subscription of the customer until the customers either deletes the product from their subscription OR the product is back in stock. The customer can basically do nothing with his subscription when there is an out of stock product. Usually, there is an option to skip deliveries for the customer. Sounds like the perfect option in this case, right? Nah. Customer can't do that when a product is out of stock because pretty much all functions are dead at that point. They can't even add new products to their subscription because one out of stock product. They will only get a default error message without even telling them what the issue is. And the best part: Even when they remove the out of stock product from their subscription the error message will still pop-up until Recharge retries the charge! You can set up how often Recharge should retry the charge in the settings. However, it is limited to 8 retries and then the subscription shuts down completely. This is why I have set up a retry every 4 days so that the subscription doesn't shut down after 8 days already. So even though the customer has already removed the out of stock product and solved the issue by himself he will still see the error message for 4 days (or whatever you have set up) and will have to wait until the retry. What happens in those cases? They will contact our customer support that our UX sucks and that they want to cancel everything. Why can't recharge retry at least everytime a subscription has been edited? This is an EASY trigger! Customers removes product (trigger), recharge retries, order goes through. Problem solved. I really hope Recharge is going to read this review and will do something about it. I know at least 10 store owners that have the exact same issues that I have. I really wish Recharge will be the app that it could be! Those issues would be real easy to solve but would have such a big positive impact on UX.

Over 4 years using the app
September 22, 2022

Basically, the most important feature that is paying for the subscriptions does not work. If you add it to the chart it works, but if your clients choose to use the pay button they get an error. And they expect us to pay a developer in order to fix this. For us is like false advertising, since the app basically does not work properly.

Carving Social Club
Over 3 years using the app