Swap Photo Editor

Swap Photo Editor

by Engage Apps

Edit photos, edit images, remove backgrounds and logos easily

4.5 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    71% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    16% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    6% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 2 stars
    (1)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    7% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

Beauty in Body

I downloaded and paid 19.00 dollars for this app, to help me delete logos off the photos I imported to my Shopify store from AILEXPRESS. This app is extremely ignoring. It freezes up, literally every time I try to edit a photo. Had I not purchased this app, I would have definitely deleted it. this app gets a thumbs down from me. Now that I paid for this piece of crap. I will have to adjust in deal with it, as I take a whole hour just to EDIT one photo at a time. Such a disappointment!!!!!!!

Chairs That Give

Really buggy app, would not recommend. It deleted some of my images and is just very inconsistent to use, showing you images but when you click on the image link it turns out to be a completely different image? Or when you want to type a name of a product to search it or command+v it doesn't register your first keypress, annoying. On top of that, the function to remove watermarks is very slow, very stupid, and quite inconsistent. When there is a clear product in the center, with a bunch of white around it and a small logo in the corner, it can't find that logo and erase it but sometimes puts a white rectangle on your product or whatever. Then you have to go back and redo all of those products it did wrong, which takes a lot of time. That was another serious irritation, the time it takes to perform these actions is pretty slow! If you want a better background removal function, app dev expects you to pay $0.20 per image, and you can still have the app do it incorrectly and no refunds are given. After I used it a bunch and went into my products again I saw a bunch of images was missing and just completely erased from my product listings. Found out due to google merchant center letting me know about 25 products didn't have any image anymore. Which made me completely distrust this app and remove it from my store. The developer doesn't want to give any refund or explanation to me as a customer, only told Shopify that he won't give a refund. I guess he prefers to get a negative review.Really buggy app, would not recommend. It deleted some of my images and is just very inconsistent to use, showing you images but when you click on the image link it turns out to be a completely different image? Or when you want to type a name of a product to search it or command+v it doesn't register your first keypress, annoying. On top of that, the function to remove watermarks is very slow, very stupid, and quite inconsistent. When there is a clear product in the center, with a bunch of white around it and a small logo in the corner, it can't find that logo and erase it but sometimes puts a white rectangle on your product or whatever. Then you have to go back and redo all of those products it did wrong, which takes a lot of time. That was another serious irritation, the time it takes to perform these actions is pretty slow! If you want a better background removal function, app dev expects you to pay $0.20 per image, and you can still have the app do it incorrectly and no refunds are given. After I used it a bunch and went into my products again I saw a bunch of images was missing and just completely erased from my product listings. Found out due to google merchant center letting me know about 25 products didn't have any image anymore. Which made me completely distrust this app and remove it from my store. The developer doesn't want to give any refund or explanation to me as a customer, only told Shopify that he won't give a refund. I guess he prefers to get a negative review.

Developer reply

November 8, 2020

You forgot to mention that you used the app 3,695 times. We offer automatic refunds to merchants that perform less than 50 swaps (+ the free 15 swaps we provide as trial). The fact that you used it to edit 3700 separate photos, is evidence that you did not have issues with the app. You paid 20$ to use it 3700 times. Who would use a buggy app 3700 times? It's common sense that your refund request was declined - we have a clear refund policy posted online. This is a standard business practise, it's not personal. But then you decided to create a revenge review and this hurts our dev team that spends many thousands of hours building the BEST photo editor on Shopify. We are always trying to make it better, and anytime there is an issue, we take it seriously. Contacting our team via live chat or email is simple and we always respond within 24 hours. There are also several ways to remove watermarks, and if all your watermarks are exactly at the same place, on a solid color bg, you should not be using the remove watermark button - because there is a much easier and faster method available and explained in the video tutorial in the app.

CARRON PARIS

AI background removal is not very efficient - Basically, you pay for something that may not work before you know it - And there is no refund possible.
EDIT: AI is not magic I know that, even if my photos are HD and shot in pro photobox.. - My point is that I am very surprised that you don't refund AI automatic work that is obviously bad (very weird bg removal). If I buy a t-shirt and then I see a hole in it, the shop will refund me because I will not wear it, same thing here, so this is not very honest imo.
I think that some other apps got a system where you can validate or refuse the AI work and you are not charged if you refuse

Developer reply

May 12, 2020

Swap Photo Editor uses the best one click remove background script on the internet, guaranteed. The problem with your photos is that the background color blends into the objects so its not possible for any A.I. to remove your backgrounds properly. It cannot distinguish between the product and the background. For 99% of photos this is never an issue. We have hundreds of users that use the remove background feature to remove tens of thousands of backgrounds successfully.

Tasa Boutique

I was enjoying the trial of this app so I decided to purchase it but I figured out that Search the web works only on a few photos and it is not worth the money. I canceled my membership after using it for a few days, reached out to the app team but they just ignored me. I have never experienced such poor customer service! Just keep the money and learn how to help and respect the customers.

Cheers!

LaMaitena

Pesima aplicacion! me ofrecieron un plan gratis por dar un review y no cumplieron !!!! Basta de aplicaciones mentirosas ! Estoy seguro que los review positivos son todas mentiras !

COASTAORO

**UPDATED!!**
This app is a SCAM! Paid for the "Lifetime Membership" and the developer didn't like my (honest) review so they blocked us from being able to use the app altogether and blocked our domain so we can't email them for support or have any communication whatsoever. So we cannot get access the app at all, despite having paid for it for a "lifetime", it doesn't allow us to open or access anything so we sent an email asking for assistance and their reply was "change your one star review" and then blocked us from emailing them altogether. VERY SCAMMY! We paid for this service, they lied in their reply back to my review, blocked us from being able to use what we paid for and won't provide service to either issue that we've had - they stole our money, offered a "refund" that we can't access and now we can't access it at all for sharing our experience. This lack of customer service is bizarre. They are unwilling to do the right thing and instead of making things right, they don't allow us to use what we paid for. Will be reporting them until we are refunded. AS MENTIONED IN THE DEVELOPERS RESPONSE, WE SHOULD BE ABLE TO GET A REFUND, yet they won't allow us access to the app to get the refund or use the service we paid for. Take note, this is a very poorly operation. I've never heard of or experienced such bad service in my life. I would have updated my original review had they done the right thing or provided us access to what we paid for. They will continue to charge us because we have no way of cancelling without access or being able to communicate with them so take note of this before proceeding with using this service. It's interesting that it's now a "reoccurring" yearly charge instead of a one-time payment for "Lifetime Membership" - I would proceed with caution before committing to this service or giving them your payment information. Their response to my original review was based on the changed they've made since our original experience. The dishonesty is not appreciated.

ORIGINAL REVIEW:
I was really enjoying this app until it started stealing my money. We paid for the "lifetime" subscription, which I realized after the fact literally covers absolutely NOTHING t. We have to pay EXTRA for every single thing we needed (the reasons we use this app to begin with) so the $20 lifetime was a waste of money. I've now paid $40 ON TOP OF THE LIFETIME MEMBERSHIP in less than 24 hours to remove the background on 4 photos - I could have paid NOTHING and done it in Photoshop, which I already have. I could have done that before uploading the photos into Shopify and paid nothing extra. It applied my $40 in "credits" to god knows what and every time I purchase them again, they are immediately gone before I can use it. SO the subscription literally covers absolutely nothing, you have to pay $10 for "1" credit and somehow $40 got us less than 4 backgrounds removed. Spent $50 in less than a day for absolutely NOTHING. Save your time and money.

Developer reply

May 8, 2019

Remove Background PRO is the only feature that requires credits to use whether a member or not. This is explained with great clarity in the app. Credits are also purchased in $10 increments. You purchased them twice. You still have a balance of $16 remaining (out of $20). You only used $4 of your credits. You can even press the button named 'Refund Remaining Balance' to get that $16 back into your Shopify Account. Every member gets free credits and swaps to try the app before making any purchase.

My Pipe And Me

ANSWER TO DEVELOPER BELOW: We clearly explained the 786 swaps.
Also having an app that does well 1 out of many promised functionalities and blaming customers for being petty is extremely unprofessional, which we would have known if we read the responses you give to your reviews. Revenge? You give yourself too much credit for. It is a simple warning to anyone who will decide to deal with you, which is not even required , because I see you already present yourself well!!

ORIGINAL REVEW;
I wish I could leave no stars, but it is not possible unfortunately . We got the trial which included a few images and seemed as it worked decent enough to justify the $20 (approximately) price. After purchasing it and trying to update all our photos we figured out that watermark removal works only on a few photos and many times we had to do it multiple times . The background removal - never worked . The only thing that was working well enough was the option to make the photo square. If that’s what you looking for , the app is good for that. But with our experience - just that!
It wasn’t until few days ago we noticed that when we attempted to remove watermarks it was also removing some of the product images on the photo. We had to now go ahead check ALL products and reimport the one that the app has messed up - quite a few we might say.
We decided we need another option and found one!
We have had the app may be two weeks now, so we reached out to customer support asking for a refund , because really - the app was mostly useless for us and created more work than anything.
This is when the real disappointment came - we got a very arrogant, mocking answer , calling our experience “touching “, as if we were making false statements trying to scam someone of $20. Mr. Jason was kind enough to point out we swapped 786 photos, which may be we could have done but majority was trying 6 times swapping same image with no effect .
It’s ok, keep the $20. But just as advice aside from making some improvements - learn to respect and value customers .
Just heads up guys , good luck with this app!

Developer reply

May 2, 2019

Our records indicate that you used the app to make 786 swaps. You then proceeded to ask for a refund, for which we declined. Having someone ask for a refund after using an app 786 times is .... In any case I see that you decided to leave the typical 1-star revenge review.

Trésor Bleu

I began using the swap photo app when Shopify unexpectedly discontinued their basic photo editing features on web photos. The only feature I use on the app is the delete background feature. The other basic photo editing features are clunky, like cropping and lightening images. Also, the delete background is a pay per use feature, .50 to .80 per photo. with the # of SKUs I have, I've spent over $60 getting what I used to have for free. Shopify, please bring back basic photo editing. If I need remove back ground in unique cases, I am more than happy to use this app. But it's not an all in one solution, unfortunately.

Developer reply

May 1, 2019

You've used this app successfully and yet you provide a 1-star review, because you are unhappy with Shopify. This is very innapropriate and I don't think you would like getting similar reviews on your own Website.

CandiSkin

Paid for Full access, lifetime membership...then found out I still had to pay for the background remover. I got a refund very quickly which I appreciate but I now fully understand the reviews on the not so nice customer service..very blunt to say the least.

Developer reply

April 25, 2019

Given this review, live chat for this app will probably be discontinued soon. It's not worth the criticism, and has never been offered as an entitlement to membership or not. Btw, your money was refunded and you apparently didn't enjoy the fact that I was too busy to keep chatting about other stuff. I don't outsource customer service, because I alone can provide the best technical solutions for users quickly. But if I have to say "Sorry" everytime someone complains about something, its just not worth it!

carolay.co

total crap + waste of time ..............................................................................................................................

Developer reply

April 10, 2019

My records show that you didn't even try using the app. This comment is highly suspect and the quality shows. Wouldn't be surprised if it was from a competitor.

Nearly 1,000,000 Swaps have been made with this app. We'll get a half dozen of our actual users leave a proper review very soon!

Previous 1
Previous 1