Reviews (57)

Overall rating
4.4
Counts per rating level
  • 95% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 1 stars
February 9, 2024

Does exactly what it says on the tin. But more than this; the support (from Alex, the developer) has been timely, professional, considerate and quite the opposite of self-serving. It is sadly too rare to find app developers who are so conscientious and truly put their clients' needs over their own.

The app works well and the support is second to none.

Well done - and thank you to Zoom Buzz. The Shopify app store needs more dev like you guys.

thewoolcompany-staging
United Kingdom
About 3 years using the app
February 13, 2024

Technical support is responsive, thoughtful and professional. Unusual to find app developers who are so conscientious and really do seem to put their clients' needs above their own.

The app works well - does exactly what it claims - and the support is second to none.

Strongly recommend this developer and app.

The Wool Company
United Kingdom
Over 2 years using the app
Zoom Buzz replied February 14, 2024

Thank you so much for your reviews from your two stores. I really appreciate the feedback and I'll keep doing my best.

February 19, 2024

I downloaded this app to try it, and now, a month later, I am charged $10 for something I'm not using or ever will use.

ScootersMiami
United States
18 days using the app
Zoom Buzz replied February 22, 2024

As you know, the first thing I did when I heard about your experience yesterday was refund your $10.

As you haven't removed your review, please let me explain why your review is so unfair.

I didn't charge you anything directly. You signed up to a billing agreement with Shopify when you installed my app. You committed, to them, to pay monthly for the app if you choose to keep using it beyond the 10-day free trial period. This billing agreement can be terminated at any time by simply uninstalling the app, at which point Shopify only charge you for whatever you've used, to the nearest whole month, one month at a time.

To cancel this agreement and not be charged anything, all you had to do was uninstall the app any time in the first 10 days. You didn't do that.

I checked with Shopify to see if they'd made a mistake. I don't think they did. You installed the app on 1st February. You uninstalled the app on 19th February. 19 days is longer than the 10 day trial period, so you were charged. You could have contacted Shopify if you thought the charge was made in error. You didn't do that.

I appreciate storeowners are stretched and it's easy to forget to uninstall when you get busy with other things. My policy has always been to refund the first month's subscription fee if a storeowner goes a few days over the 10-day trial and contacts me so I can refund any charge. You didn't do that.

I've spent 7 years building my app and I go out of my way to provide a high-quality service to my customers. My ability to continue to provide that service to storeowners is wholly based on that reputation and therefore the reviews I receive. You've given me an immensely damaging 1-star review, based on a Shopify billing policy over which I have no control or influence. The only thing I could have done is refund your $10, which I would have done gladly had you contacted me. Indeed, I did refund your $10 yesterday as soon as I heard about your experience.

January 23, 2024

Excellent follow up support from Alex. His support videos are also first class and very succinct. Categories Uncomplicated provides excellent structure to a store, especially those with large numbers of categories. Essential for ease of navigation for the customer and SEO.

OliviaSamuel.co.uk
United Kingdom
22 days using the app
Zoom Buzz replied January 24, 2024

Thank you for your review. I'll definitely keep making the videos and pushing the app forward.

July 17, 2023

We have used Categories Uncomplicated for many years, since the beginning of our online store, without problems. Everything works perfectly. Recently, we had an issue with the front end online, and Shopify tech support identified the problem as being Categories Uncomplicated. Except it wasn't. Alex, when contacted, jumped right in to help and identified the actual problem. Even though he didn't need to since the issue had nothing to do with him or the app, he still took the time to look at our store and give me the instructions needed to solve the issue.
At the risk of sounding like Bill and Ted, it was most excellent service. I highly recommend this app and company.

Booster Club Sales
United States
Over 6 years using the app
August 25, 2023

Great app. Alex is fast with his responses, and takes the time to visit your site and see how everything is working. We ended up solving the problem I was having together using some unique workarounds. Alex did all of this while I was still on the trial period and not even paying yet. I look forward to continuing to use this app, and hopefully other apps that Alex and this developer come up with in the future.

KY School Shop
United States
3 days using the app
December 26, 2023

Apps Does not work. I follwed directions to a t and never did what it claims to do. there is no support or help. just and email with an auto return stating to go watch the videos.

Southern Sweet Designs
United States
About 1 hour using the app
Zoom Buzz replied December 29, 2023

Thanks for getting in touch. I understand the points you've raised in this review. I hope I might be able to explain what's happened and that you might then agree your criticisms are unjustified.

> I follwed [sic] directions to a t and never did what it claims to do.

I think you must be confused about what the app does and I'm sorry for any part I have in that confusion. I provide a demo site and multiple videos that show the apps features. The embed install video shows how to use the Shopify Theme Editor to install the app and highlights exactly what the app is doing. If there are other features you'd like the app to perform, I would have happily talked to you to understand if they were possible.

> there is no support or help.

I feel I have provided exceptional support and help throughout.

You emailed support at 18:11 GMT+1 on Dec 26, 2023. Even though it's the holidays, and I had been supporting my customers on that day, your email arrived after I had stopped work. I picked it up the following morning and replied to you at 09:51 on 27 Dec 2023.

There is a button in the app labelled 'Help' and the auto-return email also has a link to the Help page. I'm sorry you didn't see either of these.

> just and [sic] email with an auto return stating to go watch the videos

The auto-return email asked you for essential information that I need to offer support, like the name and URL of your store. You had not included even your store name in your original email.

You didn't reply to that auto-return email with the information I needed, so I politely re-requested it in a personal email to you on 27/12/2023. I also searched in Shopify and Googled to see if I could find your store name, just to try to be quick in responding to you. Sadly I couldn't find it, but I explained all this in my response to you.

You then provided your store name and URL at Dec 27, 2023, 13:06 GMT+1. You also clarified what you wanted my app to do. This was my first opportunity to actually help.

> i just want to add extra nesting menus

At this point I understood why you consider my app doesn't work. My app doesn't do anything to the menus (header navigation). My app uses the Shopify navigation system to learn (from you) how you want your categories set up. It does not change or in any way alter the Shopify navigation system. It does not change the way your theme displays those menus. I emphasised all this in an email response to you just a few hours later at 08:52 on 28 Dec 2023.

I do not claim, on the app page or in any of the support or Help materials, that my app alters your header menus. I'm sorry you were disappointed that my app doesn't do this, but I hope you appreciate that I've never pretended that my app does. I offer a completely-free 10-day trial so that customers can even experiment with the app prior to paying anything for it, precisely so that my app is never missold.

I hope this explains the efforts I've gone to in order to provide outstanding support for what, before your review, was a 5-star app. I'm sorry my app wasn't right for you and I wish you the best of luck with your store.

May 1, 2016

Outstanding Customer Service - quick and extremely helpful with assistance in installing the app to our shopify theme. Solved an important need for us with the ability to sort and show categories and subcategories in a sidebar list! Thank you and would highly recommend!!!

Madison And Hill
United States
Over 7 years using the app
January 18, 2016

This app is a life saver because it solves one of the downsides to shopify which is the lack of subcategories. Not only that but it displays a great navigation system based on the category my customers are using and it shows breadcrumbs at the top and better still the developer customized it to my site in a matter of minutes within 24 hours. THANK YOU!!!!

Nutrition Education Store
United States
Almost 7 years using the app
Edited February 26, 2017

Outstanding application. Integration was fast and simple. I have a very large number of SKU's across multiple departments and sub-departments. This application allows my customers to navigate and find my products quickly and with ease. I highly recommend this application. Customer support has been nothing but superior. Alex has always quickly responded with sound advise and when I get stuck he very quickly resolves the issues. If I could give these guys 6 stars I would!

Reel Draggin Tackle
United States
Over 6 years using the app