CBB • Video Background

CBB • Video Background

Built for Shopify

Reviews (205)

Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 81% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 9% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants highly recommend this app for its ability to enhance website aesthetics and functionality through easy video embedding on product pages and other sections, with features like looping and autoplay. They appreciate its smooth performance, noting it does not slow down their sites, and praise the exceptional customer support for being quick and efficient. The app is also user-friendly, making it accessible for merchants with limited technical skills.

June 25, 2024

It is a complete WASTE OF TIME

United States
About 5 hours using the app
Code Black Belt replied June 26, 2024

Hello Technium Team,

We are very sorry to hear that you are not happy with our app.

One of our Support Team reached out to you just a few hours after you installed the app to check if you needed help with the configuration as we noticed that you have not completed configuring a video background. However, we have not heard back from you or received any email or request from your end advising of any issues you might be facing.

If you were having issues with the app configuration, we are just a chat or an email away.

As you may know, our Team is available 24/7 should you need any assistance and we can even configure the video background for you.

We would love to discuss this further with the assurance that we do provide full assistance should you decide to use the app again.

If you can provide us with the best time to call and the number to reach you, we can arrange a phone call or even a chat session, whichever you prefer. You can also respond to any of the emails we have sent you.

We hope to hear from you soon!

Warm Regards,
Code Black Belt's Support Team

October 15, 2023

Worst app ever!!!!!!!! Nothing works!!! Lots and lots of glitches in the store. And while the support staff is very nice when it comes to their ability to resolve things - nada! Please do yourself a huge favor, and don't you dare download it!
And if anyone thinks I'm just writing this without proof, I have the correspondence with the support team in my email that will show the enormous difficulties and their incompetence.

About 5 hours using the app
Code Black Belt replied October 19, 2023

Dear Sweety-Crib,

Thanks for trying our app CBB • Video Background in your store.

We have been reviewing all the conversations you have had with the customer service and indeed there was a configuration problem while configuring the video in your store. First of all because the Vimeo URL was not correctly (it included '?share=copy/' which is not a valid format) and then there was a problem with the mobile location.

We are really sorry you did have a bad experience while configuring the app, but we were trying to help you answering all your emails within minutes. Just for you to know, we are also happy to jump into a call or chat whenever a merchant asks for it, so in case this is your preferred contact method you can ask for it.

I can see that, after the video was configured, there was a problem in the sound on mobile view and the ticket was escalated to our technical support. After that you did uninstall the app, so they did not have the chance to keep helping you.

We have tried to contact you back, so in case you are interested in keeping using the app to the fullest we are happy to jump into a call or chat to help you configuring your videos in your store. In case you decide to reinstall the app, please reply to any of our emails or send a new one to support@codeblackbelt.com. We are available 24/7 and happy to help you!


Code Black Belt's support team

November 10, 2023

Constantly glitching

United States
4 months using the app
Code Black Belt replied November 13, 2023

Hello Gigi Burris Team,

Thank you for installing our CBB • Video Background app on your store.

We are sorry if you are not happy with our app and upon checking previous email conversations with our customer service team, you were initially experiencing error 403 which indicates a Shopify Platform Outage.

Our Team had tested the app from their Sandbox stores and did not encounter the same issue and since it was a Shopify outage, the 403 error should resolve on its own. Most outage issues can actually be seen and monitored at https://www.shopifystatus.com/

Regarding the video configuration, we are more than happy to assist you or guide you with everything to make sure that the videos run smoothly on your store.

We have been reaching out to you via email and have been trying to reach you over the phone as well, so we can best assist you, however, we are unable to get through to the number we have on our records. Unfortunately, we haven't received any response via email as well.

We have a team dedicated to assisting you 24/7, so please feel free to respond to any of our emails or send us a new one at support@codeblackbelt.com and we will be happy to help and provide you with the best service possible.

We can also jump into a call or chat to help you configure your videos in your store and address any concerns you may have with our app.

​Warm Regards,
Code Black Belt Support Team

June 15, 2017

We have ben customers with shopify for aboth 12 months now.We have used around 30 / 40 differant apps they have, and delited most of tham as they dont and never ever works. In my soon 61 yers on this planet I have had several webshops and therfore also ben using many differant webhost companys around this planet, but anything like shopify and their apps I have never seen anything like it in any plase on this entire planet. The service,responds,backfees given us from this company and its app develupers you want find in your wildest dreams and immagination any simular as well as worst. I just made an phonecall to shopify support aboth your backgraound vidio crap thats neigther are working as it should as nothing happends whan you choose any backgrounds, and what did they had to say.The same story as always.Iam sorry for your problems we are here to help and blablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablablabla

As we just payd the outstanding invoice thar we have ben refusing to pay for more than 1 month now, as the CEO and owner of our company,I have desided to saty with this crap out the rest of this month and than moove to another webhost company as soon as we find one that actually are able and know how to sell a service that works as well as how they do business and deels with their customers.


17 days using the app
Code Black Belt replied March 28, 2019

[Note: the feature which allows developers to reply to reviews has only been available since March 2019, that's the reason for the late reply]

The merchant had the app installed and working properly in their store (up to a 3 weeks after this review was written), before they completely closed their Shopify account.

After receiving this review, we contacted the merchant on numerous occasions to find out what the issue was, but received no reply.

We then proceeded to contact Shopify support to help mediate the matter. The merchant had so many apps installed that they didn't know which ones they were reviewing and encountered various issues in their store because of that.

In summary, it was a case of confusion and misunderstanding in reviewing the wrong app.

January 18, 2017

Terrible - very lacking in control, placement, sizing and stability. Loaded two vidoes up on site - worked fine that day. Within 24 hours videos were not working on site. I would not recommend this software/app.

Leigh J mack, MD, PhD

Mack Biotech Corp
United States
2 days using the app
Code Black Belt replied March 29, 2019

[Note: the feature which allows developers to reply to reviews has only been available since March 2019, that's the reason for the late reply]

The merchant had the app installed for a few minutes and posted this review after uninstalling the app, so we were unable to assist with its configuration.

Unfortunately, we did not receive any email requesting support, if we had, we could have assisted the merchant in configuring the app.

We emailed them offering our help, but received no response.

The app works smoothly, as can be seen in the app demo store.

December 18, 2019


2 days using the app
Code Black Belt replied December 19, 2019

This customer contacted us saying that the video was not working on mobile. We replied quickly to him showing the video working good on mobile (proof can be seen at https://youtu.be/mY1T-7wB-e0) and asking which mobile device he was using but he got angry and uninstalled the app and wrote this negative review. Then installed the app for a minute in another store just to write another negative review.

When he contacted us we tested their store on multiple Android and iOS devices and found no issue. We replied quickly to their message.

October 4, 2022

first i am not like this app owner attitudes because , after i installed this app , this app was performing bad and slow to my site www.gymsupplementsus.com . i requested the app owner give me a call or come to google meet. he refused my request. the have not that facilities. humble to request to everyone avoid this app and i also inform to shopify app department to take legal action.

About 22 hours using the app
December 1, 2023

Se ha quedado pillado y no va

Mascotus Descanso
11 minutes using the app
Code Black Belt replied December 4, 2023

Hello Mascotus Descanso,

We are sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with our app.

Our Team has been trying to reach out to you but we are still waiting for your response.

We'd be happy to address any concerns you may have with our app either via email or over the phone. We can also help configure the app for you, hopefully you can give us a chance.

Please feel free to reach back to us by responding to one of our emails or you can send another one to support@codeblackbelt.com

Our Team is available 24/7 to assist you so don't hesitate to contact us anytime.

Hoping to hear from you soon, thank you!

Code Black Belt's Support Team

July 27, 2017

Watched a youtube video on this" Video Background" app and followed the instructions with the video and the app did not respond like the video said it would.
The video explains that the app will do all the work, yeah right.
Then the option for if the app doesn't work, is to email the developer, and wait for a response. Really?
Only good thing about my experience with this app is I got a free trial. Good idea for app like this Codeblackbelt, but, please make this app better and easier to use. Also, update the youtube video on it..

United States
About 1 hour using the app
Code Black Belt replied March 28, 2019

[Note: the feature which allows developers to reply to reviews has only been available since March 2019, that's the reason for the late reply]

We emailed the merchant to check the video configuration in their store and noticed that the YouTube video URL was not set, preventing them from having the video displayed. In other words, their configuration was not complete.

We offered to assist them, if they would forward us the video they wanted to put, but unfortunately, we received no reply.

January 24, 2018

sometimes it works, most of the time it doesn't. waste of time

United States
About 1 hour using the app
Code Black Belt replied March 29, 2019

[Note: the feature which allows developers to reply to reviews has only been available since March 2019, that's the reason for the late reply]

The merchant only had the app installed for a few minutes before posting this review, after uninstalling the app, so we could not help with its configuration.

We emailed the merchant to offer assistance in to configure the app, as it was a simple case of an incorrect configuration preference, but received no reply, despite trying more than once.

If they had contacted us, we could have gladly configured the app for them.

The app works smoothly as can be seen in the app demo store.