ViralSweep

ViralSweep

by ViralSweep

Run Sweepstakes, Contests, Giveaways, Competitions, Raffles

4.0 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    82% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 4 stars
    (2)
  • 3 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 3 stars
    (0)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    7% of ratings are 2 stars
    (4)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    7% of ratings are 1 stars
    (4)

All reviews

4 reviews

Gay Threads Co.

7-day trial period is misleading in a sense that you can only access 10 entrants data during the trial and you need to pay $49 for the rest. Not clear on sign-up. I'm sure nobody is hoping to run a competition and receive less than ten entrants so the trial period is essentially useless. Be ready to fork out.

Developer reply

April 22, 2020

Hi there,

We're sorry you are unhappy with how we price our product and handle our trials. The sign up page has a link which says "What is included in your trial" which displays exactly what is included in your trial before you even begin your trial. The text from the signup page states:

What is offered in the trial?
The trial provides access to all features included on the plan you chose.

There are two restrictions: Data access is restricted to your first 10 entries. Email integrations are not available until your trial ends.

Black Lava Vape

Not a fan of app indication that there is a free version only to sign up and see that there isn't one. There is a free trial, but after 7 days it will charge you a minimum of $45. Please remove the "Free Plan Available" from the app.

Developer reply

August 5, 2019

Hello, our records show you never signed up for an account. We are sorry you would feel the need to leave a negative review having never used our app. The "free plan available" portion is something that Shopify adds to the app listing in order for us to indicate that there is a free trial available -- if you look at the pricing on the app listing it does state the following:

"FREE 7 DAY TRIAL

Trial any paid plan for 7 days

Data access is limited

Integrations not available in trial"

asMODus Stabilized Wood Vape Mods

This app destroys your SEO on google. It made all my search listings show the ViralSweep front page description of contest. You have to pay $100 a month to get all of the emails from the contest. total bull sh7

Developer reply

March 2, 2019

We immediately looked into this issue as soon as your review was posted. We found that using our lightbox, if you added our code into the wrong section of the page, it would replace your meta tags for the duration of the time you were running the campaign on your website. We corrected this issue immediately. In regards to your comment about pricing -- this is not correct. Our lowest plan is $49 which gives you access to all the entries on your campaign, including analytics, which can all be exported. We hope you will give ViralSweep another chance in the future and we're sorry for any frustration this may have caused. We offer live chat and email support so please feel free to reach out in the future with any questions.

Bakers And Cake Makers

While an interesting idea, you better plan on paying the $49.99 to even really test it. You cannot access 1/3 of the items supposedly available to you on the free test AND you cannot collect more than 8 emails (or even see more than 8 results). My point was to test and see if there was the legitimacy of using something like this instead of just an email opt-in page. Well, I have no idea because I can only see 7 unique (1 is my initial test to make sure everything was working) emails and what they did. I will most likely pay the first $49.99 to collect data, but then I'm going back to the simple email opt-in. I can actually control my flow better since sending traffic each day to the same page is kind of a waste.

On that note, several people in the 7 have enough entries to suggest they have visited the page I included (and tested). Yet, Shopify does not show anyone visiting those pages. So- either your program is wrong or somehow it is blocking the real viewer numbers. This is problematic if I choose to use retargeting. I have no idea if these people are really visiting the page or not. While you have a feature to send people to a page after opt-in, this also removes the ability for people to enter daily by clicking on the indicated page.

Again, this suggests more control with an email opt-in page since I can just redirect people on the Thank-you page. I will have much better odds those people actually made it to that page as well (and then I can retarget them).

The app also claims that it cannot see if people like your FB page, and a few other things now- so if the purpose is to help build up your FB page...you better get creative (while that was not my purpose, this was one of the main features touted about in some of the information I found- so I was disappointed to see that the feature no longer worked regardless of the reason.)

For the record, the request to contact the app developer before leaving a negative review is crap. If I'm not happy with the app, that's the review I give. I'm not going to contact you about the inconsistencies with your free trial offer and reality. That isn't something you can fix overnight, and I'm guessing I'm not the first person to point out some of these issues.

Developer reply

May 2, 2019

Hi there, I would like to address a few of your concerns (which I sent to you via email as soon as you left this review).

The free trial gives you access to all features on your plan you chose, except for full access to entries (you have access to 10 total during the trial) and email integrations (these break when/if the trial converts and stops sending data). This is shown right on the free trial signup, so you know of these restrictions before signing up.

Any other features that are locked just mean they are not on the plan you chose, and you would need to upgrade to that plan in the free trial to access them. You can switch plans in the trial period without being charged.

You also said: "AND you cannot collect more than 8 emails (or even see more than 8 results). My point was to test and see if there was the legitimacy of using something like this instead of just an email opt-in page. Well, I have no idea because I can only see 7 unique (1 is my initial test to make sure everything was working) emails and what they did."

You can see the first 10 in your trial. You can also delete any of your test entries so you see 10 real entries.

You can also see the data submitted for each user (click the + icon next to their email address under the entrants tab).

You can also see the actions each user completed (hover over the # of entries they have under the entrants tab and click view).

You also said: "The app also claims that it cannot see if people like your FB page, and a few other things now- so if the purpose is to help build up your FB page...you better get creative (while that was not my purpose, this was one of the main features touted about in some of the information I found- so I was disappointed to see that the feature no longer worked regardless of the reason.)"

We offer a Facebook visit feature, in order to comply with Facebook's platform policy. We do not allow "likes" on pages, because that would open our customers up to being banned from Facebook for violating their platform policies, which changed back in 2016. We are always up-to-date with each social networks platform policy in order to protect our customers from doing anything that would get their pages banned.

You also said: "For the record, the request to contact the app developer before leaving a negative review is crap. If I'm not happy with the app, that's the review I give. I'm not going to contact you about the inconsistencies with your free trial offer and reality. That isn't something you can fix overnight, and I'm guessing I'm not the first person to point out some of these issues."

Our app has never, ever, asked anyone to contact us before leaving a review. In fact, we do not even have a message in our app asking people to leave us a review on shopify, so I do not know where you saw this.