I was really hoping to be able to use this app to provide a better user experience for my customers using automatic discount codes. Unfortunately, we never got it to work despite implementing recommended steps by Tabarnapp. A bit of a disappointment and a giant waste of time.
Really sorry for the inconveniences and waste of time. We should have helped more. If it's not too late, we could make the setup for you, free of charge of course.
We searched for an app that could combine 2 different discounts on Shopify - because in Germany we have for 6 months a VAT deduction - plus our summersales. So we tried this app and it doesn't do the job at all. Besides its very complicated to set up. We tried another app that works fantastically.
Thanks for the feedback about our app, I'm sorry for the issues you encountered. May I ask you what wasn't working, or what was complicated to set up? I'm simply trying to improve the product and avoid such bad experience for other Shopify merchants.
About the fact it's not able to apply 2 discounts per order, indeed it's not possible to achieve that using discount codes. Did you see in our app listing that we said otherwise? If so, please tell me and we'll adjust its content. For example, in the tagline under the app name, it says "Customers get the best one", meaning only one discount per order is allowed by Shopify.
That being said, applying multiple discounts is achievable using our Smart Deal codes, which encapsulate multiple discounts into one code. And it's also possible to apply it automatically, using a rule.
I understand that it's frustrating searching an app for 2 hours, trying it and not being able to set it up. I'm sorry for that, truly, though we would have loved to have the chance to app if you would have contacted us.
No worry, you won't get charged, you only had the app installed for an hour or so, therefore you were still in your free trial period.
The "free" plan content would indicate that basic rules for discounts would be available. They are not. I realize I shouldn't complain about anything provided for free, but I wasted 40 minutes trying to figure out what I was missing.
Hi Eva, sorry for the confusion about our pricing. Could you point where you saw the Basic rules were included in the free version of the app? We'll change this to avoid mistakenly misguide other people like you.
In about 2 weeks from now, we'll simplify our pricing to avoid such confusion.
WARNING. DO NOT PURCHASE. I paid the developer to have them unlock options needed to give freebies away to customers. They did that and their app doesn't minus the freebies given to customers out of the inventory on hand. They said it was Shopify's fault. They will not respond nor will they refund you for anything you paid. I found this flaw out when the freebies my customers were requesting, I no longer had in stock. I had to go could all my inventory and update the system. It was a disaster. DO NOT PURCHASE. There are better apps out there with better support.
Hi, thanks for your feedback. Like we've discussed over the phone today, the $49.99 one-time fee was refunded via app credits on June 25th, 2019. About the monthly charges, we've also authorized Shopify to process the refund. As for the issue itself, the piece of info you told us today really helps us investigating: the pre-order app (Preorderly) might have conflicted with the inventory update. We had previously tested in 4 other stores (without this app installed) and all was working smoothly. That's why we previously said we couldn't replicate the issue, as the inventory level was adjusting after each free gift sold. We'll run tests in a store with the Preorderly app and come back to you with our findings.
Paid $50 just to unlock the app to find out it does not allow me to do what it literally advertises. This app claims you can create discounts based on the URL which the customer comes from (I'm trying to give a discount to customers with a .edu email). I upgraded twice and even on the advance plan there is absolutely no option for this. Not user friendly and quite frankly a waste of money since the app description misleads you to believe the app can do more than it says. I literally paid to unlock a feature that doesn't even exist. Wish I could be refunded.
Hi, first of all, thanks for your feedback. We do offer a refund, simply contact us via email to firstname.lastname@example.org, or if you already have uninstalled the app, contact directly email@example.com.
About your issue, the app doesn't claim to offer discount based on the traffic source, if that's what you meant. This is not yet implemented in our Discount rules. It claims to allow to create discount links, and by sharing them, to give a discount based on where (which link) the customer is coming from.
About your need of giving a discount to @edu emails, we're currently implementing our Smart Deals feature from our Carter app into our Automatic Discount app. In the Smart Deals, it's possible to create a rule based on the email addresses, for example all students from @edu or all wholesalers from @company.com
WATCH OUT!! This APP is NOT FREE and there is no "FREE" plan available.
$59.99 just to UNLOCK the APP. $12.99/month required to USE the APP. $100.00 for any Installation "help".
The app is "FREE" to download but you have to pay $60.00 to unlock the use of the app, and then another monthly fee of $13.00 to just use the app. If you don't pay the monthly fee, your $60.00 is a waste.
Here's the kicker. They'll charge you another $100.00 dollars on top of all this to "Install" it for you if you need help with anything.
Sure, the copy and paste codes are easy to follow BUT,
Their instructional videos are SO TERRIBLE that you can't get any type of value. When it gets to the part where you actually need help, they say "here are some complicated versions of it". If you know coding, great! If not, pay us.
Their instructional videos don't go over everything because they WANT to leave you hanging in the hopes that they pay you $100.00 bucks for "Installation".
Overall, you would think on top of all this, support WOULD and SHOULD be something that's added on to the service. This app will drain your pocket before you get started with any Shopify dreams you have. Stay away.
Hi, thanks for the feedback. Let me clarify our pricing. The "Free plan available" displayed by Shopify in the app listing page is specific to the "Discount Links" and "Discount Popup" feature of the app. When you install the app, you don't have to approve charge and can use the discount links feature free. It's like that since 2016, and we won't change that because many users use this feature. That's why Shopify displays "Free plan available".
As for the other paid features, like the Discount Rules and Prefilled Carts, they do require a subscription plan (every plan has a 7-day free trial that starts only when you select a plan, not on app install). Some features also require a one-time fee of $49.99, like Display Savings, which also works for merchants on the free plan. We've made a graphic of our features and pricing here: https://tabarnapp.com/automatic-discount-pricing-2/. If you did pay a one-time fee for a feature that doesn't work for you, drop us a mail and we will refund it.
About the issues you've faced, and related to the instruction videos, could you tell us what they are? Indeed, it's hard to cover everything in a single video, but we try to record a video when it's needed or requested by a merchant. We put all our videos in our Youtube playlist (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c6Uose34iOQ&list=PLGYOZMSnTXxUwUyZO--JpLyY7_qjegUlR)
Botany Trade Co.
1) It says 7-day free trial but app doesn't prompt you to activate this feature. Very miss leading.
I am not paying $150+ and additional one time fees without seeing whether app works on my site or not.
2) App itself seems not very user friendly, very difficult to navigate.
3) I can't find what I need to do unless i stop and read every single unnecessary tabs and columns. (while trying to avoid all "subscribe, must subscribe, this feature premium only, get now..." notifications pops everywhere...)
4) Works very slow, sometimes freezes and you have to close the windows and log in to your shopify again (I have 2018 iMac , 256mps internet)
5) Finally I was able to add a rule to test it and waited 20 minutes, still n change.
6) I don't think this worth it.
Will update again for good or bad...
Hi, thanks for the feedback.
1) When you install the app, the app is free. The 7-day free trial only starts when you enable a paid subscription (monthly or yearly plan). If you need more than 7 days to test and see if the app works for your needs, contact us.
2 & 3) We're always trying to improve the admin screens, with the addition of new features it can get crowded. The main navigation is by clicking on the badges/icons in the header. We're adding a step-by-step tutorial this week admin side to make it clearer.
4) Could you explain to us step-by-step please what you did to make it freeze? This should happen. If you take the time to send us an email to firstname.lastname@example.org, that would be very appreciated.
5) If you create a discount rule (basic or advanced), you first need to activate a subscription and therefore the 7-day free trial at the same time.
6) If you explain to us your use case, we can guide you through if it's worth for your needs or not.
Counterintuitive and difficult to use. After being installed for some time I then noticed zero sales and investigated why. Source code fault on the APP. 1 week later still no resolution... Oh boy :(
UPDATE on 05/16/2019: We found the cause of the broken checkout. It was cause by the discount code name itself (15%_OFF_US_$100_OR_MORE). Special characters like % and $ and even underscore shouldn't be used in the coupon code name.
Hi Mark, thanks for the feedback. We sent a login request but it stayed "pending" for 5 days and then got rejected. The issues you faced was specific to your store, we couldn't reproduce this issue our our 3 dev stores. We actually tried many things to fix it our side, but it's almost impossible to reproduce the same store environment with the same apps, same scripts, same theme with the same customization. I apologize for the inconvenience it caused to your business, sincerely. If you want to give another shot to the app, on your live store or on a clone store with the same setup, let us know and we will work on it as long as it's fixed.
today i discovered another bug in the app if the customer selects 2items and goes to cart but what if he decides to add another item from the cart page selector to buy 3 items total he will do so and click right away the checkout button.....well the app will not work even if i dont have any other app interfering in the cart page!!! he will need to refresh the page and wait until that congrats discount pop up comes out in a few seconds wich is amazingly anti user experience so he can have his new quantity discount applied....bottom line he must be aware that he needs to go slowly and refresh each time he changes his mind!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Not mentioning the paypal express button..........!!!
Support team do sth!
Hi, we sent a login request to have a look.
1) Some themes indeed require customers to click on the "Update" button in the cart page to update the cart. And sometimes, stores have several apps installed, therefore fighting for resources. That explains why our script can load slower. You can insert our script directly in your theme.liquid file (see our FAQ here, near the middle of the page: https://tabarnapp.com/faq-automatic-discount-app/) This should help loading our script faster.
2) About the Paypal Express, the best is to have it located on the Checkout page, rather than on the Cart page, for similar reasons than #1 above. Here's how you can move it from the cart to the checkout page: https://help.shopify.com/en/themes/customization/cart/add-more-checkout-buttons-to-cart-page#show-checkout-buttons-on-the-checkout-page
I had to uninstall the app because it didnt work on my shop, i tried to contact support but there was not response for days and when they finally got back to me they mentioned we are looking into it.
I uninstalled the app and asked for the refund, they mentioned they will refund asap that was four weeks ago, i am fighting charge back on paypal.
very unprofessional and no timely response for the customer. this app makes changes to your core shopify theme, be careful if you buy this app. they make you pay for every little functionality. CEO Darek keeps promising to resolve but there is no response from him.
Hi, thanks for the feedback. The refund have been sent.
We did look into it, for many hours, if not days. The reason it didn't work for your case was the number or scripts/apps and custom code inside your theme. That's why we asked to make some changes in your theme, to try to solve the conflicts.
Sorry again that it didn't work out.